Doing a Content Analysis
To find materials in the library on doing a content analysis, go to the UO Library Catalog and do a Subject search. Type: Content analysis communication
The more than 50 books under this heading include:
- The content analysis guidebook, by Kimberly Neuendorf (Knight HM 529 .N47 2002)
- Analyzing media messages: using quantitative content analysis in research, by Daniel Riffe et al (Knight P 93 .R54 1998)
- Content analysis: an introduction to its methodology, by Klaus Krippendorff (Knight P 93 .K74)
Secondary Resources on Women/Minorities and the Media
To find books in the library, use the UO Library Catalog and do either a Keyword or Subject search. Relevant subject headings include:
- Minorities press coverage
- African americans press coverage [etc.]
- Television and women
- Motion pictures and women
- Women in advertising
- Minorities in advertising [etc.]
An excellent bibliography for this topic is Beverly Anne Keever's U.S. News Coverage of Racial Minorities: a Sourcebook, 1934-1996 (Knight PN 4888 .M56 N48 1997).
If you are looking for articles from academic journals, try the following databases:
- Communication and Mass Media Complete indexes over 500 mass media journals and offers the full text of about 230 of these.
- ComAbstracts indexes and abstracts articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. A product of the Communication Institute of Online Scholarship (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), it indexes 48 journals from approximately 1990 to the present.
- Academic Search Premier provides indexing and abstracting of 4500 core periodicals in a variety of disciplines and the fulltext for over 3600 periodicals.
- Sociological Abstracts is more academic in its scope, covering 1500 journals in the social sciences from 1963 to the present.
Finally, the Media and Communication Studies Site, developed by Daniel Chandler, a lecturer at the University of Wales, is surprisingly comprehensive in the bibliographies and research studies it offers. Click on Gender, Ethnicity and follow the links.
Maintained by: Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 07/03/2007