University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Looking for World History Encyclopedias

Specialized encyclopedias provide an overview of the most important facets of a topic, as well as a concise list of recommended readings. The University of Oregon Libraries have scores of encyclopedias. This guide lists select titles by geographic region. Unless otherwise noted, each of the encyclopedias listed here includes articles signed by experts in the field and citations for further reading. All are located in the KNIGHT LIBRARY REFERENCE collection. Additional locations are noted.

Don't forget to use the index to find additional articles related to your subject. After reading the articles search for these authors and publications in the library catalog to find out more about your topic. Browse the shelves in the same call number range for other relevant reference books.

Research guides are available for history and other subject areas. Think about other subject areas that your topic-religious studies, women's studies, anthropology, art history, etc.-might fall under and browse the research guide for addtional resources. Return to guide to Research in World History or Research in U.S. History.

Off-campus access to some of the electronic resources listed on this page is limited to current UO students, faculty, and staff and is indicated by a UO button off-campus access limited to UO.

African History

Encyclopedia of precolonial Africa: archaeology, history, languages, cultures, and environments off-campus access limited to UO e-book ; print REF KNIGHT DT2 .E53 1997
Dictionary of African Biography REF KNIGHT DT18 .D55, 3 volumes
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History REF KNIGHT DT29 .E53 2003
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt REF KNIGHT DT58 .O94 2001, 3 volumes
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara REF KNIGHT DT351 .E53 1997, 4 volumes
Standard Encyclopaedia of Southern Africa REF KNIGHT DT729 .S7, 10 volumes
 
See also African History Research Guide

Browse nearby shelves for books on specific countries or search the library catalog by Title for African historical dictionaries to find a list of historical dictionaries some of which are available online to UO students, faculty & staff. Note: these dictionaries are not as thorough as those listed above.

Asian History

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia REF KNIGHT DS4 .L48 2002, 6 volumes
Encyclopedia of Asian History REF KNIGHT & AAA REF DS31.E53 1988

East Asia

China Today: an encyclopedia of life in the People's Republic REF KNIGHT DS777.6 .C49 2005 2 volumes
Encyclopedia of the Chinese Overseas REF KNIGHT DS732 .E53 1999
Cambridge Encyclopedia of China REF KNIGHT DS705 .C35 1991
Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture & Nationalism REF KNIGHT JC311 .M54 1998
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan REF KNIGHT DS805.K633 1983, 9 volumes
Modern Japan: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DS805 .M63 1998
Encyclopedia of the Korean War REF KNIGHT DS918 .E53 2000, 3 volumes

South Asia

Dictionary of Indian History REF KNIGHT DS433 .B48 1967b
Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and the Maldives REF KNIGHT DS334.9 .C36 1989

Southeast Asia

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social & Military History REF KNIGHT DS557.7 .E53 1998
Historical Dictionary of Malaysia off-campus access limited to UO
Brief unsigned articles, extensive final bibliography
e-book; REF KNIGHT DS596 .K36 1993
Indonesian Heritage
Unsigned articles, many images, extensive final bibliography
REF KNIGHT DS615 .I532x 1996, 10 volumes
Kasaysayan: The Story of the Filipino People REF KNIGHT DS668 .K37 1998, 10 volumes

European History

Encyclopedia of European Social History REF KNIGHT HN373 .E63 2001, 6 volumes
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust REF KNIGHT D884.3 .E53 1990 4 volumes
Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT D1858 .E8754 2001 2 volumes

