Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

Cary, Tristram.
Dictionary of musical technology .
New York : Greenwood Press, 1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML102.E4 C37 1992]
Dobson, Richard.
A dictionary of electronic and computer music technology : instruments, terms, techniques .
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1992.
[MUSIC ML102.E4 D62 1992]
Eimert, Herbert.
Das Lexikon der elektronischen Musik . 2. erg. Aufl.
Regensburg : G. Bosse, 1977.
[MUSIC ML102.E4E5 1977]
Tomlyn, Bo.
Electronic music dictionary : a glossary of the specialized terms relating to the music and sound technology of today . 1st ed.
Milwaukee, WI, U.S.A. : H. Leonard Books, c1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML102.E4 T65 1988]
The following subject headings should be of use in searching the UO Library's catalog and the other on-line library catalogs for books on your topic:
Basart, Ann Phillips.
Serial music; a classified bibliography of writings on twelve- tone and electronic music.
Berkeley, University of California Press, 1961.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.T9 B4]
Cross, Lowell M., comp.
A bibliography of electronic music.
[Toronto] University of Toronto Press [1967]
[MUSIC REF. ML128.E4C76]
Davies, Hugh.
Repertoire international des musiques electroacoustiques. International electronic music catalog.
Cambridge, Mass., Distributed by M.I.T. Press [1968]
[MUSIC REF. ML128.E4D39]
Davis, Deta S.
Computer applications in music : a bibliography .
Madison, Wis. : A-R Editions, c1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C62 D4 1988]
Edwards, J. Michele.
Literature for voices in combination with electronic and tape music : an annotated bibliography .
Ann Arbor, Mich. : Music Library Association, 1977.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.E4 E37]
Lister, Craig.
The musical microcomputer : a resource guide .
New York : Garland Pub., 1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C62 L57 1988]
Melby, Carol.
Computer music compositions of the United States, 1976 . [2d ed.]
[Urbana, IL : Melby], c1976.
Prepared for First International Conference on Computer Music, October 28-31, 1976, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
[MUSIC ML128.E4 M44]
Tjepkema, Sandra L.
A bibliography of computer music : a reference for composers .
Iowa City : University of Iowa Press, 1981.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.E4T55]
Wallace, David E., comp.
A second listing of multi-media works available from composers at colleges and universities . [2d ed.]
Monmouth, Or. : Oregon College of Education, 1973.
[MUSIC ML118.W35 1973]
Melby, Carol, comp.
Computer music compositions of the United States, 1976 . [2d ed.]
[Urbana, IL : Melby], c1976.
Prepared for First International Conference on Computer Music, October 28-31, 1976, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
[MUSIC ML128.E4 M44]
Music Index
The source for articles on music topics. Music Reference area.)
Available on the UO Library's Catalog under Databases & Indexes
Need help? See the Guide to Using the Music Index
RILM
A more esoteric and multilingual index to articles and dissertations in many sources, including non-music publications.
Music Article Guide
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources.
Computer music journal
v. 3(1979)- present
"High quality musical applications of digital electronics."
[MUSIC ML 1 .C857]
After 1997, also available on the web at http://mitpress.mit.edu/e-journals/Computer-Music-Journal/
Electronic musician.
v. 3(1987)- present
[MUSIC ML 1380 .E4]
Electronic music educator.
v. 1(Sept. 1988)-v. 2 (winter 1990)
Published as supplement to: Clavier; and: the Instrumentalist.
[MUSIC ML73 .E43 ]
Mix Magazine On-line available on the web at http://www.mixonline.com/
Organised sound : an international journal of music technology.
v.2 (1997) - present
[MUSIC ML 1379 .O74 + online]
Perspectives of New Music
v. 1(1962)- present
[MUSIC ML 1 .P109]
The art of sequencing : with Don Muro .
Miami, FL : CPP/Belwin, c1994.
VHS, stereo, hi-fi.
SUMMARY In six lessons drawn from his book The art of sequencing, Don Muro explains how to create music on a sequencer. Includes recording and editing techniques. Assumes a basic understanding of MIDI and the basic capabilities of sequencers.
[VIDEO VIDEOTAPE 03040 & Accompanying Book
(The art of sequencing : a step by step approach .) is at
MUSIC MT192 .M87 1993]
Corea, Chick.
Electric workshop.
New York, N.Y. : DCI Music Video, c1988.
VHS format.
CONTENTS Flamenco improvisation -- Oblivion improvisation -- Hopscotch.
SUMMARY Chick's approach to synthesizers. Shows the steps he takes to create sounds and how he goes about layering these sounds. Discusses his influences, including Bud Powell, John Coltrane, and Paco de Lucia, and plays pieces as tributes to each musician.
[VIDEO VIDEOTAPE 00892]
DeFuria, Steve.
Secrets of analog and digital synthesis .
New York : DCI Music Video [distributor], c1985-
VHS format.
SUMMARY Explains the physics of sound, the manipulation of sound, synthesizers and editing techniques, and FM synthesis. All principles discussed are applicable to most synthesizers on the market.
[VIDEO VIDEOTAPE 00543 & Accompanying text = KNIGHT TK7881.4.S42 1985]
Subotnick, Morton.
All my hummingbirds have alibis [computer file] : chamber music for CD-ROM .
New York NY : Voyager Company, c1992.
1 computer laser optical disc : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 user's guide ([4]p. ; 18 cm.)
System requirements: any color-capable Macintosh; 3,000k of available RAM; System 6.0.7 or later; 13- inch (640x480) or larger color or gray-scale monitor; Macintosh-campatible CD -ROM; headphones or speakers.
SUMMARY Presents two musical compositions with the composer's textural explanations and musical examples. Additional commentary from the programmer and recording engineer explains the technology behind the music.
CONTENTS All my hummingbirds have alibis -- 5 scenes from an imaginary ballet.
[DOUG. CIRC. CD-ROM M1473.S85 A5 1992 & guide]
Maintained by: Leslie Bennett, lbennett@uoregon.edu