Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Specialized U.S. History Encyclopedias: Ethnic & Thematic

The following is a selected list of supplemental resources for starting research in U.S. history. These sources can help you identify scholarly articles on your research topic. For further assistance, ask at the Reference Desk or contact the History Librarian.

Immigrant Culture

American Immigrant Culture E184.A1 A63448 1997 Knight Reference
Two-volume encyclopedia arranged alphabetically by ethnic group. Contains articles covering 161 ethnic groups. Each article addresses such topics as language groups, settlement, and assimilation. References are included for further research. Also contains maps and an index.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America E184.A1 G14 1995 Knight Reference
Two-volume encyclopedia with same arrangement as that above. Includes Native American groups as well as immigrant cultures. Covers such topics as circumstances surrounding major immigration waves, significant contributions, media, and organizations. Each article includes a bibliography for further reading.

Return to top

African Americans

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History E185 .E54 1996 Knight Reference
Five-volume encyclopedia with 2,200 entries. Contains lists of articles, contributors, and biographical entries by profession. Includes references, a detailed index and informative appendices with such information as statistics and notable achievements.

Return to top

Asian Americans

Dictionary of Asian American History E184.O6D53 1986 Knight Reference
Begins with thematic essays by group. Includes brief, alphabetical entries with references for further reading. Also contains a chronology.
Japanese American History E184.J3 J3355 1993 Knight Reference
Contains brief, alphabetic entries with citations for further reading. Includes a chronology, an introductory historical essay, and an index. Contains a list of 100 titles for a "Basic Library on Japanese Americans."

Return to top

Hispanic Americans

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: History E184.S75 H365 1993 Knight Reference
A book of thematic essays in chronological order. Each essay Includes a bibliography. Contains a time table and index.

Return to top

Jewish Americans

Jewish American History & Culture: An Encyclopedia E184.J5 J48 1992 Knight Reference
Contains brief articles with bibliographies of varying length. Includes thematic index, a list of entries and an alphabetical index.

Return to top

Economic History

Encyclopedia of American Economic History HC103.E52 Knight Reference
A three-volume encyclopedia of thematic essays including such themes as "Social Framework", "Framework of Economic Growth" , and "Chronology of American Economic History".

Return to top

Political History

Encyclopedia of American Political History E183.E5 1984 Knight Reference
A three-volume encyclopedia of thematic articles. Content determined by individual contributors. Includes a lengthy annotated bibliography and an index.

Return to top

Social History

Encyclopedia of American Social History HN57 .E58 1993 Knight Reference
A three-volume encyclopedia of thematic articles including such themes as "Periods of Social Change", "Ethnic & Racial Subcultures", and "Work & Labor". Includes detailed index.

Return to top

History of the West

Encyclopedia of the American West F591 .E485 1996 Knight Reference
A four-volume set containing brief articles with suggested reading. Contains lists of biographies by profession, contributors, and alphabetical entries. Also includes maps.

Return to top

Gender History

Women in World History: a biographical encyclopedia HQ1115 .W6 1999 Knight Reference
Will include 20 volumes when complete. Covers women from all periods of history and includes photographs when available. Rich encyclopedia containing information on women not often found in other sources.
American Masculinities
This encyclopedia "delves into the psychological core of manhood which is shaped not only by biology, but also by history, society, and culture." Indexes, cross-references and signed articles aid researchers in better using this source.
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America HQ1410 .C85 1996 Knight Reference
Brief articles in alphabetical order. Includes references for further information. Contains a bibliography and a detailed index.

Return to top

Maintained by: History/Medieval Studies Librarian, jenkins@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 08/23/2006