Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries
Index for this guide:

Encyclopedias
Using the LC Subject Headings for Finding Books & Resources
Indexes to Articles
Performance Practice - Indexes & Guides
Periodicals
Historical Resources
Resources to Original Manuscripts
Scholarly Anthologies
Other Resources for Studying the Original Music
Other Library Resources

Research Guides


Performance Practice Resources

I. Encyclopedia & Dictionary Sources:

    Dizionario enciclopedico universale della musica e dei musicisti.Il Lessico 4 v.
    Turin: UTET, 1983-1984.
    [MUSIC REF. ML100 .D63 1983 v.1 - v.4]

    Dizionario enciclopedico universale della musica e dei musicisti.Le Biografie. 8 v.
    Turin: UTET, 1985-1988.
    [MUSIC REF. ML105 .D65 1985 v.1 - v.8 ]

    Dizionario enciclopedico universale della musica e dei musicisti. Appendice.
    Turin: UTET, 1990.
    [MUSIC REF. ML105 .D65 1985 Append]

    Eitner, Robert.
    Biographisch-bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon der Musiker und Musikgelehrten der christlichen Zeitrechnung bis zur Mitte des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts. 10 v.
    New York: Musurgia, 1947.
    [MUSIC REF. ML105 .E36 1947]

    Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopadie der Musik . 2nd ed.
    Sachteil 1 - 9; Personenteil 1 - 15 (up to Schoo-Stran so far)
    Kassel: Barenreiter; Stuttgart: Metzler, 1994-
    [MUSIC REF. ML100 .M92 1994]

    Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart; allgemeine Enzyklopadie der Musik. 17 v.
    Kassel: Barenreiter-Verlag, 1949-1986.
    [MUSIC REF. ML100 .M92]

    The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed.
    New York: Grove, 2001. 29 v.
    [Has good signed articles by noted authorities-with excellent bibliographies. Also available on the web under Grove Music Online
    [MUSIC REF. ML 100 .N48 2001]

    Terminorum musicae index septem linguis redactus = Polyglottes Worterbuch der musikalischen Terminologie : deutsch, englisch, franzosisch, italienisch, spanisch, ungarisch, russisch = Polyglot dictionary of musical terms : English, German, French, Italian, Spanish, Hungarian, Russian.
    Budapest: Akademiai Kiado, 1978.
    [MUSIC REF. ML108.T4]

II. Using the Library of Congress Subject Headings in the catalog to find resources on Performance Practice:

    Use the following headings:

      Performance Practice (Music)

      Can be subdivided by century:=
      (e. g. Performance Practice Music -16th Century)

      by Country:
      (e.g. Performance Practice Music- England )

      and by a combination of both:
      (e.g. Performance Practice Music -Germany -18th Century)

    Other subheadings include:

      -Congresses
      -Bibliography
      -History
      -Periodicals

III. Indexes to Periodical Literature on Performance Practice:

    (Note:The last ten years of all of these indexes are located on the Music Reference Index table).

    The MUSIC INDEX (1949 - 2001) in paper form
    [MUSIC REF. ML 118 .M84]
    Also available as The Music Index On-line
    Find this on the UO Library's web catalog, through the UO connections, at Articles, Databases & Indexes.
    Searchable by Index Word ; keyword (anything in any part of the citation); author, title, journal.

    RILM [Repertoire international de litterature musicale]
    (Available on the UO Library's web catalog at Articles, Databases & Indexes. Also available in paper form to 1996 on the
    Music Index Table, at MUSIC REF ML118 .R4)
    Especially good for articles in non-music resources and in languages other than English. Annotations are given for a great number of the resources. The thesaurus of searching terms is available at the Music Reference Index Table.

    Speaking of Music: music conferences, 1835-1966.
    New York: RILM, 2004.
    [MUSIC REF. ML128.M8 S68 2004]
    This source, produced by RILM, provides indexing to conference proceedings back to the early days of contemporary music research, and supplements the RILM indexes.

    Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    (Searchable on the UO Library's web page through the Articles, Databases & Indexes section. Also available in paper form on the Knight Reference shelves.)
    Especially good for tracking the impact an article and its author has on other articles and authors. You can search by author (au) or by cited reference (cr) to those authors who have cited your author.

    Academic Search Premier
    1990 to present (Full Text);
    1984 - 1989 (Indexing & Abstracting only)
    On the UO Library's web catalog
    Academic Search Premier provides full text and indexing for many of the academic and peer-reviewed journals important to musicologists. Full text files go back as far as 1965.

IV. Periodicals devoted to Performance Practice:

(Those periodicals that are also available in full text online are noted by an asterisk (*) next to their call number.)

