Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Finding Newspapers

"News is the first rough draft of history."
- Philip Graham, former publisher, Washington Post

Newspapers are great sources of primary information. They often contain the first published accounts of an event, and provide windows into communities, contemporary social ideas, and local views on current events. The UO Libraries have a large collection of newspapers published in Oregon, the United States, and around the world, both current and historical. This guide highlights the UO Libraries' collections, as well as resources for finding newspapers and newspaper stories not available from the Libraries.

Off-campus access to some of the electronic resources listed on this page is limited to current UO students, faculty, and staff and is indicated by a UO button off-campus access limited to UO.

Oregon Newspapers

Print issues of current Oregon newspapers are available in the Current Periodicals Reading Room on the second floor of the Knight Library. Ask at the service desk if you don't see the issue you want on the shelves.

Online issues are available for many Oregon newspapers:

To find additional Oregon newspapers on the web, see:

Microfilm copies of most Oregon newspapers are located in the Knight Library Microforms Department. Newspapers on microfilm are shelved by city and then by the title of the publication. Most are listed by title in the UO Libraries Catalog.

For titles not found in the library catalog, check the inventories for:

For assistance in using microfilm, ask at the Microforms desk on the first floor of Knight Library.

For information on searching for individual news items in Oregon newspapers, see Finding News Articles.

U.S. Newspapers

Print issues of 10 U.S. newspapers -- outside of Oregon -- are available in the Current Periodicals Reading Room on the second floor of Knight Library. The most recent issues (the latest 3-6 months) of these papers can be found arranged first by city, then by title. These are:

  • Chicago Tribune
  • Indian Country (Rapid City, South Dakota)
  • New York Times
  • Pittsburgh Courier
  • San Francisco Chronicle
  • Seattle Times
  • Sing Tao Daily (San Francisco)
  • USA Today
  • Wall Street Journal
  • Washington Post

The current issues of these and many other U.S. newspapers are available online for free. Comprehensive web listings are available at:

Microfilm copies of select U.S. newspapers are available. You can check the Library catalog by title, check the inventory (by city) of newspapers on microform, or ask for assistance at the Microforms desk on the first floor of Knight Library. Newspapers on microfilm are shelved by city and then by the title of the publication.

Listed below are the Library's microfilm holdings of substantial runs of U.S. newspapers outside of Oregon. The electronic archives that are also listed usually charge a fee for stories from older issues. You can avoid the fee by using the microfilm collection. However, printing from microfilm costs 13¢ per page with Campus Cash or 20¢ with coins.

  • Boston Sunday Globe, 1872-1906
  • Chicago Tribune, 1849-1887; search Chicago Tribune Archives 1852-Present
  • Christian Science Monitor (Boston, MA), 1908-1980; search Historic Archive 1908-1980
  • Los Angeles Times, 1941-recent; search LA Times Archives 1881-Present
  • New York Times, 1857-recent; also search Historic New York Times, 1851-2004.
  • Pittsburgh Courier, 1966-2000
  • San Francisco Chronicle, 1869-current
  • Seattle Times, 1941-recent
  • Times-Picayune (New Orleans, LA), 1845-1854, 1908-1962
  • Village Voice (New York, NY), 1955-recent
  • Wall Street Journal (New York, NY), 1889-recent; search WSJ Article Archives from their home page 1889-Present.
  • Washington Post, 1877-recent; search Washington Post Archives 1877-Current

For more information on searching for individual news items in U.S. newspapers, see Finding News Articles.

International Newspapers

Print issues of newspapers published outside the U.S. are available in the Current Periodicals Reading Room on the second floor of Knight Library. Ask at the service desk for a listing of our print subscriptions to international and non-English newspapers.

For comprehensive listings of online international newspapers, visit the following websites: (Newspapers not in English may require you to install special fonts on your computer.)

Microfilm copies of a few international papers are available. Some of the more substantial microfilm runs include:
  • China Culture Daily (Beijing), 1979-1983
  • Globe and Mail (Toronto), 1989-1994
  • Le Monde (Paris), 1928-1972
  • Nezavisimaia Bazeta (Moscow), 1991-recent
  • Observer (London), 1879-1913
  • Obshchaia Gazeta (Moscow), 1991-1997
  • Times (London) 1785-recent
  • Vancouver Sun, 1970-1979

For information on searching for individual news items in newspapers, see Finding News Articles.


Underground Newspapers

The Underground Newspapers microfilm collection includes "alternative" papers published between 1965 and 1971; over 460 papers are represented. The inventory lists underground papers alphabetically by title, giving microfilm reel number(s), city and state, and year(s) of publication. All issues of a title for a given year appear on a single reel together. The collection is located in the Microforms section of Knight Library, under "U" for Underground (as if "Underground" were a city).

Other Collections

Japanese Relocation Camp Newspapers
MICROFILM AP 2 .J36 (22 reels)
This collection includes newspapers published in the Japanese internment camps in Colorado, Arkansas, Idaho, Wyoming, California, Arizona, and Utah during the second world war.
19th Century Mexican Newspapers
Newspapers from Alamos, Arizpe, Cieneguita, Culiacan, Guayams, Hermosillo, Mazatlan, and Ures. 6 reels, shelved under "Mexico" (as if Mexico were a city) in the Microforms section of Knight Library.
Maintained by: Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu