Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
[MUSIC REF. ML 100. N48 2001]
A good general starting point for information on composers and music.
(Look under Renaissance Music; Medieval Music;Masses; Vocal Music; Church Music, composers' names, etc.)
Roche, Jerome & Elizabeth Roche.
A dictionary of early music: from the troubadours to Monteverdi.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1981.
[MUSIC REF. ML100.R695]
Strahle, Graham.
An early music dictionary: musical terms from British sources:1500-1740.
Cambridge [England]: Cambridge University Press,1995.
[MUSIC REF. ML108 .S88 1995]
When you look in the subject section under: Medieval Music,
you get the following subject headings:
When you look in the subject section under Renaissance Music,
you get the following subject headings:
Other subject headings to search include:
You can also tack -500-1400 on to instrument names
(e.g.: Keyboard instrument music- 16th century)
Other Subjects to Search:
Names of early instruments
Performance Practice Music -500 - 1400
Names of composers
International Medieval Bibliography
[KNIGHT Z6203 .I63]
Also on the web: Search for "International Medieval Bibliography" in the UO Library Catalog; after submitting search, click on "Go to UO's copy of Brepolis web site, click on
Enter database, then select International medieval bibliography."
Medioevo Latino
[KNIGHT Z2000 .M35]
Medioevo Musicale
[MUSIC REF. ML 114 .M35]
(These are indexed in the Music Index and RILM, as well as other resources- and those that are available online are marked with an asterisk (*)
Current musicology.
[MUSIC ML 1 .C9]
Early music.*
[MUSIC ML 5 .E3]
Early music history.*
[MUSIC ML 5 .E123]
Journal of the American Musicological Society.*
[MUSIC ML 27 .U5 A83363]
Performance practice review.*
[MUSIC ML 1 .P10876]
Plainsong & medieval music*
[MUSIC ML 169.8 .P54]
Use the UO Library's Catalog to find scores, listed by composer and title, in our collections. We also have collections of reference scores in the M2's and M3's. These are indexed in the works lists in the New Grove under the composers' names, and in the following resources:
Heyer, Anna Harriet, 1909-
Historical sets, collected editions, and monuments of music : a guide to their contents.
3d ed. Chicago : American Library Association, 1980.
[MUSIC REF. ML113.H52 1980 v.1 -v.2]
Hill, George Robert and Norris Stephens.
Collected editions, historical series & sets & monuments of music : a bibliography.
Berkeley, Calif. : Fallen Leaf Press, c1997
[MUSIC REF. ML113 .H55 1997]
(Updates the Heyer for newer collections, including Recent Researches in the Music of...)
Hilton, Ruth B.
An index to early music in selected anthologies.
Clifton, N.J. : European American Music Corporation, c1978.
[MUSIC REF. ML116 .H54]
For a guide to a specialized collection, see:
Hall, Alison.
E.H. Fellowes, an index to the English madrigalists and the English school of lutenist song writers.
Boston : Music Library Association, 1984.
(Index to the English madrigalists and the English school of lutenist song writers.)
[MUSIC REF. ML120.G7H34 1984]
Bibliographical inventory to the early music in the Newberry Library, Chicago, Illinois . edited by D. W. Krummel.
Boston : G. K. Hall, 1977.
[MUSIC REF. ML136.C5 N43]
The British union-catalogue of early music before the year 1801:a record of the holdings of over one hundred libraries throughout the British Isles.
London, Butterworths Scientific Publications, 1957.
[MUSIC REF. ML116.B7 v.1 & v.2]
Wood, David A..
Music in Harvard libraries : a catalogue of early printed music and books on music in the Houghton Library and the Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library.
Cambridge, Mass. : Houghton Library of the Harvard College Library : Harvard University Dept. of music : distributed by Harvard University Press, 1980.
[MUSIC REF. ML136.C23 H33]
RISM [International inventory of musical sources]
A series that provides bibliographic access some of the world's libraries' manuscript collections. Individual volumes cover specific areas of music and theory.
