The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Linguistics. For further assistance, contact Katy Lenn, Linguistics Reference Librarian, at klenn@uoregon.edu
Starting Your Research
These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.
- Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics; P 29 .E48 1994 Knight Reference
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language; P 29 .C64 1997 Knight Reference
- Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics; P 29 .B875 1996 Knight Reference
- International Encyclopedia of Linguistics P 29 .I58 1991 Knight Reference
- Encyclopedia Britannica
Finding Articles
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) [Search tips]
LLBA provides complete coverage of language and linguistics from about 600 journals.
- MLA International Bibliography [Search tips]
The MLA International Bibliography indexes critical materials about all literatures (except classical Greek and Roman), languages, folklore and film. The database provides access to over one million three-hundred thousand entries gleaned from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals. The MLA International Bibliography covers materials from 1963 to the present and is updated 10 times a year although not all indexing is up-to-date.
- Language Teaching "Language Teaching provides a convenient source of references on current
research in (mainly) second and foreign language learning and teaching. Each
issue offers at least one specially commissioned state-of-the-art article on a
specific topic." To search: Use the "search journal contents" box located on the right side of the screen.
- Academic Search Premier [Search tips]
A good starting point for research about linguistics. Academic Search Elite indexes a few linguistics journals and does provide some full-text access to articles.
- ERIC (Education) [Search tips]
Good for language learning and teaching. ERIC consists of citations to more than 850,000 records about all areas of education. ERIC is composed of citations to articles published in education journals and to ERIC documents which include curriculi, reports, standards, and other unpublished materials in education. ERIC indexes materials from 1966 to the present and is updated monthly.
Return to top
Finding Books
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if we have it here.
- Summit Catalog (Orbis Cascade
Orbis is a consortium of libraries that doubles our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Orbis works only for books.
- WorldCat Many books dealing with specific languages will not be available at the UO or through the Summit catalog. Use WorldCat to enhance your access to specialized materials.
Return to top
Facts and Figures
- Statistical Sources on the Web
A good place to begin searching for statistical information published by the U.S. government on the World Wide Web.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World; P 371 .E83 1996 Knight Reference
"The Ethnologue tries to bring together the best information available on the languages of the world." (publisher's web site) Also on the Web at http://www.ethnologue.com/web.asp
Return to top
People and Organizations
Return to top
Web Resources
Maintained by: Katy Lenn, klenn@uoregon.edu