The following resources are useful for J396 assignments and projects:
Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications (REF KNIGHT P 87.5 .E532 2003; 4 vol.) A useful starting point which summarizes a country's or region's media structure.
- International Encyclopedia of Communication. The current standard reference work for communication studies.
- Europa World Plus provides background on a country's recent history, political structure, and economy, as well as a listing of a country's main newspapers, periodicals, and radio and TV stations. Choose a country; then, click "Directory: Society and Media."
-
World Press Encyclopedia Good for press history of a country; also provides figures for advertising expenditures.
- Country Reports on Human rights Practices (U.S. State Department) Each country report has a section (usually Section 2) on freedom of the press and Internet freedom.
- Attacks on the Press in 2008: A WorldWide Survey (Committee to Protect Journalists) (KNIGHT PN 4751 .A88 2009)
Web Sites
Books
UO WorldCat offers a streamlined interface for search results that combine, into a single merged list, the collections of the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and hundreds of other libraries worldwide. When searching in UO WorldCat, entries for items owned by the UO Libraries appear at the top of the list and include information about location and availability. Try the following subject searches, followed by the name of a country:
- Mass media (e.g. su:Mass media Japan)
- Telecommunication (e.g. su:Telecommunication China)
- Freedom of the Press (e.g. su:Freedom of the Press Russia)
Articles in Periodicals or Newspapers
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
- Sociological Abstracts
- Lexis-Nexis Academic. This database is also good for finding articles from English-language newspapers of the foreign press. Here's a suggested procedure for doing that:1. from the Lexis/Nexis search page, click on "Sources"; 2. then click on News & Business Topics; 3. for Filter by Country, pull down to the desired area or country; 4. for Select a category to view sources, choose General News Sources. 5. then choose the source you want to monitor, and then click OK Continue (far right of the page). You're now ready to enter a topic keyword.
- World News Connection provides full text transcripts of non-U.S. media sources. Sources include commercial media, television reports, and government-controlled media. Here's a suggested procedure for getting those: 1. on the Advanced Search page, enter a keyword(s) in the "Headline and Lead Paragraph" field e.g. Afghanistan 2. enter the capital of the country from which you want media articles, in the "City/Source" field e.g. Moscow 3. Click on "Search" at the bottom of the page.
Maintained by: Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 03/02/2012