Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
London: Macmillan Publishers; Washington, D.C.: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1980. 20 v.
[Has good signed articles by noted authorities-with excellent bibliographies.]
[MUSIC REF. ML 100 .N 48]
Baines, Anthony. The Oxford companion to musical instruments.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML102. I5 B34 1992]
Bowers, Q. David. Encyclopedia of Automatic Musical Instruments. Incl. a Dictionary of Automatic Musical Instrument Terms.
Vestal, NY: Vestal Press, 1972.
[MUSIC ML 1050 .B6]
Diagram Group. Musical Instruments of the World: an Illustrated Encyclopedia.
NY: Sterling Pub. Co., 1997.
[MUSIC REF. ML102.I5 M88 1997]
Marcuse, Sibyl. A Survey of Musical Instruments.
NY: Harper & Row, 1975.
[MUSIC ML 460.M365 S94]
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.
London: Macmillan;NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984. 2 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML 102 .I5 N48 1984]
Young, Phillip T. The Look of Music: Rare Musical Instruments, 1500- 1900.
Vancouver: Vancouver Museums & Planetarium Association, 1980.
[MUSIC ML 462 .Y68]
The following subject headings are a useful way to search the UO Library's Catalog.
Recorder (Musical Instrument) (for books about the instrument itself)
- Bibliography (For lists of books about the Recorder)
- Catalogs And Collections (an obvious heading)
- Instruction and Study (For resources to teach or learn recorder)
- Methods- Early Works -To 1800 (Historical resources to teach you how to play the recorder)
Recorder Music (For list of music and information about the music)
Interpretation Phrasing Dynamics Etc (For instruction on the fine points of recorder playing)
Note: See also Flageolet
Music Index
The source for articles on music, musicians, and society.
(This is also available, from 1979 to the present, on the web from the Databases & Indexes section of the UO's web catalog.
RILM
More esoteric, and multilingual.
Music Article Guide
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources.
The American recorder.
v. 1 MUSIC ML 1 .A4 (1961)- present
[MUSIC ML 1 .A4 ]
Early music.
v. 1(1973)-
[INTERNET ML 5 .E3]
The Instrumentalist.
v.1(1946)-present
[MUSIC ML 5 .I55]
Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society.
v. 8(1982)-present
[MUSIC ML 1 .A527]
Performance practice review.
v. 1(1988)- present
[MUSIC ML 1 .P10876 ]
Woodwind/brass & percussion.
Official publication of: the Association of Concert Bands of America (ACBA)
[ML1.W6 v.1(19 --78 ]
The Cambridge companion to the recorder.
Cambridge [England] ; New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press, 1995.
[MUSIC ML990.R4 C35 1995]
Griscom, Richard.
The recorder : a guide to writings about the instrument for players and researchers.
New York : Garland, 1994.
[MUSIC ML128.R31 G75 1994]
Musical instruments [interactive multimedia]
[ CD-ROM Disk contains four interactive sections designed to help teach about musical instruments. Families of instruments shows brass, string, woodwind, keyboard, and percussion families.
[Doug Circ CD-ROM ML460 .M95 1993]
I. Use the following resources for lists of published Recorder music:
Alker, Hugo. Blockfloten-Bibliographie. [2. Aufl.]
Wilhelmshaven, Heinrichshofen's Verlag [1966]
[MUSIC ML128.R31A4 1966]
Hosoda, Tsutomu. A descriptive catalogue of recorder music.
Tokyo : Academia Myujikku, 1987.
[MUSIC ML128.R31 H68 1987]
Hoffer-von Winterfeld, Linde. Handbuch der Blockfloten-Literatur.
Berlin, Bote & Bock, 1959.
[MUSIC ML128.R31W6]
McGowan, Richard A.
Italian baroque solo sonatas for the recorder and the flute.
Detroit : Information Coordinators, c1978.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.F7 M2]
II. Use the following subject headings in the UO Library's Catalog to find listings of music we own:
Recorder Music (for the actual scores & recordings)
See also
For multiple recorders, see:
Recorder music (Recorders (2))
Recorder Choirs
Recorder Ensembles
To find music for Recorder and another instrument, use:
III. Search the UO Library's Catalog by the composer's last name.
IV. Browse the following Call Numbers on the music shelves:
M 61 & M110 - Music for solo recorder
M 240 - Music for recorder and piano
MT 340 & 342 = Methods books for recorder
V. Search the UO Library's Catalog for the following collections of Recorder Music:
Hortus Musicus [M 2 .H67]
Zeitschrift fur Spielmusik [M1 .Z4]
To all of these, you can limit the list to just recordings (or scores):
If you are using the Non-web version of the UO Library's Catalog:
Type L (for limit)
M (for Material type)
J (for Music, Record) or C(for Music, Printed)
F (for Find)
The screen will display just those recordings (or scores) that we own.
Type C (for search by Call Number)
D (for Non-LC Call Number)
Type in Compact Disc
You will receive a list of the 12000+ compact discs we own- you can then limit by author (composer) or title or subject heading.
RECORDER-L is a discussion and information e-mail forum operated as a public service by the American Recorder Society. All those with an interest in the recorder - professionals or amateurs (players, performers, makers, teachers, dealers, music editors etc.) - are welcome to subscribe.
Only subscribers may post to RECORDER-L. The list is not moderated.
To subscribe to RECORDER-L send e-mail through your on-line service to:
Majordomo@world.std.com
Leave the subject line blank and type subscribe recorder-l in the body of the message.
For more specific information about RECORDER-L or electronic discussion lists in general, please send your inquiries to:
owner-recorder-l@world.std.com