Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

| Index for this guide: The Journals Key to Abbreviations Return to the Music Education Research Guide |
American Choral Foundation, Inc.
Research Memorandum Series.
no.45-89; 1963-1991
[MUSIC ML 128 .V7 A5]
Indexed in: MAG
American Choral Review.
v.4-23; 1968-1991
[MUSIC ML 1500 .A4 ]
Indexed in: MAG,AHCI,MI,RILM
American Music Teacher.
v.1- ;1951-
[MUSIC ML 1 .A5 ] and full-text online through ACP (2/2003- )
Indexed in: EA, EI, BRI, MAG, MI, ACP
American String Teacher.
v.14- ; 1964-
[MUSIC ML 27 .U5 A8356]
Indexed in: MAG, MI
American Suzuki Journal.
v. 28 - ; 2000 -
[MUSIC MT3 .U5 A44]
Indexed in: MI
Arts education policy review.
v. 94 - ; 1992 -
[AAA NK1160 .D4 ] and full text online through ACP (9/92)
Indexed in: CIJE,BRI,RG, ACP
BDGuide.
v.3- 9/10;1989- 1996
[MUSIC MT 733 .B32]
British Journal of Music Education.
v.1- ;1984-
[MUSIC ML 5 .B73 ] and full text online through ACP (7/2003)
Indexed in: MI, ACP
Also available as a full-text journal, using FindText
Bulletin of Historical Research in Music Education.
v.1- 20; 1980- 1999
[MUSIC ML 1 .B8 ]
Continued by: Journal of Historical Research in Music Education
Bulletin of the Council for Research In Music Education.
v.1- ;1963-
(Preceded by the Journal of Research in Music Education)
[MUSIC ML 1 .C88 ]
Indexed in: EA, EI, MAG, MI, RIEPA,AHCI, RILM
Canadian Music Educator.
v.9- ;1967-
[MUSIC MT 3 .C2C2]
Indexed in: MI
CBDNA Journal
v.7- ;1990-
[MUSIC ML 1299 .C64 ]
Indexed in: MI
Choral Journal.
v.10- ;1969-
[MUSIC ML 1500 .C5 ]
Indexed in: IIMP, MAG, MI, RILM
Contributions to Music Education.
v.1 - ;1972-
[MUSIC ML 1 .C875 ]
Indexed in: MI
Data Summary. Music. (NASM)
1988/89-
[MUSIC MT 3 .U5 D25]
Dialogue in Instrumental Music Education.
v. 6-22; 1982-1998
[MUSIC ML1 .D39]
Indexed in: MI
General Music Today.
Available online through UO Library's web (by Title)
Indexed in: ACP
Illinois Music Educator
Available online in Full text from ACP (10/2004 - )
Indexed in: ACP
Instrumentalist.
v.1- ;1946-
[MUSIC ML 5 .I55]
Indexed in: EA, EI,MI,RILM
International Journal of Music Education.
v.1 - ; 1983-
(Preceded by the International music educator (1960 - 1972)
[MUSIC ML 5 .I525 ]
Indexed in: MI
ISME Yearbook.
v.1- 15 ; 1973- 1988
[MUSIC ML 5 .I745 ]
Indexed in: MI
Jazz Educators Journal.
v.13- ;1980-
[MUSIC ML 1 .N124 ]
Indexed in: MI
Journal of Music Teacher Education: JMTE.
v.1 - ;1991 -
[MUSIC MT1 .J69]
Indxed in: MI
Journal of Music Theory Pedagogy.
v.1- ; 1987-
[MUSIC ML 1 .J682 ]
Indexed in:MI
Journal of Music Therapy.
v.3- ;1966-
[MUSIC ML 3920 .J6 ]
Indexed in:MI
Journal of Research in Music Education: JRME
v.1- ;1953-
[MUSIC ML 1 .J6 ] and available full text online in ACP (3/2001 - )
Indexed in: EA,EI,PA,AHCI, CIJE, MI, RILM
Journal of Singing
v.52 - ;1995-
[ML27 .U5 N2652]
Indexed in: MI
Preceded by: NATS Journal
Keeping Up with Orff-Schulwerk in the Classroom.
v. 1-10, no. 4; Sept. 1973-summer 1983.
