HOW TO FIND MUSIC IN PRINT:
A LIST OF RESOURCES
[In Step-by-Step Order]
A. Search WorldCat (our guide to 20,000+ libraries' collections) to see if another library owns a copy of the piece- and note the publisher's name. [This can also be used to borrow a copy of the piece from another library.]
B. Google the title of the piece of music and the composer. (I often find that this gets me the more obscure composers- and especially those who only publish online.)
If these sources don't cover your area, go to the next step.
C. Search the Music Lists to find listings of music by instrument.
D. Consult a current Music-In-Print index under your area of music (Vocal Music, Choral Music, Orchestral Music, etc.)[Caveat: Most of these are older editions of music in print-and may not be applicable now!]
See if the source includes your piece, and note the publisher.
Step Two: Find out if the piece is currently in print:
A. Consult the List of Publishers' Web Sites to see if your publisher is listed.
If so, look at the site to see if they list the piece you want in print.
Note: If you can't find your specific publisher there, consult the Music Publishers Association web site to find out who distributes your publisher's music.
B. Check the current publishers' paper catalogs for price and availability.
[These are shelved on the Music Index Reference Index Table and are limited to those publishers who still put out a catalog.]
C. Google the publisher's name to find out if they have a web site that isn't listed in the Music Publishers Association web site.
D. If the work you want is in a collected edition of a composer's works or a Monument of Music:
Consult the Harrassowitz list of Collected Editions and Monuments of Music.
Available on the web at
http://www.harrassowitz.de/music_services/
Music_Catalogs.html)
[Note: This catalog requires a password and user name- please see the music librarian for this information.]
E. Current addresses of publishers may be listed in the latest editions of the following:
- Musical America. International Directory of the Performing Arts
[ML12 .M88- latest edition in Music Reference]
or search the web version (www.musicalamerica.com) under Find Contacts, and choose US & Canada; then Publishers of Music. [You can get international record company addresses- but international music publishers are buried in the US & Canada section-and only those distributed in the U.S.
- Billboard's International Buyer's Guide
[MUSIC REF. ML18.B5]
F. Consult Books in Print for the more commercial publishers:
Books in Print includes current holdings for such publishers as Hal Leonard, G. Schirmer, Alfred Publishing, Dover Publications, to name a few.
To get to Books in Print, go to the Library's Articles, Databases & Indexes, and click on the Browse Databases A-Z to the letter B. Type in Books in Print and search by composer (author), title, etc.
RESOURCES FOR FINDING THE MUSIC'S PUBLISHER
- Music Publishers Association of the United States (MPA).
Available at http://www.mpa.org/
Featured on the MPA Home Page is a hyperlinked version of the MPA Sales
Agency List. The publisher file, listed under the Directory of Music
Publishers, includes name, address, and phone and fax numbers, and will
include URL's & email addresses as they are established. The
Directory of Publisher Imprints lists which European, Asian and Latin
American companies (as well as the smaller U.S. companies) are
distributed by the other larger companies. This electronic version will
be updated more frequently than the printed version.
- National Music Publishers Association
Available at http://www.nmpa.org/
- Indiana University School of Music Publisher Site:
Available at http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/publ.html
Music Distributors (also with lots of companies tied into them):
- European American Music
At http://www.eamdc.com
Includes: Schott, Universal, Moeck, Hug, Helicon & Zen-On Catalogs.
- Theodore Presser
At http://www.presser.com
Distributes Durand, Salabert, and other companies, as well as its own publications.
Individual Sheet Music Companies (a very select list of distributors):
- Hal Leonard
at http://www.halleonard.com/
Affiliated with G. Schirmer- and covers lots of popular music publishing.
- G. Schirmer at http://www.schirmer.com
Includes: Composer biographies, program notes,
calendars, news, repertoire lists, reviews, and catalogues for
orchestra, opera/ballet, and chamber music.
Distributes the music for Chester Music, Novello, Salabert, Hansen,
Fazer, Sikorski, Ricordi, Norsk Musikforlag, Boosey & Hawke, S.A.,
as well as other companies. Also includes rental catalogs for Schirmer,
Novello, and Chester.
- For more resources on music publishers, music book publishers, and recording companies, consult the Music Services Department Collection Development Resources, available on the web at:
http://libweb.uoregon.edu/music/coldev.html
Distributors of Music in Oregon and California:
The librarians at Baylor University have compiled a wonderful wiki site that lists the joint findings of the
Music Library Association's collective brains for sites. It is available at http://ooplist.wikispaces.com/
Go there for resources to finding old recordings, musical scores, and books on music.
Master Indexes
Music In Print Annual Supplement.
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M83 1986]
Music In Print Master Title Index, 1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML 113 .M8827 1990]
Music In Print Master Composer Index, 1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML 113 .M8825 1989]
CHORAL MUSIC
Choral music in print. Master index, 1991.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 C57 1991]
Sacred choral music in print. Master index, 1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 S2 1992]
Sacred Choral Music in Print (2 v.)