The UO Library has access to Series A online, from the Databases & Indexes list, under R
[MUSIC REF. ML 113. I6 (and series numbers)]
See also: Manuscript Research Guide, at http://libweb.uoregon.edu/music/researchguides/manu.html
Discography of Medieval and Renaissance Music in the Knight Library's Douglass Listening Room.
Eugene, OR: University of Oregon, Knight Library Publication, 1996.
[Will be on the Web, at http://libweb.uoregon.edu/music/
Discographies/MedRenmedrendisco.html]
Available in paper at the Douglass Listening Room desk.
Coover, James [and] Richard Colvig.
Medieval and Renaissance music on long-playing records.
[Detroit, Information Service] 1964.
"First supplement, 1960-61" included with the above.
[MUSIC ML156.2 .C67 & Sup.]
Croucher, Trevor.
Early music discography : from plainsong to the sons of Bach. 1981 ed.
Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, c1981.
CONTENTS v. 1. Record index -- v. 2. Composer, plainsong, anonymous work,and performer indexes.
[MUSIC REF. ML156.2.C76]
Henry, Derrick.
The listener's guide to medieval & Renaissance music.
New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, 1983.
[MUSIC ML171.H29 1983]
Hiley, David.
Western Plainchant: A Handbook
New York: Oxford, 1993.
[MUSIC ML3082 .H54 1993]
Hiley, David.
"Writings on Western plainchant in the 1980s and 1990s, " in Acta Musicologica 49 (1997) 53-93.
[MUSIC ML 5 .M6]
Hughes, Andrew
Medieval Music: The Sixth Liberal Art.
Toronto: University of Toronto, 1980.
[MUSIC REF ML114 .H8 1980]
Jackson, Roland John
Performance practice, medieval to contemporary : a bibliographic guide.
New York : Garland, 1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P235 J3 1988]
Krummel, Donald William.
Guide for dating early published music : a manual of bibliographical practices.
Hackensack, N.J. : J. Boonin, 1974.
[MUSIC REF. ML111 .K78]
Krummel, Donald William
Bibliotheca Bolduaniana a Renaissance music bibliography.
Detroit, Information Coordinators, 1972.
Paulus Bolduan's "eighty-page section on music, in the Bibliotheca philosophica, with 1299 titles, is here reproduced in facsimile with annotations on the facing page."
[MUSIC ML114.K78]
Switten, Margaret
Music and Poetry in the Middle Ages: A Guide to Research on French and Occitan song, 1100-1400.
New York: Garland, 1995.
[MUSIC REF ML128 .M3 S9 1995]
Vinquist, Mary and Neal Zaslaw.
Performance practice; a bibliography.
New York, W. W. Norton [1971]
[MUSIC REF. ML128.L3 V55 1971]
Notitiae Cantus is the international newsletter for Gregorian Chant and other Repertoires of Western Chant.
Direct your comments or questions to the Internet address mc1194@mclink.it. Subscription through email is free. A hardcopy of Notitiae Cantus has been made available to subscribers who require or prefer this mode of publication.
CIMCIM-L on listserv@nrm.se
CIMCIM is the International Musical Instrument Committee of the International Council of Museums (ICOM) and serves as a focus for the interests of musical instrument museums and collections. It has about 200 members worldwide in nearly 40 countries.
If you wish to join CIMCIM-L please send a message to, listserv@nrm.se containing the following command on the first line of the body of the message,
SUB CIMCIM-L Yourfirstname Yourlastname
med-and-ren-music
This list enables those engaged on research into any aspect of Medieval and Renaissance Music to exchange information. This includes questions of research, conference details and reports, library information and any other useful material.
To subscribe to this list, send the following commands in the body of an e-mail message to mailbase@mailbase.ac.uk:
join med-and-ren-music
help
stop
Maintained by: Leslie Bennett, lbennett@uoregon.edu