Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

Corp, Ronald.
The choral singer's companion.
New York, N.Y. : Facts on File Publications, 1987.
[MUSIC REF. MT875 .C68 1987]
Hawkins, Margaret.
An annotated inventory of distinctive choral literature for performance at the high school level.
[Tampa, Fla] : American Choral Directors Association, c1976.
[MUSIC ML128.V7H37]
Music Educators' National Conference (U.S.)/American Choral Directors Association.
Society for the Preservation and Encouragement of Barber Shop Quartet Singing in America.
Selective music lists: vocal solos, vocal ensembles.
MENC: [Vienna, Va.] 1974.
[MUSIC ML128.V7 M955]
Selective music lists, 1968.
Washington :Music Educators' National Conference (U.S.)[c1968]
[MUSIC ML128.V7M95]
White, J. Perry.
Twentieth-century choral music : an annotated bibliography of music suitable for use by high school choirs.
Metuchen, NJ. Scarecrow Press, 1982.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C48W53 1982]
Burnsworth, Charles C.
Choral music for women's voices; an annotated bibliography of recommended works.
Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1968.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7B87]
Edwards, J. Michele.
Literature for voices in combination with electronic and tape music : an annotated bibliography.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : Music Library Association, 1977.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.E4 E37]
Knapp, John Merrill, comp.
Selected list of music for men's voices.
Princeton, N.J., Princeton University Press, 1952.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7K6 ]
Roberts, Kenneth Creighton
A checklist of twentieth-century choral music for male voices.
Detroit, Information Coordinators, 1970.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 R6]
Tortolano, William.
Original music for men's voices : a selected bibliography. 2d ed.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1981.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 T66 1981]
DeVenney, David P.
Nineteenth-century American choral music : an annotated guide.
Berkeley, Calif. : Fallen Leaf Press, c1987.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C48 D48 1987]
DeVenney, David P.
Early American choral music : an annotated guide.
Berkeley, Calif. : Fallen Leaf Press, c1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 D43 1988]
Dox, Thurston J.
American oratorios and cantatas : a catalog of works written in the United States from colonial times to 1985
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1986. 2 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O45D7 1986 v.1 & 2]
Tiemstra, Suzanne Spicer.
The choral music of Latin America : a guide to compositions and research.
New York : Greenwood Press, 1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C48 T5 1992]
Forbes, Elliot.
The choral music of Beethoven.
[New York, American Choral, Foundation] 1969.
[MUSIC REF. ML134.B4 .F6]
May, James D.
Avant-garde choral music: an annotated selected bibliography.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1977.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 M43]
Valentin, Erich,ed.
Handbuch der Chormusik. Hrsg. im Auftrag der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Chorverbande.
Regensburg, G. Bosse [1953- ]
[Divided by choir, then by composer. Gives orchestration, times, publisher, text to major parts of the mass.]
[MUSIC ML128.V7 V3 v.1 & 2]
Note: For more resources of publishers, see Music Publishers
Choral music in print. Master index, 1991.
Philadelphia : Musicdata, 1991.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 C57 1991]
Sacred choral music in print, second edition. Arranger index.
Philadelphia : Musicdata, 1987.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7E7837 1987]
Sacred choral music in print . 2nd ed.
Philadelphia : Musicdata, 1985.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7E78 1985 v.1 & 2]
Secular choral music in print, second edition. Arranger index.
Philadelphia : Musicdata, 1987.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7S37 1987]
Secular choral music in print. 2nd ed..
Philadelphia : Musicdata, 1987.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7D3 1987 v.1 & 2]
Secular choral music in print. 1991 supplement.
Philadelphia : Musicdata, 1991.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 D3 1987 Suppl]
Secular choral music in print. 1982 supplement.
Philadelphia : Musicdata, 1982.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7N325 1982]
And now for the free stuff...
Choral Public Domain Library
The Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL) is the largest website devoted exclusively to free choral sheet music. Begun in December 1998, the site has over 300 contributors and 7,600 scores.
Hall, Alison.
E.H. Fellowes, an index to the English madrigalists and the English school of lutenist song writers.
Boston : Music Library Association, 1984.
[MUSIC REF. ML120.G7H34 1984] .
[Note: We have this collection=MUSIC REF. M2 .F4]
Ochs, Michael.
An index to Das Chorwerk, volumes 1-110.
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] Music Library Association, 1970.
[MUSIC ML113.M84 no. 10] .
[Note: We have this collection=MUSIC REF. M2 .C6325]
Bach, Johann Sebastian, Z. Philip Ambrose, and Helmuth Rilling.
Texte zu den Kirchenkantaten von Johann Sebastian Bach = The texts to Johann Sebastian Bach's church cantatas.
Neuhausen-Stuttgart : Hanssler, c1984.
[MUSIC ML54.B15C33 1984]
Evans, Margaret R.
Sacred cantatas, an annotated bibliography, 1960-1979.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 1982.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C15E9 1982]
Laster, James.