[MUSIC REF. ML 128 .V7 E78 1985 + suppl 1 - 3]
(Preceded by Choral Music in Print. [ML128 .V7 N33])
Sacred Choral Music in Print, second edition. Arranger Index.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V7 E7837 1987]
Secular Choral Music in Print.(2 v.)
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V7 D3 1987 + suppl. 1-3]
(Preceded by Choral Music in Print. [ML128 .V7 N33])
Secular Choral Music in Print. Master index 1993.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 D33 1993]
Secular Choral Music in Print, second edition. Arranger Index.
[MUSIC REF. ML 128 .V7 S37 1987]
GUITAR MUSIC
ORCHESTRAL MUSIC
Orchestral Music in Print
[MUSIC REF. ML 128 .O5 F33 + 1983 + 1994 suppl.]
Orchestral music in print. Master index 1994.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O5 F3336 1994]
ORGAN MUSIC
STRING MUSIC
VOCAL MUSIC
Classical Vocal Music in Print.
[MUSIC REF. ML 128 .V7 N335 + 1985 suppl.]
Classical vocal music in print. 1995 Supplement.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 M86 Suppl 1995]
WOODWIND MUSIC
- Search in the MUSIC Reference section under: ML 128 and the first initial of the instrument or type of group.
- Search the UO Library's catalog under Subject by the type of Music (Band Music; Orchestral Music; Violin Music, etc.) and add - Bibliography. Keep in mind that these are just lists of music- they don't really tell you whether they are still in print- so you will need to search the resources in Section II to determine whether they are still in print.
INDIVIDUAL INSTRUMENTS:
BRASS INSTRUMENTS:
Euphonium:
Bone, Lloyd E. and Eric Paull.
Guide to the Euphonium Repertoire>
[MUSIC REF ML128 .B24 G83 2007]
French Horn:
Bruechle, Bernhard.
Horn Bibliographie I & II.
[MUSIC REF ML128 .H67 B8]
Hardin, Anne F.
A Horn Player's Guide to Orchestral Excerpts.
[MUSIC REF ML128 .H67 F4 1978]
Trombone:
Everett, Thomas G.
Annotated guide to bass trombone literature. 3d ed., rev. and enl.
[MUSIC REF ML128 .T76 E9 1985]
Kagarice, Vern, et.al
Solos for the Student Trombonist: an Annotated Bibliography.
[MUSIC REF ML132 .T76 S6]
Trumpet:
Cansler, Philip T
Twentieth-century music for trumpet and organ: an annotated bibliography.
[MUSIC REF ML128 .T78 C323 1984]
Tuba:
Morris, R. Winston and Daniel Perantoni.
Guide to Tuba Repertoire: the new tuba source book.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .T8 T8 2006]
Keyboard Music/Percussion (includes Harpsichord, Clavichord, Piano and Organ Music):
Beckmann, Klaus.
Repertorium Orgelmusik: Komponisten, Werke, Editionen, 1150 -2000, 57 Lander: eine Auswahl = A bio-bibliographical index of organ music: composers, works, editions, 1150-2000, 57 countries: a selection. 3d ed.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O6 B4 2001 Bd. 1 + 2]
Laster, James.
Catalogue of music for organ and instruments.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O6 L34 2005]
Sloane, Sally Jo.
Music for two or more players at clavichord, harpsichord, organ: an annotated bibliography.
[MUSIC REF ML128 .K5 S55 1991]
Piano:
Hinson, Maurice.
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire. 3rd ed.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .P3 H5 2000]
[Note: See many more of Maurice Hinson's piano lists at
the ML128 .P3 entry.
Magrath, D. Jane (Dorothy Jane)
The pianist's guide to standard teaching and performance literature.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .P3 M24 1995]
Patterson,Donald.
One Handed: a Guide to Piano Music for One Hand.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .P3 P38 1999]
Carroll, Raynor.
Symphonic repertoire guide for timpani and percussion.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .P23 C37 2008]
Double Bass:
Grodner, Murray.
Comprehensive Catalog of Music, Books, Recordings and Videos for the Double Bass. 4th ed.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .D6 G7 2000]
Guitar:
Pocci, Vincenzo, ed.
Guitar reference: guida al repertorio moderno e contemporaneo della chitarra = Guide to the guitarist's modern and contemporary repertoire.
NOTES: This CD-ROM contains a list over 35,000 works composed by 7000 authors, an anthology of complete guitar pieces performed by Piero Bonaguri, addresses of publishers, distributors, composers, periodicals and musical information enters, links to 3000 web pages of composer and publishers, and a free text search engine.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .G8 G85 2004 + Doug Circ CDROM ML128 .G8 G85 2004]
Smith, Dorman, and Laurie Eagleson.
Guitar & Lute Music in Periodicals: An Index.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .G8 S64 1990]
Harp:
Palkovic, Mark.
Harp music bibliography: chamber music & concertos.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .H3 P33 2002]
Palkovic, Mark.
Harp music bibliography: compositions for solo harp and harp ensemble.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .H3 P35 1995 + 2002 suppl.]
Viola:
Williams, Michael D.
Music for viola.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V36W6 1979]
Violin:
Wilkins, Wayne.
