University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Finding Materials in Alternative Sources

If you want to obtain a broader view of media coverage of your topic, go outside the coverage of Academic Search Premier or Magazines Fulltext. The indexes and databases listed below will give you access to a wider array of opinions from non-mainstream and alternative presses.

Note: Many of the alternative publications indexed in the sources below might not be found in the University of Oregon Libraries. However, they can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow several days for interlibrary loan delivery.

Interdisciplinary Sources

Alternative Press Index covers publications that report on political, social, and cultural change, including topics relating to the environment, gay/lesbian issues, native peoples, seniors, and women. Coverage: 1991 to the present.

Ethnic NewsWatch contains the complete text of articles published in about 200 ethnic and minority newspapers and magazines, dating back to 1990. It is especially useful for Spanish-language publications.

Left Index covers the diverse literature of leftist periodicals from 1982 to the present.

World News Connection is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, giving international viewpoints on public policy matters.
 

Journals of Opinion

The following well-known periodicals offer a range of opinions, from the conservative to the liberal. Most of them are indexed by the Readers' Guide (Knight Reference AI 3 .R48) or by Magazines Fulltext.

  • American Prospect (Knight E 838 .A54) - moderate left-wing perspective
  • American Spectator (Knight xAP 2 .A31058) - libertarian, conservative perspective
  • Commentary (Knight DS 101 .C63) - moderate perspective, addressing Jewish concerns
  • Dissent (Knight HX 1 .D58) - decidedly left-wing perspective
  • Human Events (online for current and microfilm for back issues) - a leading conservative publication
  • Monthly Review (Knight HX 1 .M66) - "an independent socialist magazine"
  • Ms (Knight HQ 1101 .M72) - feminist issues and concerns
  • Nation (Knight AP 2 .N2) - openly left-wing
  • National Review (online for current and microfilm for back issues) - conservative perspective
  • New American (Knight AP 2 .O4734) - conservative, fundamentalist Christian perspective
  • New Republic (Knight AP 2 .N624) - seeks a neutrality of opinion
  • New Statesman (online for current and microfilm for back issues) - a liberal British newsweekly
  • Progressive (Knight AP 2 .P8655) - "a journalistic voice for peace and social justice ..."
  • The Spectator (Knight AP 4 .S7) - slightly more conservative British newsweekly

 

Finding Information on Authors and Periodicals

Finding Information on Authors, Publishers, and Periodicals will help you in writing your source analysis. It suggests ways of locating biographical information on authors and background information on periodicals and their publishers.

Maintained by: Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/17/2007