[MUSIC ML1 .K24]
Kodaly Envoy
v.19 - ; 1993-
[MUSIC ML 1 .K64]
Indxed in: MI
Missouri Journal of Research in Music Education.
v.3- ;1973-
[MUSIC ML 1 .M15 ]
Indexed in: MI
Music Education Research
Available in full text online through ACP (3/1999 to 2003)
Indexed in: ACP
Music Educators Journal: MEJ
v.1- ;1914-
(Preceded by the Music Supervisor's Journal)
[MUSIC ML 1 .M25 ] and full text online through ACP (1/1990 - )
Indexed in: EA, EI,AHCI,BRI,CIJE,MI,PMR,RILM, ACP
Musik in der Schule.
v.18- ;1967-
[MUSIC ML 5 .M901 ]
Indexed in: RILM
Musikziehung.
Jahrg.1 - ; 1947 -
"Organ of the Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Musikerzieher Osterreichs."
[MUSIC ML5 .M9435]
Indexed in: MI
NACWPI Journal. [National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors]
v.26-42;1977-1994
[MUSIC ML 27 .U5 N17 ]
Indexed in: MAG,RILM,MI
NATS Journal. [National Association of Teachers of Singing, Inc.]
v.18- ;1961-
[MUSIC ML 27 .U5 N2652 ]
Indexed in: MAG,RILM,MI
Continued by: Journal of Singing
Oregon Music Educator.
v.1- ; 1949-
(Was called the Oregon Music Educator's News)
[MUSIC ML 27 .U5 O8 ]
Indexed in: MAG
Orff Echo
v.26- ;1993-
[MUSIC ML 1 .O57]
Indexed in:MI
Philosophy of music education review.
v. 1 - ; 1993-
[MUSIC ML 1 .P49 ]
Indexed in: MI
Proceedings of the Annual Meeting.
Published by the National Association of Schools of Music.
v.49 - ; 1973 -
[MUSIC ML27 .U5 N25]
Psychology of Music.
v.16- ;1988-
[MUSIC ML 5 .P93 ]
Indexed in: PA; RILM
The Quarterly Journal of Music Teaching & Learning.
v.1, 4-7 ;1990, 1997-
[MUSIC ML 1 .Q37 ]
Indexed in: MI
School Musician Director and Teacher.
v.28-58; 1956-1986
[MUSIC ML 1 .S35 ]
Indexed in: BRI,EI,MI
Southeastern Journal of Music Education.
v.1- ; 1989-
[MUSIC ML 1 .S826]
Teaching music.
v.1- ; 1993 -
[MUSIC MT 1 .T35 ] and full text online through ACP (2/1994 - )
Indexed in: ACP, MI
Update: the applications of research in music education.
Published by the University of South Carolina. School of Music.
v.1- 20 ; 1983- 2002
[MUSIC ML 1.U64 ] and full text online through ACP (10/2003 - )
Indexed in: ACP, MI
[Note: For a list of the Historic & International Music Journals at the UO,connect to:
http://libweb.uoregon.edu/researchguides/musedhistjrnls.html
ACP = Academic Search Premier
AHCI = Arts & Humanities Citation Index (known as Arts & Humanities Search online)
[KNIGHT REF AI 3 .A63(1977-1996), & on the UO Library's catalog under Databases & Indexes]
BrHI = British Humanities Index
[KNIGHT REF AI3 .B7 (1962 - present)]
BRI = Book Review Index
[KNIGHT REF Z 1035 .A1 B6 (1965 - present)]
CIJE = Current Index to Journals in Education
[KNIGHT REF. Z5813.C652] & on the UO Library's web site under Databases & Indexes]
EA = Education Abstracts
Available on the UO Library's catalog under Databases & Indexes
EI= Education Index
[KNIGHT REF Z 5813 .E23 (1929 - 2002)
HI = Humanities Index
[KNIGHT REF AI 3 .H85 (1974 - present)]
MAG = Music Article Guide
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M842 (Music Index Table) (1966 - 1996)]
MI = Music Index
[MUSIC REF. ML 118 .M84 (Music Index Table)
(1966 - present) & on the UO Library's web under Databases & Indexes
PA = Psychological Abstracts
[KNIGHT REF BF 1 .P652 (1920 - 1996), & on the UO Library's catalog under Databases & Indexes]
RG = Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.
[KNIGHT REF AI 3 .R48 (1920 - present
RIE = Research in Education [ERIC]
[On the web in the UO Library's catalog under Databases & Indexes]
RILM = International Repertory of Music Literature=Repertoire international de litterature musical
[MUSIC REF. ML 118 .R4 (1967- 1997-paper)
(Music Index Table) & on the UO Library's catalog under Databases & Indexes]
SSI = Social Sciences Index
[KNIGHT REF AI 3 .S62 (1965 - present)
Return to the Music Education web page
Maintained by: Leslie Bennett, lbennett@uoregon.edu