Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

International Studies

The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in International Studies. While the emphasis of this guide is on international development, the resources may be of use for many topics. For further assistance, contact Tom Stave at tstave@uoregon.edu.

Starting Your Research

These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.

  • Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
    Subject dictionaries can help you understand terminology, get acquainted with unfamiliar topics, and clarify concepts:
  • Yearbooks
    Use yearbooks to identify recent events and trends, and current information on individual countries.
    • Britannica Book of the Year. [REF AE5.E364] See the "World Affairs" and "World Data" sections for current country data.
    • Europa World Year Book [REF D2.E8]
      Regional yearbooks provide fuller information on the recent history of each country:
      • Africa South of the Sahara. [REF DT351.A37]
      • Central and South-eastern Europe. [REF HC244.A1C46]
      • Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia. [REF HC244.A1E293]
      • Far East and Australasia. [REF DS1.F3]
      • Middle East and North Africa. [REF DS49.M5]
      • South America, Central America and the Caribbean. [REF F1414.2.S68]
      • USA and Canada. [REF E838.U83]
      • Western Europe. [REF D1050.W43]
    • European Yearbook. [DOCS REF JX1995.A5] Accounts of the year's activities of major European IGOs.
    • Human Development Report. UN Development Programme. [DOCS REF HD72.H85]
    • SIPRI Yearbook: World Armaments and Disarmament. [REF UA10.S69a]
    • Statesman's Yearbook: Statistical and Historical Annual of the States of the World. [REF JA51.S7]
    • World Development Report. World Bank. [DOCS REF HC59.7.W659] Annual issues with rotating themes, such as poverty. Includes: "Selected World Development Indicators".
    • World Factbook (CIA). Current data on each world country, updated annually.
    • Yearbook of the United Nations. [DOCS REF JX1977.A37Y4]

Finding Articles

To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.

  • Academic Search Premier
    Interdisciplinary database with indexing for more than 8,000 periodicals, including full text for articles in 4,500 journals.
  • Alternative Press Index
    Articles in over 200 alternative domestic and international publications dealing with cultural, economic, political & social change.
  • Anthropological Literature
    Indexes articles and essays in all areas of anthropology and archaeology, from the 19th century to the present.
  • Business Source Premier
    Indexing for articles in over 7,000 business-related journals, including full text for over 3000 titles.
  • GEOBASE
    Major indexing service for geographic literature, including all the abstracts from International Development Abstracts since 1980.
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS).
    References to journal articles, books, proceedings, and government documents in the area of public affairs.
  • SocAbstracts
    Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Web of Science.
    Comprehensive index for science and social science articles. Search for words in article titles, by author, or for works that cite a specified author or paper.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
    Articles in Political Science and related fields, including international relations.

Return to top

Finding Books and Government Publications

  • UO Library Catalog
    Identify books by topic, title or author; or identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find books ABOUT an organization or country, use a Subject or Keyword search; to find books BY an organization or by the government of a country, use an Author search.
  • Summit Union Catalog
    Quick turnaround loans of books from 35 academic libraries in the Northwest.
  • WorldCat
    Access to holdings of 60,000 libraries worldwide. Request items using Interlibrary Loan feature.
  • UNBISNET United Nations Bibliographic Information System.
    Comprehensive access to documents and speeches of the United Nations and its subordinate bodies, 1979-date. Many are full-text, and others may be found in the Document Center's UN collection.
  • Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS).
    ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Resolutions are available from 1946.
  • Constitutions of the Countries of the World
  • Treaties and International Agreements Online
  • Legal resources of foreign countries.
  • DEC: USAID's Development Experience Clearinghouse.
    130,000 development documents produced for or by the US Agency for International Development. 25,000 are available full-text; check with Document Center about access to others.

Return to top

Statistics

Return to top

News and analysis

  • Lexis-Nexis: Academic
    Lexis-Nexis: Academic includes the full text of many international newspapers in its "World News" portion.
  • Newspaper Source
    This searchable database includes the full text of twenty international newspapers.
  • World News Connection
    Compiled by a CIA agency from thousands of non-U.S. print and broadcast media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events since 1996.
  • Global Insight
    Current and archived economic and political news/analysis for world nations, by London's World Market Research Centre. Select "Country Intelligence".
  • News Sources.
    Elizabethtown College's links to international newspapers on the web.
  • International newspapers online

Return to top

Web Resources

  • CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Oline).
    Foreign affairs-related full-text working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
  • ELDIS: Electronic Development and Environment Information System.
    Online documents on development topics from thousands of sources, available via the Institute for Development Studies (IDS) at the U. of Sussex.
  • British Library for Development Studies
    Catalog of the holdings of the library at the Institute for Development Studies.
  • "International Studies Resources on the Internet". Elizabethtown College's comprehensive site for international studies, including subject-organized links, and links to IGO and NGO sites and news sources.
  • International Organizations links (at Northwestern University): Links to IGOs and official web sites of foreign governments.
  • Nongovernmental Organizations (UC-Berkeley Library)
  • Portals to the World Links to authoritative, in-depth information about the nations of the world, selected by Library of Congress Area Specialists.
  • Country domain extensions Use these extensions to restrict a Google (or other search engine) search to sources from a particular country.
Maintained by: Tom Stave, tstave@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 05/06/2008