    Early Music
    [MUSIC ML 5 .E3] *

    Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society
    [MUSIC ML 1 .A527 ]

    Performance Practice Review
    [MUSIC ML 1 .P10876]

V. Indexes and Guides to Performance Practice Literature:

    Jackson, Roland John.
    Performance practice, medieval to contemporary : a bibliographic guide.
    New York : Garland, 1988.
    [MUSIC REF. ML128.P235 J3 1988]

    Vinquist, Mary and Neal Zaslaw.
    Performance practice; a bibliography.
    New York, W. W. Norton [1971]
    [MUSIC REF. ML128.L3 V55 1971]

VI. Historical Resources:

    Agazzari, Agostino.
    Del sonare sopra'l basso con tutti li stromenti e dell'uso loro nel conserto
    [Bologna] : A. Forni, [1985]
    [MUSIC MT49.A25 D4 1607a]

    Agricola, Johann Friedrich and Pier Francesco Tosi.
    Opinioni de' cantori antichi e moderni = Introduction to the art of singing.
    Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1995.
    (Translation of: Anleitung zur Singkunst : aus dem italianischen des Herrn Peter Franz Tosi / mit Erlauterungen und Zusatzen von Johann Friedrich Agricola (Berlin : G.L. Winter, 1757))
    [MUSIC MT892 .T6713 1995]

    Agricola, Martin; translated and edited by William E. Hettrick.
    The "Musica instrumentalis deudsch" of Martin Agricola : a treatise on musical instruments, 1529 and 1545
    Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1994.
    [MUSIC ML171 .A2613 1994 ]

    Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel.
    Versuch uber die wahre Art das Clavier zu spielen. =Essay on the true art of playing keyboard instrument.
    New York: W. W. Norton [1949]
    [MUSIC MT224 .B132]

    Bach, Johann Sebastian; trans. by Pamela L. Poulin.
    J.S. Bach's Precepts and principles for playing the thorough-bass or accompanying in four parts : Leipzig, 1738
    Oxford: Oxford UP, 1994.
    [MUSIC MT49 .B1713 1994]

    Baillot, Pierre Marie Francois de Sales.
    The art of the violin.
    Evanston, Ill: Northwestern UP, 1991.
    [MUSIC MT262 .B15313 1991]

    Caccini, Giulio.
    Le nuove musiche, Firenze 1601 : Nuove musiche e nuova maniera di scriverle, Firenze 1614. 2 v.
    Florence, Italy: Studio Per Edizioni Scelte, 1983.
    [MUSIC M1620.C33 N8 1983]

    Caccini, Giulio.
    Le nuove musiche.
    Madison, WI: A-R Editions, 1970.
    [MUSIC REF. M2 .R238 v. 9]

    Diruta, Girolamo
    The Transylvanian = Il transilvano.
    Henryville, PA: Institute of Mediaeval Music, 1984.
    v. 1. 1593 -- v. 2. 1609.
    [MUSIC MT182.D46 1984 v.1 & v.2]

    Duport, J. L. (Jean Louis)
    Essay on fingering the violoncello : and on the conduct of the bow; dedicated to professors of the instrument.
    London: R. Cocks, [1852]
    [MUSIC MT310 .D962]

    Ganassi, Silvestro.
    Opera intitulata Fontegara.
    Bologna: Forni, [1980]
    [MUSIC MT340.G3 1535a ]

    _______.
    Regula Rubertina
    Bologna: Forni, 1984.
    [MUSIC MT338.G36 R4 1984]

    Garcia, Manuel.
    New treatise on the art of singing; a compendious method of instruction, with examples and exercises for the
    cultivation of the voice.
    Rev. ed.
    Boston: O. Ditson, n.d.
    [MUSIC MT835.G17T7 ]

    Geminiani, Francesco.
    The art of playing on the violin, 1751. Facsim. ed.
    London: Oxford UP [1951?]
    [MUSIC MT262 .G332 1751b]

    Gollerich, August.
    Franz Liszts Klavierunterricht von 1884-1886 = The piano master classes of Franz Liszt, 1884-1886: diary notes
    of August Gollerich.

    Bloomington: Indiana UP, 1996.
    [MUSIC ML410.L7 G6613 1996]

    Hotteterre, Jacques.
    Principles of the flute, recorder & oboe.
    New York: Dover [1968]
    (Translation of Principes de la flute traversiere, ou flute d'Allemagne, first published in 1707.)
    [MUSIC MT342.H7414 1968c]

    Mancini, Giambattista.
    Practical reflections on figured singing. Translated and edited by Edward Foreman.
    Champaign, IL: Pro Musica Press, 1967.
    [MUSIC MT845 .M313 1967]

    Mozart, Leopold.
    Versuch einer grundlichen Violinschule= A treatise on the fundamental principles of violin playing. 2nd ed.
    Oxford: Oxford UP, 1985, 1948.
    [MUSIC MT262.M93 1985]

    Muffat, Georg.
    An essay on thoroughbass.
    Rome: American Institute of Musicology, 1961.
    [MUSIC MT49 .M95]

    Ortiz, Diego.
    Tratado de glosas sobre clausulas y otros generos de puntos en la musica de violones : Roma 1553
    Kassel: Barenreiter, 1936.
    [MUSIC ML171.O8 S3 1936]

    Quantz, Johann Joachim.
    Versuch einer Anweisung die Flote traversiere zu spielen. [4. Aufl.]
    Kassel: Barenreiter [1968]
    [MUSIC MT342 .Q3 1953]

    Virgiliano, Aurelio.
    Il dolcimelo. 2 v.
    Florence, Italy: Studio per edizioni scelte, 1979.
    [MUSIC MT80 .V57 1979]

    Zacconi, Lodovico, 1555-1627.
    Prattica di musica Lodovico Zacconi.
    Bologna: Forni, 1983.
    [MUSIC ML171 .Z32 1983]

VII. Resources to Original Manuscripts & Prints:

    Brown, Howard Mayer.
    Instrumental music printed before 1600; a bibliography.
    Cambridge: Harvard UP, 1965.
    [MUSIC REF. ML128 .I65B77]

    Eitner, Robert.
    Biographisch-bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon der Musiker und Musikgelehrten der christlichen Zeitrechnung
    bis zur Mitte des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts.

