Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

The following subject headings are a useful way to search the Library's catalog:
Clarinet (for books about the instrument itself)
- Bibliography (For lists of books about the clarinet) [ML128 .C58]
- Construction (How clarinets are constructed)[ML945-946]
- History (an obvious heading) [ML 945- 946]
- Instruction and Study (For resources to teach or learn clarinet) [MT380]
- Methods (Resources to teach you how to play the clarinet)[MT382]
- Reeds (For books on your personal fixation!) [ML946]
Clarinet Music (For lists of music and information about the music) [ML128 .C58]
- Discography (For lists of recordings of clarinet music)[ML156.4 .C6]
Note: See also BASS CLARINET and BASSET HORN.
The MUSIC INDEX (1949 - present) in paper form
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M84]
The last ten years are on the Music Reference Index table
The Music Index is also available on-line (from 1979 to the present), to the UO community, at the Databases & Indexes section of the UO Library's web site.
The Music Index is searchable by Index Word; keyword (anything in any part of the citation); author, title, journal.
Need help using the paper edition? See the Guide to Using the Paper Edition of the Music Index at http://libweb.uoregon.edu/music/researchguides/musindguide.html
RILM
1967 - present
[MUSIC REF ML118 .M84]
Also available online to UO card holders. See the instructions for finding the Music Index online above.
Music Article Guide
1966- 1995 (ceased publication)
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M842]
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources.
All copies are housed on the Music Reference shelves.
Note: To find out what journals we own in the Library, check the index you are using to see if a FindText button is shown. If it is, click on that, and the Library's web site will let you know if we get the journal in paper, or online in full-text, or whether it is something you need to order from Interlibrary Loan.
If the index doesn't have the FindText button, use the UO Library's web site, under Advanced Catalog Search, then choose Journal Title and type the title of the journal in it. If we own it, there will be a display with our call number and the years we hold.
The current year is of each journal displayed on the Music Current Periodicals shelves near the Music Reference area.
Note: All current issues (the latest year) are on the white Current Periodicals shelves near Music Reference.
Clarinet.
Published by the International Clarinet Society.
v. 5(1977)- present
(Previously known as Woodwind World from 1974 - 1976-
in the Music stacks at [Music ML1 .W6]
[MUSIC ML 1 .C787]
The Instrumentalist.
v.1(1946)-present
[MUSIC ML 5 .I55]
Woodwind/brass & percussion.
Official publication of: the Association of Concert Bands of America (ACBA)
[ ML1.W6 v.14-25 (1975-1985) ]
I. Use the following subject headings in the Library's catalog to find listings of music we own:
Clarinet Music (for the actual scores & recordings)
Clarinet- Methods
Clarinet- Orchestra studies
Clarinet- Studies and exercises
To find music for multiple clarinets, use:
Clarinet music (Clarinets (2)) [M 289]
Woodwind Trios (Clarinets (3)) [M 357.2]
Woodwind Quartets (Clarinets (4)) [M 457.2]
Clarinet Choir Music [M959] (at least 10 players)
To find music for clarinet and another instrument, use:
Clarinet and ______ music (fill in the name of the instrument)
Quartets (Clarinet,_____, _____, _____) (fill in the other instruments' names)
II. Search the Library's catalog by the composer's last name in the Author section, then limit the search to Material Type = Music, Printed.
III. Browse the following Call Numbers on the music shelves:
M 72 - Music for solo clarinet
M 250 - Music for clarinet and piano
MT 386 = Methods books for clarinet (Including Orchestral Excerpts)
IV. Borrow from another library:
If we don't own a piece of music, your other options are:
If schools in SUMMIT don't own the music, you can use Interlibrary Loan to borrow through:
Using The Library's Catalog:
You might also want to consult a discography of clarinet recordings and search in the Library's catalog of see if we own them.
For example, see:
Gilbert, Richard.
The clarinetists' discography III.
Harrington Park, N.J. : RG Productions, c1991.
