UO Libraries Home Page

Geography Research Guide


The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Geography. For further assistance, contact the Geography Subject Specialist at jonjab@uoregon.edu. There is also extensive information on the MAP Library's homepage.

This guide concentrates on geography as an academic discipline.  You may also be interested in looking at:

Starting Your Research

Geography has developed into a multifaceted subject encompassing human, physical, political, and historical geographies. These sources listed below represent both general and specific reference sources for conducting research involving geographic information.

General Geography

  • The Dictionary of Human Geography [DOCS REF. GF4 .D52 2000]
  • The Dictionary of Physical Geography [DOCS REF. GB 10 .D53 2000]
    These are a great place to start your research.  In addition to defining terms used in geography, these encyclopedic dictionaries have short articles on theories, methods, and and the history of geography.

Finding Articles

To find articles about topics related to Geography, the following databases and indexes will prove the most useful. You can find out if we have an electronic copy of any article by clicking from most databases.

  • GeoBase
    GeoBase is the best database for finding both physical and human geography articles.
  • GeoRef
    Although mainly a geology database, GeoRef features many physical geography articles.
  • All Academic
    Includes conference papers from the Association of American Geographers.
  • Academic Search Premier
    This is a general purpose database used in a wide variety of academic disciplines.
  • Web of Science
    The Web of Science is a citation index, meaning that you can see what articles cite each other.  This is especially useful to see how 'important' a given article might be.
  • You may also wish to browse the tables of contents of various geography journals.  We have a guide to some of the most important.

Return to top

Finding BOOKS

  • UO Library Catalog
    The advanced search page has advice on formulating exact searches. If the book you are looking for is checked out or we do not own it, try hitting the red summit button: to borrow the book from one of our partner libraries.
  • Summit Union Catalog
    Summit can also be searched as a standalone catalog. Summit borrowing works only for book materials. If you want to request a journal article, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form.
  • WorldCat
    Worldcat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. Interlibrary loans can be initiated directly inside of WorldCat

Return to top

People & Organizations

Return to top

Web Resources

Maintained by: Jon Jablonski, jonjab@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 07/01/2008