Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed.
New York: Grove, 2001. 29 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML 100 .N 48 2001]
[Has good signed articles by noted authorities-with excellent bibliographies.]
Available on the web to UO users by the title Grove Music Online.
Diagram Group.
Musical Instruments of the World: an Illustrated Encyclopedia.
NY: Sterling Pub., 1997.
[MUSIC ML 102 I5 M88 1997]
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.
London: Macmillan;NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984. 3 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML 102 .I5 N48 1984]
The following subject headings are a useful way to search the Library's catalog:
Oboe (for books about the instrument itself)
- Bibliography (For lists of books about the oboe)
- Construction (How oboes are constructed)
- Discography (For lists of recordings of oboe music)
- History (an obvious heading)
- Instruction and Study (For resources to teach or learn oboe)
- Maintenance and Repair (For that all-important topic)
- Methods (Resources to teach you how to play the oboe)
- Reeds (For books on your personal fixation!)
Note: See also ENGLISH HORN; SHAHNAI (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT) and SHAWM with the same sub-subjects
(Note: Many of the latest issues of the paper volumes are located on the Music Reference Index table).
Academic Search Premier
A general index that includes access to the online version of a number of music journals.
Music Index
The source for articles on music, musicians, and society.
(This is also available on the UO Library web site from the Articles, Databases & Indexes section- Browse databases A-Z , under M, from 1979 - present.)
RILM
More esoteric, and multilingual.
(This is also available on the UO Library web site from the Articles, Databases & Indexes section, under R, from 1967 - present.)
Music Article Guide
v.1 (1986)-31 (1996)
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M842]
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources.
Double reed.
"Official journal of the International Double Reed Society."
[MUSIC ML 1 .D588] (Preceded by To the world's oboists.
[MUSIC ML1.T365 v.1-5 1972/73-77]
The Instrumentalist.
[MUSIC ML 5 .I55]
Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society.
[MUSIC ML 1 .A527]
Winds.
Official publication of: the British Association of Symphonic Bands & Wind Ensembles (basbwe)
[MUSIC ML999 .W56 (1989 - present]
Weber, David B.
The reed maker's manual: step-by-step instructions for making oboe and English horn reeds.
Phoenix, AZ D.B. Weber and F.B. Capps, c1990.
Accompanying videocassette: The reed maker's video: a supplement to The reed maker's manual.
[MUSIC ML941 .W42 1990 + VIDEO COLL VIDEOTAPE 01744]
[Note: You are not limited to the music (and, in some cases, recordings) that the UO owns. We belong to two consortiums, SUMMIT (which is 33+ academic libraries in Oregon and Washington) and WorldCat (over 20,000+ libraries in the world) that allow us to borrow music, books, and recordings online.
SUMMIT gets you resources within 3 working days; WorldCat borrows you resources in about 2 weeks average.
To find out what resources there are in the world:
I. Use the following resources for lists of published oboe, oboe d'amore, and English horn music:
Gifford, Virginia Snodgrass.
Music for oboe, oboe d'amore, and English horn : a bibliography of materials at the Library of Congress.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O2G5 1983]
Haynes, Bruce
Music for oboe, 1650-1800: a bibliography. 2nd ed., rev. & exp.
Berkeley, Calif.: Fallen Leaf Press, c1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O2 H55 1991]
Hosek, Miroslav.
Oboen-Bibliographie. ( 2 v. )
Wilhelmshaven: Heinrichshofen, c1975-1994.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O2H7]
McMullen, William Wallace.
Soloistic English horn literature from 1736-1984.
Stuyvesant, NY : Pendragon Press, c1994.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O2 M3 1994]
Wilkins, Wayne.
The index of oboe music including the index of baroque trio sonatas.
Magnolia, Ark.: Music Register, c1976.
[MUSIC ML128.O2 W5 + sup 1976/77-1978 ]
II. Use the following subject headings in the UO Library Catalog to find listings of music we own, then limit your search by Music, Printed to get the written music:
Oboe (or English Horn) Music (for the actual scores & recordings)
Sonatas (Oboe (or English Horn)) (A more-specific heading)
Suites (Oboe (etc.)) (Another more-specific heading)
Oboe- Methods
Oboe- Orchestra studies
Oboe- Studies and exercises
To find music for multiple oboes, use:
2 Oboes = Oboe Music (Oboes (2))
3 Oboes = Woodwind Trios (Oboes (3))
4 Oboes = Woodwind Quartets (Oboes (4))
and so forth.
To find music for oboe and another instrument, use:
Oboe and ______ music (fill in the name of the instrument)
Quartets (Oboe,_____, _____, _____) (fill in the other instruments' names- sometimes the order of the instruments are different, so Keyword searching may get you these easier!)
III. Search the UO Library catalog by the composer's last name.
IV. Browse the following Call Numbers on the music shelves:
M 66-67 - Music for solo oboe
M 110 - Music for solo English Horn
M 246 - Music for oboe (or English horn) and piano
MT 360,MT362 & MT 365 = Methods books for oboe/English horn
(Note: The Vade-mecum of the oboist is at MT 365)
MT 366 = Orchestral excerpts for oboe/English horn
The UO Library has a number of collections available for you to use, including our Circulating CD Collection, which is located inside the Douglass Room door and allows you to browse the covers by composer and performer; the regular master CD collection of over 15,000 CDs, which can be listened to in the Douglass Room; and the Audio Resources Online, which provides access to subscription streaming audio pieces through the Library's catalog, including Classical Music Library and the Database of American Music. Both of these resources have access points by instrument, so that you can hone into your favorite oboists or English hornists.
To get to our audio resources, click on the Videos & Music note on the left-hand side of the UO Library's catalog, then scroll down to Audio Resources Online.
If you are going to search for the Douglass Room collections of CDs, here are a few tips to make searching easier:
Note: Before you start, limit your search to just Audio Recordings by Scoping (in the text version of UO Library catalog) Y or clicking on the "Limit this Search to..." in the web version. Your search will be faster- as the machine is just searching the recordings database.
To all of these, you can limit the list to just recordings (or scores)
If you are using the Non-web version of the UO Library Catalog:
See the web guide: Searching for Compact Discs in the UO Library's Online Catalog at http://libweb.uoregon.edu/music/researchguides/compact.html