    New York: Musurgia, 1947.
    [MUSIC REF. ML 105 .E36 1947]

    RISM [International inventory of musical sources]
    A series that provides bibliographic access to some of the world's libraries' manuscript collections. Individual volumes cover specific areas of music and theory.
    Located in the Music Reference section at MUS REF ML 113. I6 (and series numbers.) Also available on the web (by subscription only.)
    To find our copy on the web, go to the Articles, Databases & Indexes section, under the letter R, and click on RISM.

    Sartori, Claudio.
    Bibliografia della musica strumentale italiana stampata in Italia fino al 1700.
    Florence, Italy: L.S. Olschki, 1952-68.
    [MUSIC REF. ML120 .I8 S3 v.1 &v.2]

    Vogel, Emil and Alfred Einstein.
    Bibliothek der gedruckten weltlichen Vocalmusik Italiens aus den Jahren 1500-1700. [Biblioteca della musica vocale italiana di genere profano stampata dal 1500 al 1700] Enthaltend die Litteratur der Frottole, Madrigale, Canzonette, Arien, Opern, etc.
    Hildesheim: G. Olm, 1962.
    [MUSIC REF. ML120 .I8 V8 1962 v.1& v.2] ; also copy in
    [MUSIC ML120 .I8 V8 1962 v.1& v.2]

VIII. Indexes to Scholarly Anthologies Available at the UO:

    Note: These provide access to the modern reproductions of musical works, produced by scholars who study the originals to determine what the intent of the composer was in his/her works.
    The anthologies are generally in the M2 section of Music Reference. Access to the anthologies and composers' collected editions (M3's) are often provided by the New Grove's works list, or by the following indexes:

      Heyer, Anna Harriet
      Historical sets, collected editions, and monuments of music : a guide to their contents. 3d ed.
      Chicago: American Library Association, 1980.
      [MUSIC REF. ML113 .H52 1980 v.1 & v.2]

      Hill, George Robert and Norris L. Stephens
      Collected editions, historical series & sets & monuments of music : a bibliography.
      Berkeley: Fallen Leaf Press, 1997.
      [MUSIC REF. ML113 .H55 1997]

    Sample of Anthologies held at the University of Oregon:

      Antiqua, eine Sammlung alter Musik [MUSIC M2 .A485]

      Corpus mensurabilis musicae
      (Medieval & Renaissance works, published by the American Institue of Musicology)
      [MUSIC REF. M2 .S46]

      Denkmaler der Tonkunst in Bayern (1900)
      [MUSIC REF. M2 .D412]

      Das Erbe deutscher Musik. [MUSIC REF. M2 .E68]

      Hortus musicus [MUSIC M2 .H67]

      Monumenta liturgiae polychoralis Sanctae Ecclesiae Romanae. Ordinarium Missae cum quatuor choris
      [MUSIC REF. M2 .M4818]

      Monumenta liturgiae polychoralis Sanctae Ecclesiae Romanae. Psalmodia cum quatuor choris
      [MUSIC REF. M2 .M48186 P84]

      Monumenta liturgiae polychoralis Sanctae Ecclesiae Romanae. Psalmodia cum tribus choris
      [MUSIC REF. M2 .M48186 P83]

      Monumenta musicae Belgicae [MUSIC REF. M2 .M482]

      Monumenta musicae Byzantinae: Transcripta
      [MUSIC REF. M2 .B99T7]

      Monumenta polyphoniae liturgicae Sanctae Ecclesiae Romanae [MUSIC REF. M2 .M4843]

      Nagels Musik-Archiv [MUSIC M2 .N25]

      Recent Researches in...

        American Music [MUSIC REF. M2.3 .U6 R4]
        The Music Of The Baroque Era [MUSIC REF .M2 .R238]
        The Music Of The Classical Era [MUSIC REF. M2 .R2381]
        The Music Of The Middle Ages And Early Renaissance [MUSIC REF. M2 .R2383]
        The Music Of The Nineteenth And Early Twentieth Centuries [MUSIC REF. M2 .R23834]
        The Music Of The Pre-Classical, Classical, And Early Romantic Eras [MUSIC REF. M2 .R2381]
        The Music Of The Renaissance [MUSIC REF. M1 .R4]
        Smith College Music Archives (All eras)[MUSIC REF. M2 .S653]

IX. Other Resources for Studying the Original Music:

X. Other Library Resources:

Return to top

Maintained by: Leslie Bennett, lbennett@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/25/2007