Finding Psychological Tests
The following is a
selected list of resources for psychological tests. Most psychological tests are commerical tests and not readily available as complete tests.
Only a few sources
provide an actual test. Some sources will give a short summary and
basic details about a testing instrument. Other resources provide an
ovreview or review of a test.
If you need further assistance, ask a
reference librarian or contact Barbara Jenkins.
Books Containing Tests
The following resources provide a copy of the tests
described in the book. Most of the test books are in Knight Reference and do not circulate.
- Measures for Clinical Practice: A Source book
Reference BF 176 .C66 2000 & 1994 (2 vols)
These instruments
were specifically selected because "they measure most of the common
problems seen in clinical practice and they are relatively short, easy
to score and administer." There is a helpful introduction
on the basic principles of measurement.
- Handbook of Sexually Related Measures
Reference HQ 60 .H36 1998
This book includes hundreds of measures related to sexual behavior,
beliefs, attitudes, and more. Most of the instruments are included in
the book; those that aren't, provide contact information on obtaining
the test.
- Measures of Religiosity
Reference BR110 .M43 1999
A great source for spirituality or religion tests and surveys.
- Measures of Personality & Social Psychological Attitudes
Reference BF698.4 M38 1991
These 88 measures have been identified to be the most useful measures
of important social science concepts and are reviewed by experts in
the field. Hence, the reviews are more knowledgeable, but there are
fewer tests.
- Tests and Assessment links on Psych Web
Books That Point To Tests
- Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and
Measures
BF 692 .b38 1990
Describes 197 scales organized into 11 chapters: Heterosocial
Relations, Sexuality, Contraception and Abortion, Pregnancy and Childbirth, Somatic Issues,
Homosexuality Rape and Sexual Coercion, Family Violence, Body Image and Appearance, and Eating Disorders
- Gender roles: A handbook of tests and
measures
HM253 .B43 1990
Describes 211 scales in 7 chapters: Gender Roles, Children and Gender, Stereotypes, Marital and Parental
Roles, Employee Roles, Multiples Roles, & Attitudes
Toward Gender Role Issues.
- Women and women's issues: a handbook of tests and
measures
HQ1180.B43 1979
Describes 235 measures, organized into 11 chapters: Sex Roles, Sex Stereotypes, Sex Role Prescriptions, Children's
Sex Roles, Gender Knowledge, Marital and Parental
Roles Employee Roles, Multiples Roles, Attitudes
Toward Women's Issues, & Somatic and Sexual Issues.
- Handbook of family measurement techniques
HQ728 .H26 1990
Provides general information regarding the content and procedures
associated with 976 tests that have been developed and used over the
past 50 years. Reliability, validity and references are included. The
work consists of 5 categories: Dimensions of family and marital
interaction, intimacy and family values, parenthood, roles and power,
and adjustment.
Unpublished Tests
Unpublished tests have not been commercially published. Some can be
found in journals in their entirety. The sources in this section
provide citations to research articles that cover psychological
measures.
- Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental
Measures
Reference BF 431 .G625
Provides listings of unpublished tests described in 40 journals in
the fields of behavioral and social sciences from the years
1970-1997. Information includes: number of items; format; reliability
and validity; author; title; journal; and related research. Volume 7
indexes the previous 6 volumes.
- Measures for Psychological Assessment: A guide to 3000
Original Sources and their Applications
REFERENCE BF 698.5 C45 (2nd copy in stacks)
Provides a comprehensive bibliography from 26 psychology and
sociology journals from 1960-1970. Directs user to original source,
most of which are journal articles.
Articles That Point To Tests
You can find references to research journal articles that describe
experiments and the instruments used to measure their variables in
electronic databases like PsycINFO. Use the thesaurus located on the PsycINFO database (toolbox).
For example:
- Aptitude measures
- Attitude measures
- Performance tests
- Personality measures
- Employment tests
- Intelligence tests
- Inventories
- Test construction
Encyclopedias/Books About Tests
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement and other psychology encyclopedias can provide excellent overviews. Books also can be useful. Do a
search in the University of Oregon Library Catalog by:
Maintained by: Barbara Jenkins, jenkins@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/17/2006