Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

materials on World War II / Germany / The Holocaust
Special Collections and University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries
Goldbloom, Maurice J., 1911-1977.
Papers, 1933-1971.
13 boxes; 7.5 lin. ft.
Goldbloom was an active member of the U.S. Socialist Party. During the pre-WWII years, he made several trips to Nazi Germany, at times acting as a courier on behalf of exiled German socialists. This led him to join the American Association for a Democratic Germany (AADG), a New York-based support group for the anti-Nazi movement composed of German expatriates and their American allies. Goldbloom left the AADG in 1949, and served in Athens, Greece as Assistant Labor Information Specialist until the late 1950s. Goldbloom also served as a freelance writer and editor for several magazines, including The Socialist Call (1942-1955), and Common Sense (1944-1945).
The papers consist mainly of material relating to organizations in which Goldbloom was involved, including New Beginning, American Friends of German Freedom, Council for a Democratic Germany, and the AADG. These sections contain correspondence, speeches, publications, and other materials.
NOTE: Some of the material is in German.
Coll. 139
Stimely, Keith, 1957-1992.
Papers, 1969-1986.
55 boxes; 27.5 lin. ft.
Stimely received a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of Oregon in 1980. From 1981-1984 he worked as an editor and writer, including serving as editor of the Journal of Historical Review for two years. He specialized in problems of revisionist historiography relating to WWI and WWII. Most of the material in the Stimely Collection is secondary, but it serves as a convenient introduction to the issues in revisionist historiography.
The papers include a section on Institutional Files, with material on the Institute for Historical Review (correspondence, etc). Another section contains subject files on persons such as Robert Faurisson and David L. Hoggan. A third section contains subject files on historical issues such as Holocaust Revisionism. The collection also contains research files on various organizations and publications.
NOTE: Some of the material in this collection is sealed. Please see the inventory for more information.
Coll. 183
Tolischus, Otto D., 1890-
Papers, 1924-1965.
1 box; 1.5 lin. ft.
Tolischus was born in Lithuania, and renounced his German citizenship in 1907 to come to the U.S. He graduated from the Columbia School of Journalism in 1916, and later worked as a foreign correspondent for the Universal Service in Berlin, then London. In 1931 he went back to Berlin as a New York Times Correspondent. After being expelled from Germany by Hitler in 1940, Tolischus continued to cover the German scene from Scandinavia. He was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for best foreign correspondence in 1940 for his coverage of Nazi Germany. He went to Tokyo in 1941, and was arrested and sentenced to 18 months of hard labor for "doing harm to Japan.\" He was exchanged in 1942, returned to the U.S., and remained with the New York Times as a member of the editorial board and an editorial writer until 1964.
The papers include correspondence and copies of the articles Tolischus wrote for the New York Times, 1936-1966. Most of the articles deal with the rise of Hitler, Germany, and Japan in WWII, and the growth of Communism.
Ax 368
Germany / World War I and World War II
Folder: Hilter, Adolf.
"Five Years of Hitler.\" American Council on Public Affairs, 1938?. Contains essays on Nazism, religion, etc., written by various persons.
"How Hitler Prepared.\" Reprints of three articles by Otto Tolischus, New York Times correspondent, from the New York Times Magazine, June 16, 23, 30, 1940.
Folder: Individual Profiles.
"Is That True, Herr Lubke? Documents Accuse the West German Federal President Against Humanity and International Law.\" nd.
"Ernest Lemmer: Goebbels Journalist, Nazi Informer, Revenge Minister.\" Excerpts from the documentation published by the National Council of the National Front of Democratic Germany. nd.
"Little Known Facts in the Criminal Career of Adolf Eichmann in Poland.\" Distributed by the Embassy of the Polish People's Republic, Washington, D.C., 1961.
Folder: Misc.
"The Jews in Nazi Germany: The Factual Record of Their Persecution by the National Socialists.\" New York: The American Jewish Committee, 1933.
Jewish Pamphlets
Folder: Boycotts
"The Boycott is Our Only Weapon Against Nazi Germany.\" Addresses by Samuell Untermyer. New York: American League for the Defense of Jewish Rights, 1933.
Folder: Fireside Discussion of the Anti-Defamation League of B'Nai B'rith, Chicago.
No. XIX "The Tragedy of Poland--3,000,000 Living Corpses.\"
No. XXII "Hitler's Communism Unmasked.\"
Folder: Germany / Nazis
Blair, Fred. "The Ashes of Six Million Jews.\" Milwaukee, WI: People's Book Shop, 1946.
"Program for the Rescue of Jews from Nazi Occupied Europe.\" Submitted to The Bermuda Refugee Conference by the Joint Emergency Committee for European Jewish Affairs, Apr. 14, 1943.
U.S. Military Tribunal no. IV.
Records of case no. 11 U.S. Military Tribunal no. IV, United States of America against Ernst von Werszaecher, et al., defendants. Nurnburg, Germany, Dec. 20, 1947 - Apr. 11, 1949.
808 v.
Case tried under provision of the Allied Control Council Law no. 10, Dec. 20, 1945. Twenty-one defendants involved, all officials of the German government in Berlin.
NOTE: Contents listed on the catalog cards.
Bx 83
Germany. Auswartiges Amt. Archives.
Records of the German Foreign Ministry, 1845-1945, filmed at Whaddon Hall for the University of California.
19 reels of microfilm (positive).
Reels 8-10, 15, 16, 84-86, 93-99, 155, 257, 297.
MF 121
Germany. Auswartiges Amt. Archives
Records of the German Foreign Ministry, 1845-1945, filmed at Whaddon Hall for the University of California.
5 reels (positive).
Reels 41, 78-81.
MF 120
Germany. Auswartiges Amt. Archives
Records of the German Foreign Office, received by the Department of State.
28 reels (positive).
Part of the National Archives record group no. RG 242. File microcopy no. T-120. Reels 1575-1583, 2700, 2901-2903, 3100, 3144, 3167, 3309, 3313, 3700, 3891, 4555, 5368, 5719-5721.
MF 108
Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter-Partei. Hauptarchiv.
Collection NSDAP Hauptarchiv, 1919-1945.
134 reels (positive).
Produced by the Hoover Institution.
NOTE: Guide with collection.
MF 112
U.S. National Archives and Records Service.
World War II collection of seized enemy records. Record Group no. 242, private individuals.
10 reels (positive).
Original in National Archives. File microcopy no. T-253. Reels 2, 4, 12-17, 21, 31, 32.
MF 107
U.S. National Archives and Records Service.
World War II Collection of seized army records. Record group no. 242, records of the Reich leader of the SS and chief of the German police.
2 reels (positive).
File microcopy no. T-175. Reels 357, 360.
MF 110