The following is a selective list of resources for starting research in Canadian Studies. For further assistance, ask at the Reference Desk or contact Ted Smith, Canadian Studies subject specialist.
Starting Your Research
These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.
General Reference Works on Canada
- The Canada Yearbook (DOCS REF. HA744 .S81 2001) earlier editions back to 1905 are available.
- Canadian Almanac & Directory (AY414 .C2) Latest edition in REF KNIGHT. Library holdings include annual editions back to 1948.
- The Canadian Encyclopedia, Online Edition.
- The Canadian Encyclopedia : Year 2000 Edition (REF KNIGHT F1006 .C35 1999)
- Canadian Sourcebook. (DOCS REF. F 1004.7 .M3)
- Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples (REF KNIGHT F1035.A1 E63 1999)
Bibliographies and Guides to Print Resources
- Canada, the Printed Record [microform] : a Bibliographic Register with Indexes to the Microfiche Series of the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions (REF KNIGHT and DOC-LC Z1365 .C36 1990 ) This is a guide to the microfiche reproductions of early Canadian imprints produced by the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions.
- Canadian Books in Print: Author and Title Index (REF KNIGHT Z 1365 .C2196)
- Canadian Reference Sources : an Annotated Bibliography (REF KNIGHT F1008 .C36 1996) A finding tool for reference books on Canada.
- Canadiana (CD-ROM) (DOC-CN/CR SN2-2) CD-ROM database of Canadian publications. Produced by the National Library of Canada.
- Pre-1900 Canadian Periodicals : Catalogue (KNIGHT Z6954.C2 P72 1998)
Biographical Information on Canadians
- Canadian Business Presents Who's Who in Canadian Business (DOCS REF. HC112.5.A2 C36 20th ed. 2000)
- The Canadian Who's Who (REF KNIGHT F1005 .C23 v.35 2000) the library also has earlier volumes for 1910, 1936/37, 1948, 1989, 1994.
- Contemporary Canadian Authors (REF KNIGHT PR9189.6 .C365 v.1 1995)
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography (REF KNIGHT F 1005 .D49) 14 vol.
- Who's Who in Canadian Literature (REF KNIGHT PR9189.6.W47 1997-98)
Geography & Maps
- Atlas of Canada and the World (MAP LIB. G1021 .A75 1996)
- Historical Atlas of Canada (MAP LIB. G1116.S1H57 1987) 3 vol.
- The National Atlas of Canada (MAP LIB. G1115.C55 1985)
Provinces of Canada
- British Columbia Financial and Economic Review (DOC-LC HC117.B8 A42 61st ed. 2001) Some earlier editions are available.
- The Encyclopedia of British Columbia (REF KNIGHT F1087 .E52 2000)
Return to top
Finding Articles
To look for articles in academic journals or magazines, start with a periodical index. An index will allow you to find articles by subject, by a few keywords which describe your topic, or by author.
After identifying articles which look useful for your research, look up the title of the journal or magazine (e.g. Macleans) in the UO Library Catalog to determine if the Library subscribes to it. Note the location and call number.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic. Provides access to the full-texts of articles from major Canadian newspapers. (UO faculty & students only.)
- Canadian Periodical Index (REF KNIGHT AI 3 .C242) The library has volumes 17-49, and 51-55.
- Checklist of Indexes to Canadian Newspapers. (KNIGHT Z6954.C2 B87 1987)
Return to top
Finding Books & Dissertations
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if we have it here.
- Summit Catalog
Summit is the union catalog of the Orbis Cascade Alliance, a consortium of academic libraries in Washington and Oregon. It is a particularly useful database for searching for Canadian information. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Orbis works only for books. If you want to request a journal articles, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form.
- WorldCat
Worldcat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc.
- Dissertation Abstracts provides summary information to dissertations in all subjects from 1861 to the present.
- See also the sources listed under "Bibliographies", above.
Return to top
Web Resources
- Canadian Information By Subject. National Library of Canada.
Internet resources on Canada grouped by subject.
- Canadian Opinion Research Archive at Queens University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada.
Provides access to a variety of public opinion surveys of Canadians.
- Canadian Politics on the Web. Nelson Canada.
A very useful compilation of links to sites dealing with all aspects of Canadian politics, including election results, political parties and interest groups, government agencies, public opinion, foreign policy, and more.
- Canadian Studies: A Guide to the Sources. John D. Blackwell.
Hosted on the web site of the International Council for Canadian Studies, this excellent introductory essay provides both links to Internet sources and a fine bibliography of works cited.
- Canadian Studies Research Guide. University of Washington Library.
A good general guide with links to numerous resources in various areas of study.
- The Canadian West. National Archives of Canada.
This site provides an overview of the settlement of the western portion of Canada, from the 17th Century to 1930.
- Centre for Research and Information on Canada (CRIC)
Tracks and analyzes public opinion about the federation.
- Government of Canada Official Web Site.
Contains official government information and links to the web sites of all Canadian government agencies. See also the UO Library Document Center's links to Canadian government sites.
- Library and Archives Canada. Canada's national collection of books, historical documents, government records, photos, films, maps, music...and more.
Maintained by: Ted D. Smith, tedsmith@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 04/21/2008