The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Philosophy. For further assistance, contact Paul Frantz, Reference Librarian, at pfrantz@uoregon.edu.
Starting Your Research
Reference sources provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research.
-
The Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2nd edition, Macmillan) provides overviews of philosophers and philosophical concepts.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Knight Reference B 51 .R68 1998) is a 10-volume set providing overviews of philosophers and philosophical concepts.
- The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a web encyclopedia, whose entries are being added over time.
- The Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy (Knight Reference B 121 .E53 2001) complements the western orientation of the above sets.
- The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy, Second Edition, (Knight Reference B 41 .C35 1999) provides concise entries on concepts and key figures in the field.
- The Knight Library offers an electronic full-text edition of The Complete Works of John Dewey and Hegel Werke II through the Past Master's digitized set. (Knight Reference CD-ROM work station.
- Encyclopedia Britannica. Concise, frequently scholarly, articles on many topics of interest to those doing work in philosophy.
Finding Articles
To look for articles in academic journals or magazines, start with a periodical index. An index will allow you to find articles by subject, by a few keywords which describe your topic, or by author.
-
OneSearch allows you to search for journal articles in a number of philosophy databases simultaneously, including Philosopher's Index and JSTOR
- The Philosopher's Index provides subject and author access to philosophy periodicals and books. Its coverage extends back to 1940.
- JSTOR provides full text retrospective coverage of core academic journals.
- L'Annee Philologique provides an index to articles in classics journals and thus to ancient philosophy. (Note this helpful user's guide to the database.)
- Arts and Humanities Search provides indexing to about 1,300 periodicals in the humanities. Its "Citation Index" allows researchers to see which journal articles have been cited by subsequent writers.Coverage: 1980 to the present.
Finding Books
- The University of Oregon Library Catalog identifies books and other resources owned by the UO Library.
Books on philosophy can be found under the following call numbers:
- B Philosophy
- BC Logic
- BD Speculative philosophy
- BF 311-316 Cognition
- BH Aesthetics
- BJ Ethics
- E 184-185 Race
- GE 40-45 Environmental ethics
- HQ 1190 Feminist theory
- JA 71-91 and JC 11-628 Political theory
- Q 174-179 Philosophy of science
- RC 437-510 Philosophy of psychology
- T 14 Philosophy of technology
- The Summit (Orbis Cascade) Union Catalog makes available more than 16,000,000 items from over 30 Northwest academic libraries.
- WorldCat provides access to library catalogs around the world and is most frequently used for obtaining books, manuscripts, conference proceedings, etc through interlibrary loan.
- Dissertation Abstracts provides summary information of dissertations in all subjects from 1861 to the present.
Professional Associations
- The American Philosophical Association Online provides membership and governance information about the association, a list of its publications, grant and fellowship opportunities, and links to other Web sites of interest to philosophers.
- Directory of American philosophers (Knight Reference B 935 .D5) lists the faculty of university departments of philosophy. A corresponding work, International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers (Knight Reference B 35 .I5) does the same for institutions in 132 countries.
Web Resources
Maintained by: Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 08/30/2007