[MUSIC ML156.4 .C6 G53]
To search for just the compact discs:
You will receive a list of the 15,000+ compact discs we own -- you can then limit by author (composer) or title or subject heading.
Note: Our main collection only circulates to UO Faculty and GTFs. All others must listen to the collection in the Douglass Listening Room. However, we do have a compact disc circulating collection. The covers are available for browsing as you walk in to the Douglass Room. For clarinet recordings by specific performers, come browse our Performers section under their last names. These will be compilation albums of many different composers.
|
Clarinet Music
Clarinet Recordings Clarinet Techniques & Teaching Clarinet Repair & Reeds Clarinet History Clarinet People |
Brixel, Eugen
Klarinetten-Bibliographie.
Wilhelmshaven : Heinrichshofen, 1977-
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 B74 v.1]
Foster, Levin Wilson.
A directory of clarinet music.
Pittsfield, Mass., Printed by A. E. Johnson & sons [c1940]
[MUSIC ML128.C58 F6]
Gee, Harry R
Clarinet solos de concours, 1897-1980 : an annotated bibliography.
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1981.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 G43]
Gillespie, James E.
Solos for unaccompanied clarinet: an annotated bibliography of published works.
Detroit, Information Coordinators, 1973.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58G54]
Heim, Norman M.
The clarinet concerto in outline.
Hyattsville, Md.: Norcat Music Press, c1997.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 H49 1997]
Heim, Norman M.
Clarinet literature in outline. .
Hyattsville, Md., U.S.A.: Norcat Music Press, c1984.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 H5 1984]
Heim, Norman H.
The clarinet sonata in outline.
Hyattsville, Md.: Norcat Music Press, c1995.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 H35 1995]
International Clarinet Society. Research Center.
Catalog of the International Clarinet Society score collection.
College Park : University of Maryland, 1982.
[MUSIC REF. ML136.A1I6 1982]
Catalog of the International Clarinet Society score collection. 2nd ed.
College Park, Md. : Music Library of the University of Maryland, 1990.
[MUSIC REF. ML136.C66 I67 1990]
Opperman, Kalmen.
Repertory of the clarinet.
New York, Ricordi [1960]
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58O66]
Warner, Melvin.
Index of orchestral and operatic excerpts for clarinet. Rev. and ex.
DeKalb, Ill. : Moonlight Press, 1990, c1968.
[MUSIC REF. ML948 .W37 1990]
Wilkins, Wayne.
The index of clarinet music.
Magnolia, Ark. : Music Register, c1975.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 W54 + sup 1975-1978 ]
Gilbert, Richard, 1943-
The clarinetists' discography III.
Harrington Park, N.J. : RG Productions, c1991.
[MUSIC ML156.4.C6 G53]
Campione, Carmine.
Campione on clarinet : a complete guide to clarinet playing and instruction.
Fairfield, Ohio : J. Ten-Ten Publ., c2001.
[MUSIC MT380 .C36 2001]
Drushler, Paul, 1936-
The altissimo register : a partial approach : for Bb soprano clarinet.
Rochester, N.Y. : Shall-u-mo Publications, c1978.
[MUSIC MT380 .D78 1978]
Gibson, O. Lee (Oscar Lee)
Clarinet acoustics. .
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1994.
[MUSIC ML946 .G5 1994]
Gold, Cecil V.
Contemporary clarinet technique : a study of the altissimo register.
Greensboro, N.C. : Spectrum Music, c1983.
[MUSIC MT380.G62 1983]
Guy, Larry.
Embouchure building for clarinetists. 3rd ed.
Stony Point, NY : Rivernote Press, 2001, c2000.
[MUSIC MT385 .G98 2001]
Guy, Larry.
Intonation training for clarinetists. 3rd ed.
Stony Point, NY : Rivernote Press, 1996, c1995.
[MUSIC MT380 .G89 1996]
Heim, Norman M.
Ornamentation for the clarinetist.
Hyattsville, Md. : Norcat Music Press, c1993.
[MUSIC MT380 .H46 1993]
Heim, Norman M.
Intermediate style etudes and technical exercises for clarinet.
