Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Manuscript Collections Documenting Women in Society

Academics Artists and Architects Authors Children's Authors Collectors and Compilers Family Papers Journalists Missionaries Oregonians Performing Artists and Musicians Pioneers Political and Social Activists Scientists

Academics

Return to Guides list

Aitchison, Beatrice. (b. 1908)

Papers. 1946-1970. 46.5 ft.
Beatrice Aitchison was a leader in the field of transportation economics. Her papers include records of the Civil Aeronautics Board, the Interstate Commerce Commission, and the Post Office Department and speeches and addresses.
(Bx 137)

Brown, Katherine.

In Alexander Kerr Papers.1855-1917. 1.5 ft.
Katherine Brown was a professor of Greek at the University of Wisconsin. Her papers consist of correspondence between Brown and Kerr while she was a student at the Rockford Female Seminary, Rockford, Ill., and he was, first, a student at Beloit College, and then a teacher at Huston Academy, Houston, Ga. Brown and Kerr later married.
(Ax 361)

Carson, Luella Clay (1856-1938)

Papers. 1889-1916. 1 ft.
Luella Clay Carson was a professor of rhetoric at the University of Oregon from 1888 to 1909 and president of Mills College in California from 1909 to 1913. Her papers include letters from former students and official letters concerning her work at Oregon and at Mills College. There are eight volumes of syllabi, grade books, and memorandum books.
(Ax 109)

Crary, Catherine Snell. (19098-1983)

Papers. 1934-1974. 2.5 ft.
Catherine Snell Crary was a professor of history at Finch College. The collection includes research material, manuscripts, and correspondence for her book, The Price of Loyalty, and her American history articles.
(Ax 814)

Ernst, Alice Henson (1880-1980)

Papers. 1900-1976. 9.75 cubic ft.
Alice Henson Ernst was an associate professor of English at the University of Washington from 1920 to 1923, and at the University of Oregon from 1924 to 1950. She was interested in early theater in the Pacific Northwest. The collection includes correspondence, manuscripts of Trouping in the Oregon Country and The Wolf Ritual of the Northwest Coast, diaries, notebooks, and photographs.
(Coll. 39)

Gates, Doris (1901-1987)

Finding aid

Papers. 1936-1985. 27 ft.
Doris Gates taught at San Jose State College and the University of San Francisco in the 1940s and was an author and editor of children's books. Her papers include correspondence, manuscripts, editorial files from Ginn and Company, letters from children, audio tapes, and books.
(Coll. 180)

Stevenson, Janet (Marshall) (b. 1913)

Finding aid

Papers. 1929-1978. 7.5 ft.
Janet Marshall Stevenson was a writer, playwright and lecturer at West Coast colleges. The collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, political writings, and documents about her dismissal from the University of Southern California faculty in 1952.
(Ax 265)

Underhill, Ruth Murray (b. 1884)

Finding aid

Papers. 1959-1971. 3.5 ft.
Ruth Murray Underhill was a social worker, anthropologist, and teacher. The collection includes manuscripts with research material, correspondence, and mementos of George W. Ingalls (1838-1920), an Indian agent.
(Ax 570)

Return to Guides list

Maintained by: N. Helmer, spcarref@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 02/05/2008