Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

PSY 472/572: Trauma Research

Finding Articles

Following are four primary indexes that will be useful to search for scholarly research articles: PsycINFO, Medline, PILOTS, and Sociological Abstracts. If you are not able to find what you need, please don't hesitate to contact the Knight Library Reference Desk at 346-1818. You can also send questions via email.

For further assistance, contact Barbara Jenkins, Psychology Librarian.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO is an important resource for finding scholarly articles and chapters in books. It indexes 1900+ journals. Remember to use to determine if the UO has a particular journal. PsycINFO also has backfiles which cover journal articles back to 1872. The guide to using PsycINFO via Ovid can provide efficient searching tips and suggestions for becoming a power-user.

MEDLINE
Medline covers all areas of biomedicine and indexes 3,700+ journals. It includes a number of psychology and psychiatry journals. Remember to use to determine if the UO has a particular journal.

PILOTS database
The PILOTS database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD and is available to the public at no charge. No account or password is required.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It indexes over 1,500 journals. Remember to use to determine if the UO has a particular journal.

Recommended Journals

The following journals are owned by the UO. See Professor Freyd's journal list for other trauma journals not owned by the UO Library. Many journals articles on trauma are also published in more general psychology journals.

Australasian Journal of Disaster
and Trauma Studies
Online Only (1997-current)
Child Abuse & Neglect Online (2000-current)
Print: HV 741.C452 (1978-2004)

Journal of Interpersonal Violence

Print Only
Knight HV 6618 .J68 (2001-current)
Journal of Trauma & Dissociation... Online (2002-current)
Print: Knight RC 553 .D5 J68
Journal of Traumatic Stress

Online (1997-current)
Print: RC 552 .P67 J68 (2001-2004)

Violence Against Women Online (1999-current)
Print: HV 6250.4 .W65 V5565


Finding Full Text Journals in Psychology

Using FindText
The Library now provides access to thousands of electronic journals. Click on in PsycINFO or any other database to find the full text to journals available through the UO Libraries. If the Library does not have access to a journal electronically, FindText will provide access to the Library Catalog or the interlibrary loan forms.

PsycARTICLES
In PsycINFO all the PsycARTICLES full text journals are noted by the phrase "OVID full text". All of these full text articles and more are available through the Library's .

Handbooks

These are a few of the key handbooks for trauma.
The APSAC handbook on child maltreatment Knight HV 6626.5 .A84 1996
Handbook for the assessment of dissociation: a clinical guide Knight RC 553 .D5 S73 1995
Handbook of dissociation:theoretical,empirical and clinical perspectives Knight RC 553 .D5 H36
International handbook of multigenerational legacies of trauma Knight RC 552 .P67 I578 1998
Rape and sexual assault III: a research handbook Knight HV 6561 .R369 1991

Finding Books

Most people begin searching with a keyword or subject search, unless they already know the author or title they want to find. The following subjects should be helpful in beginning your search: post traumatic stress disorder, dissociative disorders, psychic trauma, recovered memory, etc. These subject terms can be used to search the UO Libraries Catalog, the Summit Catalog, and WorldCat.

UO Libraries Catalog

  • If FindText indicates that the UO does not the journal, it will provide a link to the Interlibrary Loan form. You can also go directly to the Interlibrary loan form to request a copy of the article from another library.
  • If the Catalog indicates that the UO does not own the book, use Summit. If Summit does not have it available, use WorldCat.

Summit Catalog

Summit is a consortium of academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest whose combined collections total over 22 million. Request books (but not journal articles) through Summit if the UO copy is checked out, missing, or if UO doesn't own a copy.

  • Delivered within 2-3 working days
  • 3 week checkout period with renewal option
  • Free service for UO students, faculty, and staff
  • Click on Request This Item link when looking at full record to borrow material from another Summit Library.

WorldCat

WorldCat provides access to over 56 million books and you can request materials from most of them. Once you are looking at the full record for an item you want you can request it by clicking on "Borrow this item from another library (interlibrary loan)" and filling out the form. Delivery time usually is 5-7 days although some items may take longer. For more information, call the Knight Library Reference Desk at 346-1818.

 

Maintained by: Barbara Jenkins, jenkins@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 09/18/2006