|
Contact Barbara Jenkins, Psychology Librarian
jenkins@uoregon.edu 541/346-1925
Starting Your Research
Research Methodology
Need ideas for a topic or background information?
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and annual reviews are excellent sources for both research project ideas and to provide you important background information on your topic.
Annual Review of Psychology
Use this resource to get an idea for a topic.. Provides good ollow-up references of other articles.
Psychology Encyclopedias
Specialized psychology encyclopedias provide easy ways to get an overview of the topic.
- Journals
- Many currently psychology journals are available electronically - search for a particular title via the Journal Titles tab on the green rectangle on the Library's web site.
- Most psychology journals received in print are located in Knight Library.
- Journals in neurobiology & evolutionary biology may be located in the Science Library.
Finding Articles
-
Under Find Resources, click on Articles, Databases & Indexes.
-
Select Advanced Search.
-
Pull down Category box on left side to Psychology
-
All journal article databases in psychology are listed.
To go to a specific database directly click on the database below:
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is an important resource for finding scholarly articles and chapters in books. It indexes 1900+ journals. Use to determine if the UO has a particular journal. PsycINFO covers journal articles back to 1806.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collectionn
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to 550 full text journals in topics related to psychology and human behavior. This database provides an easy way to limit by peer reviewed journals. Use to determine if the UO has a particular journal.
MEDLINE
Medline covers all areas of biomedicine and indexes 3,700+ journals. It includes a number of psychology and psychiatry journals. Use to determine if the UO has a particular journal.
Finding Books
Summit
Summit is the catalog of the consortium of libraries in the Pacific Northwest whose combined collections provide more than 22 million items. Request books and other materials (but not journal articles) through Summit if the UO copy is checked out, missing, or if UO doesn't own a copy.
Delivered within 3 *working* days or less
Free service for UO students, faculty, and staff
Web Resources
|