[Comp. and ed.] by Harry Gee.
San Antonio : Southern Music, [19--]
[MUSIC MT385 .I574 1900z]
Mazzeo, Rosario, 1911-
The clarinet : excellence and artistry .
Medfield, Mass. : Dorn, c1990.
[MUSIC MT382 .M347 1990]
Pino, David.
The clarinet and clarinet playing.
New York : C. Scribner's Sons, c1980.
[MUSIC MT380.P56]
Puwalski, Tom.
The clarinetist's guide to klezmer.
[S.l.] : Zephyr Publishing, 2001.
[MUSIC MT380 .P89 2001]
Ridenour, Thomas.
Clarinet fingerings: a comprehensive guide for the performer and educator.
[Denton, Tex. : : s.n.], c2000.
[MUSIC MT380 .R53 2000]
Ridenour, Thomas.
The educator's guide to the clarinet : a complete guide to teaching and learning the clarinet. 2d ed.
Duncanville, TX : T. Ridenour, c2002.
[MUSIC MT380 .R53 2002]
Sigel, Allen.
Clarinet master class with Allen Sigel.
Rochester, N.Y. : SHALL-u-mo Publications, c1982.
CONTENTS:v. 1. Master lessons and etudes based on six solo works by Mozart, vonWeber, Spohr, Brahms.
[MUSIC MT380 .S54 1982 v.1]
Stubbins, William Harold, 1911-
The art of clarinetistry; the acoustical mechanics of the clarinet as a basis for the art of music performance.
Ann Arbor, Mich., Ann Arbor s [c1965]
[MUSIC ML945 .S8]
Thurston, Frederick.
Clarinet technique. 4th ed.
London ; New York : Music Department, Oxford University Press, 1985.
NOTES: "A list of music for the clarinet": [59]-94.
[MUSIC MT380.T5 1985]
Tosse, Gabriel.
Artistic clarinet; technique and study.
Hollywood, Highland Music Co. [c1962]
[MUSIC MT380.T7]
Weston, Pamela.
The clarinettist's companion. Rev. ed.
Corby : Fentone Music, 1982, c1976.
[MUSIC MT380 .W47 1982]
Willaman, Robert.
The clarinet and clarinet playing; a text for beginners, advanced players, listeners. .
Salt Point, N.Y., [1949]
[MUSIC MT380 .W5]
Armato, Ben.
Perfect a reed-and beyond : reed adjusting method.
Ardsley, N.Y.: PerfectaReed,1996.
[MUSIC ML946 .A76 1996]
Grabner, Walter.
Making clarinet reeds by hand.
[Highland Park, Ill.] : ClarinetXpress, c1999.
[MUSIC ML946 .G727 1999]
Guy, Larry.
Selection, adjustment, and care of single reeds. 2d ed.
Stony Point, N.Y. : Rivernote Press, 1997.
[MUSIC ML946 .G99 1997]
Klug, Howard.
The clarinet doctor.
[Bloomington, IN?] : Woodwindiana, c1997.
[MUSIC MT380 .K58 1997]
Opperman, Kalmen.
Handbook for making and adjusting single reeds; for all clarinets and saxophones.
New York, Chappell [1956]
[MUSIC ML946.O6 ]
Pascucci, Vito.
Care and minor repairs of the clarinet for band directors.
Kenosha, Wi. : G. Leblanc Corp., [197-?]
CONTENTS:Part 1 : Care of your clarinet.--Part 2 : Minor adjustments and repair of the clarinet.
[MUSIC ML946 .P263]
Stier, Charles.
Clarinet reeds : definitive instruction in an elusive art.
Silver Spring, MD: Charles Stier, [1991?]
[MUSIC ML946.S7 C5 ]
Birsak, Kurt.
The clarinet : a cultural history.
English translation, Gail Schamberger.
Buchloe : Druck und Verlag Obermayer, 1994.
[MUSIC ML945 .B5713 1994]
Brymer, Jack.
Clarinet.
New York : Schirmer Books, 1977, c1976.