Index of Violin Music (Strings).
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V4 W56 (+ suppls = W563 - 1973, 1974-1978)]
Violoncello:
Homuth, Donald, 1920-
Cello music since 1960: a bibliography of solo, chamber & orchestral works for solo cellist .
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V5 H66 1994]
Markevitch, Dimitry.
The solo cello: a bibliography of the unaccompanied violoncello literature.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V5 M28 1989]
WOODWINDS (General):
Horne, Aaron.
Woodwind music of Black composers.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .W5 H65 1990]
Secrist-Schmedes, Barbera.
Wind chamber music: for two to sixteen winds: an annotated guide.
NOTES: "Works with the following instruments are included in this book: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and French horn"
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .W5 S43 2002]
WOODWINDS (Individual Instruments):
Bassoon:
Koenigsbeck, Bodo.
Bassoon bibliography = Bibliographie du basson = Fagott Bibliographie.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .B26 K7 1994]
Clarinet:
Brixel, Eugen.
Klarinetten-Bibliographie.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C58 B74]
Heim, Norman M.
Clarinet literature in outline.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C58 H5 1984]
Opperman, Kalmen.
Repertory of the clarinet.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C58 O66]
Flute/Piccolo
Munster, Peter van.
Repertoire catalogue: piccolo, alto flute, bass flute.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .F7 M8 2004]
Oboe/English Horn
Haynes, Bruce.
Music for oboe, 1650-1800: a bibliography. 2d ed.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O2 H55 1991]
Hosek, Miroslav.
Oboen-Bibliographie.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O2 H7 v.1 & 2]
McMullen, William Wallace.
Soloistic English horn literature from 1736-1984.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O2 M3 1994]
Saxophone:
Londeix, Jean-Marie, 1932-
A comprehensive guide to the saxophone repertoire, 1844-2003 = Repertoire universel de musique pour saxophone, 1844-2003.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .S247 L63 2003]
VOICE & VOCAL GROUPS:
Voice:
Dunlap, Mary.
Vocal Chamber Music: a Performer's Guide.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V7 D86 1985]
Espina, Noni.
Repertoire for the solo voice: a fully annotated guide to works for the solo voice published in modern editions and covering material from the 13th century to the present.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .S3 E8]
Newman, Marilyn Stephanie Mercedes, 1954-
The comprehensive catalogue of duet literature for female voices: vocal chamber duets with keyboard accompaniment composed between 1820-1995.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V7 N53 1999]
Burnsworth, Charles C.
Choral Music for Women's Voices: an annotated bibliography of recommended works.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V7 B 87]
DeVenney, David P.
Nineteenth-Century American Choral Music: an annotated guide.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C48 D48 1987]
May, James D.
Avant-garde Choral Music: an annotated selected bibliography.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V7 M43]
Tortolano, William.
Original Music for Men's Voices: a Selected Bibliography.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .V7 T66 1981]
Operas:
Directory of Operas and Publishers: in two parts.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O4 .D52]
Band Music Guide: Alphabetical listing of Titles and Composers of All Band Music.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .B23 B36 1978]
Gillaspie, Jon A. and David Lindsey Clark.
The wind ensemble catalog.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.W5 G52 1998]
Wind Ensemble/Band Repertoire.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .B23 W34 1984]
ASCAP Symphonic Catalog.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O5 A55 1977]
Also check the ASCAP web site, under the ACE Title Search, to see what other pieces are available.
The site is at http://www.ascap.com
BMI Symphonic Catalog.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O5 B76 1978]
Also check the BMI Web Site, under the Repertoire Search at the bottom left-hand side, to see what is newly listed in the catalog. That site is at http://www.bmi.com
Daniels, David.
Orchestral Music: a Handbook. 4th ed.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O5 D3 2005]
Green, Jonathan D.
A conductor's guide to choral-orchestral works.
(+ ...classical period and nineteenth-century)
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C48 G7 1994;...G703 2002;... G73 2008]
Koshgarian, Richard.
American orchestral music: a performance catalog.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O5 K67 1992]
Manning, Lucy.
Orchestral "pops" music: a handbook.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O5 M36 2009]
Rosewall, Michael.
Directory of choral-orchestral music.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C48 R67 2007]
Yaklich, Richard Eldon.
An orchestra conductor's guide to repertoire and programming.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .O5 Y25 2003]
Forsyth, Ella Marie.
Building a Chamber Music Collection: a descriptive guide to published scores.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C4 F7]
Hinson, Maurice
The piano in chamber ensemble: an annotated guide.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C4 H5 2006]
Lawrence, Ian, 1933-
The twentieth-century string quartet: an historical introduction and catalogue.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C4 L37 2001]
Rangel-Ribeiro, Victor.
Chamber music: an international guide to works and their instrumentation.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C4 R3 1993]
Scott, William.
A conductor's repertory of chamber music: compositions for nine to fifteen solo instruments.
[MUSIC REF. ML128 .C4 S37 1993]
Return to top
Maintained by: Leslie Bennett, lbennett@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 08/03/2009