Catalogue of choral music arranged in Biblical order . 2d ed.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1996.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C54L4 1996]
Steere, Dwight.
Music for the Protestant church choir; a descriptive and classified list of worship material.
Richmond, John Knox Press [1955]
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7S84]
The Liber Usualis.
Tournai : Society of St. John the Evangelist, Desclee, 1938.
[MUSIC REF. M 2148.1 .T8 L42 1938]
Ludwig, Friedrich, 1872-1930.
Repertorium organorum recentioris et motetorum vetustissimi stili
New York : Institute of Mediaeval Music, 1964-1978.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.M3L92 v.1 pt.1, pt.2; v.2]
Mongredien, Jean.
Catalogue thematique des sources du grand motet francais (1663-1792)
Munchen ; New York : K.G. Saur, 1984.
[MUSIC REF. ML120.F7C37 1984]
Werf, Hendrik van der.
Integrated directory of organa, clausulae and motets of the thirteenth century
Rochester, N.Y. : H. van der Werf, 1989.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C2 W47 1989]
Fenlon, Iain.
The Italian madrigal in the early sixteenth century : sources and interpretation.
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML2633 .F46 1988]
Lincoln, Harry B.
The Italian madrigal and related repertories : indexes to printed collections, 1500-1600 .
New Haven : Yale University Press, c1988. .
"This work is [primarily a thematic index,] designed to complement but not supplant the various Vogel catalogs."
[MUSIC REF. ML128.M2 L56 1988]
Newman, Joel.
An index to capoversi and titles cited in Einstein's The Italian madrigal.
New York, Renaissance Society of America [c1967]
[MUSIC ML128.V7 N5]
Rimbault, Edward F. (Edward Francis)
Bibliotheca madrigaliana; A bibliographical account of the musical and poetical works published in England during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, under the titles of Madrigals, Ballets, Ayres, Canzonets, etc., etc.
New York, B. Franklin [196-?]
[MUSIC REF. ML120.G7 R5 1847a]
Mooser, R.-Aloys (Robert-Aloys)
Operas, intermezzos, ballets, cantates, oratorios joues en Russie durant le XVIIIe siecle, avec l'indication des oeuvres de compositeurs russes parues en Occident, a la meme epoque. Essai d'un repertoire alphabetique et chronologique. 3. ed. .
Bale, Barenreiter [1964]
[MUSIC ML128.V7 M66 1964]
American Choral Foundation, inc.
Research Memorandum. (1964 - 1991)
[Lots of reviews, information on choral music, publishers' information, etc.]
[MUSIC ML 128 .V7 A5]
Sharp, Avery T. and James Michael Floyd.
Choral music : a research and information guide.
New York : Routledge, 2002.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C48 S53 2002]
Sharp, Avery T.
Choral music reviews index II, 1986-1988 .
New York : Garland, 1990.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 S386 1990]
Sharp, Avery T.
Choral music reviews index, 1983-1985.
New York : Garland, 1986.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7S385 1986]
Whitten, Lynn.
A classified, annotated bibliography of articles related to choral music in five major periodicals through 1980.
Lawton, Okla. : American Choral Directors Association, 1982.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C48C4 1982]
American Choral Review
(1961 -1991)
[ML 1500 .C5]
Previous title:Bulletin of the American Choral Foundation.
(1959 - 1960)
[ML 1500 .A4]
Now called: The Voice of Chorus America. (ML 1500 .V645]
The Choral Journal
(1969 - present)
[ML 1500 .C5]
Northwest News (ACDA. Northwest region)
(1978 - 1992)
[OR COLL. ML 1 .N65]
Lellky, Ake.
Katalog over orkester- och korverk, tillgangliga for utlaning fran Kungl. Musikaliska akademiens bibliotek och Sveriges orkesterforeningars riksforbunds central bibliotek.
Stockholm, 1953.
[MUSIC ML128.O5 L3]
Musical Fund Society of Philadelphia.
Catalog of orchestral & choral compositions : published and in manuscript between 1790 and 1840:from the library of the Musical Fund Society of Philadelphia.
Tucson : The Society, [1974]
[MUSIC REF. ML136.P4 F77]
To all of these, you can limit the list to just recordings (or scores)
To search for just the compact discs:
You will receive a list of the 13,000+ compact discs we own- you can then limit by author (composer) or title or subject heading.
You may also want to search the following discography of choral music, then check it against our catalog to see if we own the recordings:
Blyth, Alan.
Choral music on record.
Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press,
[MUSIC REF.. ML156.4.V7 C54 1991]
Use the following subject headings:
The MUSIC INDEX (1949 - 2001) in paper
(MUSIC REF INDEX TABLE) or
The Music Index On-line
Available on the web, through the UO connections, under Articles, Databases & Indexes on the UO Library's catalog.
Searchable by Index Word; keyword (anything in any part of the citation); author, title, journal.
Arts & Humanities Search - The Arts & Humanities Citation Index- Trace writings by noted scholars-including who they quoted and who quoted them.