[MUSIC ML945.B8 1977]
The Cambridge companion to the clarinet. .
Edited by Colin Lawson.
Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press,1995.
[MUSIC ML945 .C36 1995 ]
Dean, Michael, 1963-
Clarinet on campus : catalogue of results from a survey of clarinet teachers at colleges and universities in the United States.
Cedar City, Utah : LMB Resources, 1997.
[MUSIC ML945 .D43 1997]
Kroll, Oskar.
The clarinet.
Revised, and with a repertory by Diethard Riehm.
Translated by Hilda Morris.
New York, Taplinger Pub. Co. [1968]
[MUSIC ML945 .K7613]
Kroll, Oskar.
Die Klarinette; ihre Geschichte, ihre Literatur, ihre grossen Meister.
Kassel, Barenreiter, 1965.
[MUSIC ML945 .K76]
Lawson, Colin (Colin James)
The early clarinet : a practical guide.
Cambridge, UK; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2000.
[MUSIC ML945 .L39 2000]
Rehfeldt, Phillip, 1939-
New directions for clarinet. Rev. ed.
Berkeley : University of California Press, c1994.
[MUSIC ML945 .R43 1993]
Rendall, F. Geoffrey (Francis Geoffrey), 1890-1952.
The clarinet; some notes upon its history and construction.
London, E. Benn; New York, W.W. Norton [1971]
[MUSIC ML946.R4 1971]
Rice, Albert R.
The baroque clarinet.
Oxford [England] : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1992.
[MUSIC ML945 .R5 1991]
Richards, Edwin Michael, 1954-
The clarinet of the twenty-first century.
[S.l. : E + K Pub.], c1992.
[MUSIC MT382 .R52 1992 + DOUGLASS CASSETTE 1541M]
Firestone, Ross.
Swing, swing, swing : the life & times of Benny Goodman.
New York : Norton, c1993.
NOTES: Accompanying compact disc includes selections from the Benny Goodman collection at the Yale University Music Library Archives ; various performers.
[MUSIC ML422.G65 F6 1992 + Doug Circ COMPACT DISC CX1806]
Harvey, Paul, 1935-
Bandroom jottings.
Baldock : Egon, 1989.
[MUSIC ML419.H347 A3 1989]
Kycia, Carol Anne, 1964-
Daniel Bonade: a founder of the American style of clarinet playing.
Captiva, FL : Captiva Publishing, c1999.
[MUSIC ML419.B66 K92 1999]
Weston, Pamela.
Clarinet virtuosi of the past.
London, Hale, 1971.
[MUSIC ML399.W48]
Weston, Pamela.
Clarinet virtuosi of today.
Baldock, England : Egon, 1989.
[MUSIC ML399 .W482]
Weston, Pamela.
More clarinet virtuosi of the past.
[York, England] : Emerson Edition Ltd., 2002, c1977.
[MUSIC ML399 .W49 2002]
Weston, Pamela.
Yesterday's clarinettists : a sequel.
York, Eng. : Emerson Edition Ltd., 2002.
[MUSIC ML399 .W499 2002]
I. Get the facts about a composer in music encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources:
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. Edited by Slonimsky, Nicolas.8th ed.
New York: G. Schirmer, 1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML105 .B16 1992]
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed.
New York: Grove, 2001. 29 v.
Available in print at:[MUSIC REF. ML 100 .N 48 2001]
The New Grove... is also available on the web to UO users at the What are you looking for? window on the bottom right-hand side of the screen.
Next, pull down the arrow to Reference Sources, Online and click on Encyclopedias/Music
This source has good signed articles by noted authorities-with excellent bibliographies.
The New Oxford Companion to Music. 2 vols.
Oxford;NY: Oxford University Press, 1983.
[MUSIC REF. ML 100 .N49 1983]
A comprehensive list of the dictionaries and encyclopedias held by the UO Library is at http://libweb.uoregon.edu/music/Teachingresources/encylist.html
For help finding recordings, see Finding Recordings of Clarinet Music in the UO Library on this web site.