Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Finding News Articles: Oregon Indexes

"Fact that is fact every day is not news; it's truth. We report news, not truth." - Linda Ellerbee

This guide provides a list of newspaper indexes and full-text sources for news stories available in the UO Libraries for Oregon newspapers.

You may also be interested in the UO Libraries' guide to Finding Obituaries & Vital Information. For further assistance, please ask a reference librarian.

Off-campus access to some of the electronic resources listed on this page is limited to current UO students, faculty, and staff and is indicated by a UO button off-campus access limited to UO.

The Oregonian: A Chronological List of Indexes


The Oregonian database provides full text access to issues from 1988 to the present.

1850-1987

Oregon Newspaper Index provides an online index to articles in The Oregonian. The database currently contains 745,000 records. Articles still to be added are from the 1920s.

1850-1909

Print index to files of the Oregonian covering the years 1850-1909, and including only items relating to state and local affairs. 7 vols. Volumes 1-6 are a topical index prepared by the University of Oregon; an unnumbered volume contains a detailed subject and name index produced by the Oregon Historical Society. Located in the Microforms Department.

1851-1979

Portland Newspaper Index. 1851-1979. MICROFICHE AI 21.O5 1851-1979. Produced from card index prepared by the Multnomah County Library. "Articles are indexed from the Oregonian, 1851-1979, the Oregon Journal, 1902-1979, plus some other local newspapers, periodicals, and miscellaneous monographs. The subjects pertain to Oregon, Portland, and the Northwest." Microfiche index

1910, 1914-1916,1919-1929

Oregonian Index. Index to state, local, national and international news. Obituaries are all grouped alphabetically under the heading "deaths". No volumes were produced for 1911-1913, or for the war years 1917-1918; the M-Z portion for 1916 was never published. Located in the Microform Department.

1911-1915, 1925-1975

Index to articles of local and regional interest published in the Oregonian from 1911 to 1915, and 1925 to August 1975. The indexing was begun in 1930 by UO Library staff, with coverage beginning in 1925. Selected records were added for the period 1911-1915 to cover years not treated by the early bound indexes (see #10). Card file #1, located in the Microforms Department.

1975-1979

Same as above, for 1975-1979. Card file #2, located in the Microforms Department.

1975-1979

Index to obituaries printed in the Oregonian, 1975-1979. Card file #3, located in the Microforms Department.

1980-1987

Same as #4, for 1980-1987. Card file #4, located in the Microforms Department.

1980-1987

Index to obituaries printed in the Oregonian, 1980-1987. Card file #5, located in the Microforms Department.

1980-1984

Portland Newspaper Index, 1980-1984. MICROFICHE AI 21.O5 1980-1984. Continuation of Portland Newspaper Index. Microfiche index. Indexes articles from:

  • Oregonian
  • Oregon Journal
  • Willamette Week
  • Business Journal

1985-1992 (Other papers covered for different dates)

Oregon Index. A selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. Created by indexers at the Oregon State Library and other libraries across Oregon.

1988-Present

Fulltext access to The Oregonian off-campus access limited to UO

 

Eugene Newspapers: A Chronological List of Indexes


November 2001-Present

Register-Guard Archive. You can search the archives of staff-written stories from November 2001 to a week ago. The archive retrieves citations; it offers the full text of articles for a fee. You can avoid the fee by using our microfilm collection of the Register-Guard. For the full text of articles from the most recent seven days, search the Register-Guard home page. Online index.

1855-1870

  Eugene Newspaper Index. 20 fiches. MICROFICHE AI 21 .E96. Compiled by George Ann Clingan and Patty Rhay at the Lane Community College Library. The first part, pages 1-22, is the list of newpapers indexed, the list of abbreviations, and the subject authority. The second part, pages 23-391, is the Biography section. The third part, pages 548-1051, is the General News section. Papers indexed: Democratic Herald, Democratic Register, Eugene City News, Eugene City Review, Eugene City Guard, Pacific Journal, and People's Press. Microfiche index.

1900-1978

Daily Emerald Index Online version of the two card files listed below. Keyword search still under construction. Online index.
1900-1909

Oregon Weekly Index to the predecessor of the Oregon Daily Emerald. Card file #6, located in the Microforms Department.

1909-1978

Oregon Daily Emerald Index Card file #8, located in the Microforms Department.

1963-2003

Register-Guard Index from the Eugene Public Library. This index contains references from Eugene/Springfield's Register Guard newspaper. The database is limited to citations on local (Lane County, Oregon only) issues and people. Coverage for the early period is less comprehensive.

1970-1979

Register-Guard Index from the Lane Community College Library. REF AI 21.E8.

September 1997-Present

Newspaper Source off-campus access limited to UO indexes selected articles from the Register Guard broadly defined as related to business or of national or international interest. Full text is available for the articles indexed. Online index.

2000-Present

Oregon Daily Emerald index to the University of Oregon student newspaper. Online Index.

2000-Present

Eugene Weekly Eugene's alternative weekly newspaper. Search or browse issues by keyword or date. Online index.

November 2001-Present

Register-Guard Archive. You can search the archives of staff-written stories from November 2001 to a week ago. The archive retrieves citations; it offers the full text of articles for a fee. You can avoid the fee by using our microfilm collection of the Register-Guard. For the full text of articles from the most recent seven days, search the Register-Guard home page. Online index. 

 

Indexes to Other Oregon Newspaper Stories

Oregon Index
A selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. Oregon Index coverage varies from paper to paper. Newspapers indexed include:
  • Coos Bay World, Jan 1996 - May 1996
  • Corvallis Gazette Times, 1995 - 1999
  • Daily Astorian, 1998-1990
  • Eugene Register-Guard, 1988 - 2002
  • Klamath Falls Herald & News, 1996
  • LaGrande Observer, 1995 - 2004
  • Lake Oswego Review, 1996 - 2004
  • Portland Oregonian, Jan 1985-Dec 1992
  • Salem Statesman Journal, Jan 1987 - Sept 2002
  • Tigard Times, 1996 - 2003
  • West Linn Tidings, 1998 - 2004
  • Willamette Week, 1974 - 1997
  • Wilsonville Spokesman, 1995 - 2004

[Oregon Business Index], 1982-1987
Card file #7, located in the Microforms Department. Includes:
  • Business Journal
  • Portland Magazine
  • Oregon Business
  • Willamette Week


East Oregonian Index [Pendelton], 1976-1983
KNIGHT AI 21 .E753a

Oregon Journal index, 1902-1908
KNIGHT AI 21.O78

Oregon Spectator Index, 1846-1854
OR.COLL. AI 21 .O7

Indexes Maintained by Local Libraries in Oregon
A survey of indexes to Oregon newspapers owned or maintained by libraries throughout Oregon.

Maintained by: Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/30/2006