chat is offline

Home » Research Guides » Course Guides » Sciences » SPUR Guide


SPUR - Summer Program for Undergraduate Research

Biology Department SPUR site     
Table of contents   Contact:

Brian Westra
Lorry Lokey Science Data Services Librarian
bwestra@uoregon.edu 541-346-2654

Research Databases

see the databases listed by subject

All Sciences

Google Scholar

  • Google for academics. Because it can search inside pdfs, it may turn up hard-to-find information not found elsewhere. Use this link to have access to the FindText full text information.
  • Note: use the link in the databases list in order to access the FindText options.

Web of Science

  • Interdisciplinary science database, a heavily-used source for science literature. Use for basic searches, and especially for citation-chain searches

Biology

NCBI databases, via Entrez cross-database search

Chemistry

Chemspider

  • ChemSpider is a chemistry search engine. It has been built with the intention of aggregating and indexing chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and make it available to everybody, at no charge.

SciFinder Scholar

  • "The" search engine and databases for chemistry. Registration is required for web access. Only 3 UO users can be searching SciFinder at the same time.
  • Make use of the quick how-to-search guides for searches on research topics, structures, molecular formulas, author names, and other options.
  • There are also tutorials, which provide excellent step-by-step instructions.

Human Physiology

PubMed

  • THE database for medical sciences.  Published by the National Library of Medicine, free to anyone, but use THIS link to get the UO holdings information via the FINDTEXT button.

Physics

ArXiv

  • The physics and math e-print archive. See particularly Condensed Matter and Quantum Physics.
  • see also: ArXiv - via Scirus search

Psychology

PsycNET

  top

Using the Catalog

Searching the UO Libraries Catalog and beyond for books, journal titles, and other materials.

  top

Research Guides

See these Library Research Guides:

  top

Citing Resources

There are several free resources that can help you collect article citations, and create bibliographies for articles and reports.

Zotero - a plugin for Firefox that is "a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources."

Mendeley - enables you to manage citations, and view and share citations and papers from other people and groups. Requires a component that you can install on your computer. The two pieces work together to help you collect citations, but also enable you to share citations with other groups, and search the papers they have viewed and cited.

  top

Data Management Basics

See the guide to managing research data for information on

  top
Maintained by: Brian Westra, bwestra@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 06/27/2011