Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

This is our on-line computer catalog, as well as being a gateway to other resources, including subject indexes, other libraries' catalogs, and research information.
The UO Library's Catalog includes all of the library's musical scores and recordings. For books, films, etc. purchased and cataloged before 1975, consult the card catalogs on the second floor of the Knight Library.
Access to our catalogs are by Author, Title, Keyword, Call Number and Subject. If you are looking for specific song titles, see "How to Find Individual Songs in Recordings or Sheet Music" at http://libweb.uoregon.edu/music/
researchguides/songs.html.
Subject headings:
Composition (Music)
Chance Composition
Counterpoint
Ground Bass
Harmony
Instrumentation And Orchestration
Melody
Musical Accompaniment
Musical Form
Musicals Writing And Publishing
Popular Music Writing And Publishing
Twelve-Tone System
Transposition (Music)
This database is available by choosing U on the The UO Library Catalog's non-web catalog, or choosing the SUMMIT button in the web version of the UO Library's catalog.
SUMMIT is a database combining the collections of 31+ member libraries into a single online catalog. The member libraries include Oregon and Washington state universities, as well as numerous private universities in Washington & Oregon.
Another member of SUMMIT is the Center for Research Libraries, whose catalog provides unique resources for research. It uses the same search capabilities as the UO Library's catalog.
One of the nice advantages of SUMMIT is that you can request an item from another institution in the consortium, even if our copy is checked out, and you should receive it in about three working days.
WorldCat: This database provides access to over 6 million books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, recordings, etc., held by libraries from around the world. Searching capabilities include access by individual songs, as well as by performer, composer, lyricist, and publisher. Material identified in Worldcat which is not owned by the UO Library may be requested through interlibrary loan if you are a UO library card holder. In general, recordings can't be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Limitations: As libraries become members, their older databases may or may not be added to the WorldCat.
WorldCat is especially good for searching items within a collection, if the catalogers have included that information in the contents notes.
You can order ILL through the system by clicking on the ILL button and filling out the order form.
While you don't have direct Interlibrary Loan capabilities, these do provide you with more searching possibilities for obscure scores. A larger selection of library catalogs is available through UO Library's web catalog, under Other Catalogs.
Indiana University
http://www.music.indiana.edu/muslib.html
Rice University
http://www.ruf.rice.edu/~brownlib
University of California - San Diego
http://orpheus.ucsd.edu/music/
University of Virginia
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/MusicLib/
Washington University, St. Louis, MO
http://library.wustl.edu/~music
Wesleyan University
http://www.wesleyan.edu/libr/srhome/srdir.htm
Canadian Music Centre at http://www.musiccentre.ca/
Norwegian Music Information Centre at http://www.notam.uio.no/nmi/index.html
The American Music Center at http://www.amc.net/
Centre Pompidou at http://www.centrepompidou.fr/Pompidou/Accueil.nsf/tunnel?OpenForm
One source not on the web, but in the UO Library's Music Reference collection is The Japan Federation of Composers' Catalogue of Publications. This resource lists scores published by composers, with a biographical sketch of each composer at the beginning, for every year, since 1972. The call number of this resource is ML 390 .N615. A similarly-entitled resource, Works by Japanese Composers, is also published by the Japan Federation of Composers, and is located at ML 120 .J3 W67. Both of these publications are in Japanese as well as English.
Note: To find out whether we also have an online copy of these journals, search the Journal Title in the Advanced catalog search, off the main UO Library web site. You will find the Journal search box in the middle of the screen. When you type in the title, the catalog should display the journal's entry, with a FindText button at the top right hand side. If you click on this button, the Library's access to various versions of this resource will be displayed.
Balungan : a publication of the American Gamelan Institute. [MUSIC ML 1 .B34]
Computer Music Journal [MUSIC ML 1 .C857]
The Cue Sheet /Film Music [MUSIC ML 2074 .C83]
Ex-Tempore [MUSIC ML 1 .E88]
IMA Bulletin (Int'l Midi Asso.)(1991-1993 only) [MUSIC ML 1380 .I42]
Leonardo music journal : LMJ : journal of the International Society for the Arts, Sciences and Technology.
[MUSIC ML197 .L37]
Recordings to accompany this journal are available in the Douglass Listening Room's Circulating Collection at COMPACT DISC CX2366.
The Music forum. (Ceased in 1987) [MUSIC ML1 .M85]
Organised Sound: An International Journal of Music Technology. [MUSIC ML1379 .O74]
Perspectives of New Music [MUSIC ML 1 .P109]
Theory and practice [MUSIC ML 1 .T24]
For paper copies of publishers' catalogues, see the Music Index table in the Music Reference area, where there are files of catalogues for music and recordings.
Along with the many recordings owned by the UO's Knight Library, we have an annotated copy of the listening list for doctoral composition/theory students that includes score call numbers as well. This list is available on the web at:
http://libweb.uoregon.edu/music/Discographies/
composerslist/complist.html
Also of interest to composers is the BBC Sound Effects Library, which is a 60-volume compact disc collection allowing sampling. The call number of this set is Compact Disc CX1804 and there is a detailed index with the set.
And finally, new to the University of Oregon, is the Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM), which is an online database of the archives of the New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc., and other composer-based labels.
To access this resource (which is limited to UO faculty and students), click on the Videos & Music site, in the UO Library's web site on the left-hand side of the page, and scroll down to Audio Resources Online. There you will find connections to DRAM and to the Smithsonian Global Sound resource.
Other resources on the web, compiled by the Music Services staff, include:
One other resource on the Music Services Web is the Electronic Music Guide at
http://libweb.uoregon.edu/music/researchguides/
electronicguide.html
Listservs provide another outlet for discussion on various topics. They are a way of establishing an "invisible college" to people in your subject areas.
If you want your web site listed with the Oregon Composers or Oregon Musicians' web sites, please contact Terry McQuilkin at tmcq@uoregon.edu
Maintained by: Leslie Bennett, lbennett@uoregon.edu