The following is a selected list of resources for starting research about the European Union. For further assistance, contact Tom Stave at tstave@uoregon.edu.
General EU Information
These sources can be used to find general information about the European Union: how it works, its structure and its institutions and activities.
- Europa
The main portal to the European Union's web pages. Includes basic
information about the EU, including a guide to it's institutions and
living and working in the EU.
- A - Z Index of the European Commission
A comprehensive index of subjects related to the European Union including budget, legislative and general information.
- Glossary of EU terms
A glossary from the Europa website containing 233 terms relating to European integration and the activities and institutions of the EU.
- EU Databases by subject
Alphabetical listing of European Union databases by subject, including such areas as environment, customs and trade, and industry.
- European countries
Use the interactive map or country list to find social, cultural, historical and governmental information about any EU Member State.
Return to top
Institutions and Bodies
The links below go to the official websites of the institutions and bodies that make up the European Union.
- The European Commission
The Commission drafts proposals for new European laws, implements policies and manages the spending of EU funds.
- The European Parliament
The European Parliament passes laws and approves the EU annual budget, sharing legislative power with the Council.
- The Council of the European Union
The EU's main decision-making body, the Council members are ministers of the EU member states.
- The Court of Justice
The Court of Justice is responsible for ensuring that the law is interpreted and applied in the same way in all EU countries.
- The European Central Bank
The ECB is responsible for managing the euro by setting interest rates and ensuring price stability.
- The European Investment Bank
The EIB is the long-term lending bank of the EU, charged with contributing towards the integration and development of the EU Member States.
- European Economic and Social Committee
A consultative body that gives representatives of Europe's socio-occupational interest groups a platform on which to express their views on EU issues.
- Community agencies
A list of current European Community agencies, which are bodies charged with specific scientific, technical or managerial tasks.
Return to top
News and Analysis
- OECD Economic Surveys Euro area; DOCS REF [HC240.A1.O33 2007]
- Country Profile, European Union
Analysis and background information on the European Union's political and economic situation.
- Bulletin of the European Union
Monthly record of the activities of the European Commission and the other Community institutions, published by the Secretariat- General of the Commission.
- General Report on the Activities of the European Union
The General Report reviews the activities of the European Union in the previous year, providing references to official documents.
- Global Insight: Country Intelligence
Economic and political news/analysis for world nations. Select "Country Intelligence", then "Europe".
- European Affairs
A journal of the European Institute, covering such topics as trade relations, defense, energy, and the environment.
- European Policy Analyst
The European Policy Analyst monitors the impact of new EU policies and regulations on business interests.
-
European Union Politics
An international journal that covers all aspects of the processes of government, politics and policy in the European Union.
- Europe's World
Europe's World offers policy makers across Europe a platform for presenting ideas and forging consensus on key issues.
Return to top
Statistics
- Eurostat
Eurostat provides access to the latest and most complete statistical information available on the European Union and the EU Member States. Updated daily.
- Europe in Figures: Eurostat Yearbook
A comprehensive selection of statistical data on the European Union, its Member States and candidate countries.
- Public Opinion Analysis
Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship; for example, social situation, health, culture, information technology, defense, etc.
- EU Statistics
From Northwestern University, a comprehensive set of links to EU statistical sources.
Return to top
Treaties and Laws
- Europa: Treaties and Law
A list of all European treaties with detailed information of each. Also includes the complete consolidated texts of all treaties available for free download.
- EUR-Lex
EUR-Lex provides free, direct access to European law. Includes treaties, legislation, case law and legislative proposals.
- Case Law
Search for the texts of judgments, opinions and orders of the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance delivered since 1997.
- Summaries of legislation
This site provides fact sheets that summarize European legislation. These are divided into the 32 subject areas which are the Activities of the European Union.
- Official Journal of the European Union
The Official Journal of the European Union is the gazette of record for the EU.It comprises two series: the L series contains EU legislation and the C series contains reports and judgments of the European Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance.
- PreLex
A database that follows the major stages of the decision-making process between the European Commission and other EU institutions, and monitors the work of the various institutions involved.
Return to top
Electronic Archives
Return to top
Maintained by: Tom Stave, tstave@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 05/23/2008