|
The following is a selected list of resources for research in Biblical Hebrew. For further assistance, contact Paul Frantz, Reference Librarian, at pfrantz@uoregon.edu.
Reference Works
- Sacred Texts
- The Jewish Study Bible [Knight Reference BS 895 .J4 2004]
- The JPS Hebrew-English Tanakh: the traditional Hebrew text and the new JPS translation, 2nd edition [Knight Reference BS 895 .J4 1999]
- Talmud Bavli [Knight Reference BM 499 1993; 20 volumes]
- Midrash Rabbah [Knight Reference BM 517 .M64 1983; 17 volumes]
- Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia Judaica [Knight Reference DS 102.8 .E496 1978]
- Encyclopedia of Judaism [Knight Reference BM 50.E63 1999]
- Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period [Knight Reference BM 50 .D525 1996]
- Lexicons and Dictionaries
- Brown, Driver, Briggs, Hebrew and English lexicon of the Old Testament [Knight Reference PJ 4833 .B68 1968]
- Koehler and Baumgarten, The Hebrew and Aramaic lexicon of the Old Testament [Knight Reference PJ 4833 .K61813 1994; 4 volumes]
- The Anchor Bible dictionary [Knight Reference BS 440 .A54 1992; 6 volumes]
- Concordances
These provide an alphabetic index of all the words in the Hebrew Bible, showing every contextual occurrence of a word:
- Mandelkern, Veteris Testamenti Concordantiae hebraicae ... [Knight Reference BS 1121 .M3 1971]
- Lisowsky and Rost, Konkordanz zum Hebraischen Alten Testament [Knight Reference BS 1121 .L55 1966]
- Even-Shoshan, [A new concordance of the Bible; thesaurus of the language of the Bible, Hebrew and Aramaic] [Knight Reference BS 1121 .E93 1988]
- The new Strong's exhaustive concordance of the Bible [Knight Reference BS 425 .S8 1990]
- Commentaries
- The New Interpreter's Bible [Knight Reference BS 491.2 .N484 1994; 12 volumes]
- The Anchor Bible [Knight BS 192.2 A1 1964 G3; many volumes]
- Word Biblical Commentary [do Title search in UO library catalog]
Finding Articles
- ATLA Religion database indexes approximately 600 religious studies periodicals and multi-author books, with coverage back to 1949. The full text of about 40 religious journals is included in the database.
- RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (1985-present) "is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library ..." (description from RAMBI website)
- Old Testament Abstracts, published by the Catholic Biblical Association of America, offers an "Index of Scriptural Texts," where one can locate journal articles on particular chapters or verses of the Old Testament. [Knight Reference BS 410 .O42]
- You may also wish to browse through the table of contents of Judaic Studies journals. Recent issues of periodicals are located in the Current Periodicals Room, Knight Library, Second Floor. Some important journals in the discipline include:
- Journal of Biblical Literature [Knight BS 410 .J7]
- AJS Review [Knight BM 1 .A78a]
- Journal of Jewish Studies [Knight BM 1 .J63]
- Journal for the Study of Judaism [Knight BM 176 .J6]
Finding Books
- The University of Oregon Library Catalog identifies books and other resources owned by the UO Library.
Books on Biblical Hebrew can be found under the following call numbers:
- BM Jewish Religion
- BS Biblical Studies
- DS 111 Archaeology of Biblical lands
- PJ 4501-5192 Hebrew
- The Summit (Orbis Cascade) Union Catalog makes available more than 16,000,000 items from over 30 Pacific Northwest academic libraries.
- WorldCat provides access to library catalogs around the world and is most frequently used for obtaining books, manuscripts, conference proceedings, etc. through interlibrary loan.
Maintained by: Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/08/2007
|