UO Libraries Home Page

Finding News Articles: U.S. & International Indexes

"Fact that is fact every day is not news; it's truth. We report news, not truth." - Linda Ellerbee

This guide provides a list of newspaper indexes and full-text sources for news stories available in the UO Libraries for United States (except Oregon) and international newspapers. For further assistance, please ask a reference librarian.

Off-campus access to some of the electronic resources listed on this page is limited to current UO students, faculty, and staff and is indicated by a UO button off-campus access limited to UO.

Indexes to Many U.S. & International Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic off-campus access limited to UO, ca. 1980-current (dates of coverage vary by publication)
Full-text of major English-language newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, including the New York Times and Washington Post. Also includes broadcast transcripts from major television and radio networks, over 300 college/university papers, wire services, and non-English language news sources in Spanish, French, German, Italian and Dutch. Source List
Newspaper Source off-campus access limited to UO , ca. 1995-current (dates of coverage vary by publication)
Selected full text coverage from 240 regional U.S. newspapers, 26 international newspapers, 19 newswire services, and 35 TV and radio news transcripts. Includes full text for USA Today and The Christian Science Monitor. Source List
Ethnic Newswatch off-campus access limited to UO, ca. 1991-current (dates of coverage vary by publication)
Complete text of articles, editorials, and reviews from approximately 300 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Source List (Excel spreadsheet)
AllAfrica.com off-campus access limited to UO, 1996-current.
Provides content from more than 130 African media organizations.
World News Connection off-campus access limited to UO, ca. 1995-current
Extensive array of full-text translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. news sources. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Source List
 

Indexes to Specific Major Newspapers


The New York Timesoff-campus access limited to UO

This database provides indexing and full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to three years before the present date. For indexing and full-text access for recent years, use the New York Times web site's article archive.

In addition, a print index covers the years from 1851-1996 and is located at the south end of the Reference Collection (REF KNIGHT AI 21 .N44). This print source indexes both the Late Edition (L) and National Edition (N). Only the Late Edition is available on microfilm in the UO Libraries.

Wall Street Journal via Factiva off-campus access limited to UO, 1984-present.
Factiva provides full text coverage. Within the Factiva search box, enter sn=wall street journal and a keyword/s representing your topic (e.g. sn=wall street journal and budget deficit). A print index for the WSJ covering the years 1955-1996 is also available at Knight HG 1 .W26. The WSJ is also available on microfilm from 1959 to the present.
Los Angeles Times
You can search the LA Times Archives covering 1881 to the present. This service provides citations for free but charges for full text. To avoid the cost, use the UO Libraries microfilm collection, covering 1941 to recent issues.
The Times Index (London), 1790-current
This print index is located at the south end of the Reference Collection (REF KNIGHT AI 21 .T39 to REF KNIGHT AI 21 .T46).

 

Some Major Retrospective Indexes to Newspapers


Index to Readex Microfilm Collection of Early American Newspapers, 1690-1860; located at REF KNIGHT AI 3 .K45


19th Century Masterfile off-campus access limited to UO, 1802-1906
The primary index for magazines and periodicals published during the 19th century. More than 400,000 citations from 479 periodical titles, including newspapers.


NewsBank, 1970-1996
The NewsBank microfiche collection provides full text content and indexes to newspaper articles from over 400 hundred U.S. newspapers, arranged in several subject collections.

San Francisco Chronicle Index, 1950-1980
MICROFICHE AI 21 .S26 S26
REF KNIGHT AI 21 .S26 S26 (Guide)
San Francisco Newspapers Index, 1904-1959
MICROFICHE AI 21 .S25 S26
REF KNIGHT AI 21 .S25 S26 (Guide)
Comprehensive subject index to San Francisco area papers, including San Francisco Call (1904-1913), San Francisco Examiner (1913-1928), and San Francisco Chronicle (1913-1949).
Indexes & Guides to Western European Periodicals 17th-20th centuries
A guide to comprehensive and language specific indexes, guides and web pages on Western European newspapers and magazines from the 17th through the 20th centuries.
 
Maintained by: Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 11/19/2009