Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Specialized Indexes: World History

The following is a selected list of supplemental resources for starting research in world (non-U.S.) history. These sources can help you identify scholarly articles on your research topic. For further assistance, contact Heather Ward, hward@uoregon.edu, History Librarian.

Off-campus access to some of the electronic resources listed on this page is limited to current UO students, faculty, and staff and is indicated by a UO button off-campus access limited to UO.

Africa

Africa Bibliography Z3503.A35 Knight Reference
Indexes periodical articles, books, book chapters and pamphlets. African and international periodicals are indexed, mostly in Western European and English languages. The whole continent and associated islands are included, but not the African diaspora. Arrangement by region, country, subjects.
African Studies Abstracts Z3503.A36 Knight Reference
Extensive up-to-date coverage of periodical articles and edited works on Africa in the social sciences and humanities. Arranged geographically, each issue contains author, subject, and geographical indexes. Nearly 300 journals are covered, all of the leading African and selected general 'third world' periodicals.
International African Bibliography Z3503.I5 Knight Reference
Indexes items on Africa generally, North Africa, north east, west, west central, east, southern, Indian Ocean islands and the African diaspora. Contains periodical articles, international governmental organizations documents, books and chapters within edited works. Publications are from African and international sources, primarily English language sources.
Quarterly Index to Periodical Literature, Eastern and Southern Africa also in print at Z3503.Q38 Knight Reference
Index of 300+ selected mostly scholarly journals. Includes articles regardless of language. Arranged by subject area and then alphabetically by author.


Return to top

Asia

Bibliography of Asian Studies off-campus access limited to UO
The Bibliography of Asian Studies includes citations for books, pamphlets, and periodical articles on all phases of life and culture in Asia. Cited works are in English.
Excerpta Indonesica online (2001-present), in print (1970-2002) Z3273.E83 Knight Reference
Contains abstracts of selected new publications - books, articles, etc. in the social sciences and humanities pertaining to Indonesia, regardless of country of origin. Copies of articles can be purchased from the Centre for Documentation on Modern Indonesia, address is given on the verso of title page.
Guide to Indian Periodical Literature Z6958.I4G8 Knight Reference
Subject-author index to articles and other reading materials appearing in about 500 journals from India in the social sciences and humanities.
Index to Philippine Periodicals AI3.I63 Knight Reference
The Index to Philippine Periodicals is an author/subject index to periodicals publsihed in the Philippines.
Malaysian Periodicals Index AI3.I26 Knight Reference (1983-1991)
The Malaysian Periodicals Index is a guide to the subject content of articles published in Bahasa Malaysia, English, Chinese, and Tamil in selected Malaysian periodicals.


Return to top

Europe

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Z2483.A65 Knight Reference (1957-1994)
Includes English language publications and selected foreign language items published in the U.S. or Canada in the social sciences and humanities. Indexes a variety of print formats. Arranged by subject, and within large topic areas (e.g. literature) by country.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliography off-campus access limited to UO
The Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies file describes material on the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals. Nearly 480,000 records as of May 1997 cover from 1992 to the present, with bimonthly updates. [RAS Journal Titles]


Return to top

The Americas

America: History & Life
The main index in American history; it covers the history of the U.S. & Canada from prehistory to the present.
Canadian Periodical Index AI3.C242 Knight Reference (1948-2002)
A bilingual reference tool which provides access to Canadian and American periodical literature. Canadian coverage includes a wide variety of English and French language journals having significant Canadian or regional content.
Caribbean Abstracts
"Contains abstracts in English of selected books and articles in the humanities and social sciences published since 1989. Publications on Caribbean migrant communities outside the region are not included. The Caribbean includes all the islands of the Caribbean archipelago, as well as the mainland territories of Belize and the Guianas."
Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. The multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index off-campus access limited to UO
Contains citations from more than 400 key social science and humanities journals covering the entire Latin American region and Hispanics in the U.S.


Return to top

Oceania

South Pacific Bibliography Z4001.S65 Knight Reference (1981-1999)
Index of materials concerned with the South Pacific region regardless of country of origin or language. Inclusive of all types of publications if known to the compilers at the Pacific Information Center (PIC). Copies of all materials available from PIC, address is given in introductory notes of each volume.

Return to top

Classical

L'Année Philologique off-campus access limited to UO
L'Année Philologique is the only comprehensive index in classical studies. Articles are selected from 1,000 journals in all Western languages. Also available in print at Z7016.A5 Knight Reference

Medieval

International Medieval Bibliography off-campus access limited to UO
The International Medieval Bibliography is an interdisciplinary index for medieval studies, covering 450 to 1500, primarily in Europe. Indexes journals and festschriften from 1967 to the present.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & the Renaissance off-campus access limited to UO
A Web-based searchable bibliography of approximately 230,000 articles and reviews drawn from over 400 medieval and renaissance journal titles.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Return to top

Maintained by: History/Medieval Studies Librarian, jenkins@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 08/11/2006