The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Women's and Gender Studies. For further assistance, contact Sara Brownmiller, Women's Studies Librarian, at snb@uoregon.edu.
Starting Your Research
These reference sources can help you identify a topic for your research, provide an overview of a specific issue or topic, and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research.
Finding Articles
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.
- Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database provides coverage of gender-related topics, including women's studies, men's studies, and sexual diversity. (Formerly Women's Studies International)
- LGBT Life Full Text
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
- Academic Search Premier
A good starting point for research about women. Academic Search Premier indexes a large number of women's studies journals.
- Ethnic Newswatch
This database contains the complete text of articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 100 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S.
Return to top
Finding Books
- UO Libraries' Catalog
Identify books by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if we have it here.
- Summit Union Catalog
The Summit Union Catalog contains records for the collections of academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Summit borrowing works only for books. If you want to request a journal article, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form.
Return to top
Facts and Figures
- Genderstats
Contains basic demographic, education, labor force, and health data for most countries.
- Statistical Sources on the Web
A good place to begin searching for statistical information published by the U.S. government on the World Wide Web.
- Statistical Handbook on Women in America; HQ1420.T34 1996 Knight Reference
Provides statistical information on demographics, employment and economic statues, health aspects, and social characteristics by age, race, and ethnicity, as well as selected historical and international comparative data.
- Statistical Record of Women Worldwide; HQ1150.S73 1995 Knight Reference
Compilation of tables from U.S. and international sources on attitudes and opinions; business and economics; crime; domestic life; education; health; income and employment; the military; vital statistics; religion; sexuality; and sports
- Statistical Sources on Women and Gender
A portal to many Websites both for the U.S. and international, maintained by the University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Office.
- World's Women 2000: Trends and Statistics
Online highlights available at http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/indwm/index.htm
Return to top
People and Organizations
- Women of Achievement: Thirty-Five Centuries of History; HQ1123.R38 1981 Knight Reference
- Who's Who of American Women; E176.W647 Knight Reference
- The World Who's Who of Women; HQ1123.W65 Knight Reference
- Index to Women of the World from Ancient to Modern Times; Z7963.B6I73
- Biographies Plus Illustrated
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
An index to hundreds of sources of biographical information of people worldwide from all time periods
Return to top
Web Resources
Maintained by: Sara Brownmiller, snb@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 05/19/2008