Western Europe

Cambridge Historical Encyclopedia of Great Britain & Ireland REF KNIGHT DA34.C28 1985
Medieval England: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DA129 .M43 1998
Tudor England: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DA315 .T753 2001
Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DA550 .V53 1988
20th–Century Britain REF KNIGHT DA566 .T835 1995
Oxford Companion to Irish History REF KNIGHT DA912 .O94 2002
Oxford Companion to Scottish History REF KNIGHT DA759.9 .O946 2001 No bibliography included
Medieval France: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DC33.2 .M44 1995 c.2
Historical Dictionaries of French History Search the library catalog by Title
Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia of REF KNIGHT DD14 .M64 1998
Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DD157 .M43 2001
Civilizations of the Ancient Mediterranean REF KNIGHT DE59 .C55 1988 3 volumes
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium REF KNIGHT DF521 .O93 1991 3 volumes
Dictionary of Modern Italian History REF KNIGHT DG545 .D53 1985
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture REF KNIGHT DG450 .E53 2000
Historical Dictionary of Fascist Italy REF KNIGHT DG571 .A1H57 1982
Dictionary of Scandinavian History REF KNIGHT DL43 .D53 1986 c.2
Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DP99 .M33 2003
Historical Dictionary of Modern Spain REF KNIGHT DP192 .H57 1990
Historical Dictionary of Portugal REF KNIGHT DP535 .W44 1993 Unsigned articles, final bibliography

Eastern Europe

Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe REF KNIGHT DJK6 .E53 2000
Modern Encyclopedia of Russian & Soviet History REF KNIGHT DK36 .M55 1984 Sixty small volumes
Dictionary of the Russian Revolution REF KNIGHT DK265 .D49 1989
Encyclopedia of Ukraine REF KNIGHT DK508 .E613 1984 Five volumes + atlas & index
Slovakia & the Slovaks REF KNIGHT DB2707 .S57 1994 No index, brief articles, unsigned

Latin American & Carribean History

Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, society & culture REF KNIGHT F1210 .E63 1997 2 volumes
Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures REF KNIGHT F1218.6 .O95 2001 3 volumes
Encyclopedia of Latin American history & culture REF KNIGHT F1406 .E53 1996 5 volumes
Handbook of middle American Indians REF KNIGHT F1434 .H3 16 volumes + supplements
Indians of Central & South America REF KNIGHT F1434 .O45 1991
Encyclopedia of Cuba: People, History & Culture REF KNIGHT F1754 .E53 2003 2 volumes
Puerto Rico past & present: An encyclopedia REF KNIGHT F1954.F47 1998
Handbook of South American Indians REF KNIGHT F2229 .S75 7 volumes
Handbook of North American Indians REF KNIGHT E77 .H25 17 volumes

Middle Eastern History

Encyclopedia of Islam REF KNIGHT DS 37 .E523, 11 volumes
Encylopedia of the Modern Middle East REF KNIGHT DS43 .E53 1996, 4 volumes
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East REF KNIGHT DS57 .C55 1995, 4 volumes
Encyclopaedia Judaica REF KNIGHT DS102.8 .E496 1978, 16 volumes
Historical Encyclopedia of the Arab–Israeli Conflict REF KNIGHT DS119.7 .H544 1996
Medieval Jewish Civilization: an Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DS124 .M386 2003
Browse nearby for books on specific countries  

North American History

Canadian encyclopedia REF KNIGHT F1006 .C35 1988 4 volumes
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples REF KNIGHT F1035 .A1 E63 1999
Encyclopedia of Mexico REF KNIGHT F1210 .E63 1997 2 volumes
Handbook of North American Indians REF KNIGHT E77 .H25 17 volumes
See also Specialized U.S. History Encyclopedias  

Oceanian & Australian History

Historical dictionary of Oceania REF KNIGHT DU10 .H57
Pacific islands: An encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DU17 .P3 2000
Australians: A historical librariy REF KNIGHT DU110 .A895 1987 11 volumes
Australian People: an encyclopedia of the nation, its people, and their origins REF KNIGHT DU120 .A718 2001
Encyclopaedia of Papua & New Guinea REF KNIGHT DU740 .E5

More Encyclopedias

You can also find encyclopedias and subject dictionaries by doing a Subject Headings search in the UO Libraries Catalog. Enter the broad subject area you are interested in, followed by the subheading encyclopedias or dictionaries.

Maintained by: History/Medieval Studies Librarian, jenkins@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 08/11/2006