University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Research Guide to Folklore

The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Folklore. For further assistance, contact Elizabeth Peterson, Literature Librarian, at emp@uoregon.edu.

Chat with Elizabeth! cetchat

Note: items with the off-campus access limited to UO icon are available only to University of Oregon faculty, staff, and students, or to users working in the library.

Starting Your Research

These sources are good for quick identification and background on people, concepts, and terms. Folklore topics can be found in many different subject areas and therefore your research should not be confined to those resources listed below.

There are several other folklore encyclopedias and dictionaries located in KNIGHT REFERENCE GR 35.

American folklore : an encyclopedia KNIGHT REFERENCE GR101 .A54 (also available online)
Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia of concepts and topics in folklore, including: Easter, urban legends, UFO abduction reports, and lumberjacks.
Encyclopedia of folklore and literature KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 41. E48
Articles with references for such topics as: structuralism, trickster, trolls, Amos Tutuola and Mark Twain.
Folklore, an encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music and art KNIGHT REFERENCE GR 35 .F63
Articles give a good overview of a subject followed by useful references.
Mythology & Folklore: Oxford Reference Premium off-campus access limited to UO
A collection of reference books for folklore all together and searchable at once, including The Oxford Companion to World Folklore, A Dictionary of Superstitions, A Dictionary of African Mythology, and many more.

Finding Articles

To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with a database, otherwise known as an index. An index will allow you to look by subject, author, or keywords that describe your topic. Use FindTextFindText iconto locate complete articles. Articles the UO does not own can be quickly obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

Because folklore research is so interdisciplinary, you will probably have to explore databases from various different disciplines to answer your research questions. To see databases listed by subject area, go the Databases by Category.

MLA International Bibliography off-campus access limited to UO
Although primarily an index to literary criticism, this index includes citations to articles in folklore journals, which make it one of the best indexes for folklore journals. Also indexes many film journals.
America: History and Life off-campus access limited to UO
Indexes and abstracts approximately 2,100 journals dealing with the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Anthropological Literature off-campus access limited to UO
Indexes articles and essays in all areas of anthropology and archaeology. Indexes works published in English and other European languages from the 19th century to the present.
Art Abstracts off-campus access limited to UO
Covers more than 400 leading art publications from around the world. Includes art history, city planning, crafts, computer graphics, folk art, graphic arts, sculpture, painting, and textiles.
ATLA Religion Database off-campus access limited to UO
Contains citations from journals and books in the field of religion.
Bibliography of Native North Americans off-campus access limited to UO
Contains citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present.
Historical Abstracts off-campus access limited to UO
Indexes and abstracts approximately 2,100 publications, covering countries other than the United States and Canada. The timeframe is history from 1450 to the present.
Sociological Abstracts off-campus access limited to UO
Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes citations for articles in journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Finding Books

UO Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books by keyword, title, or author, and to find journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above.
Summit Catalog
Summit is a consortium of libraries that more than doubles our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Summit works only for books. If you want to request journal articles, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form.
WorldCat off-campus access limited to UO
WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc.

People & Organizations

American Folklore Society
Not-for-profit organization providing folklore research information including membership information, publications, upcoming events, conferences, jobs, internships, graduate and other degree programs, and related site links.
The American Folklife Center
A division of the Library of Congress, the American Folklife Center collects information and objects related to music, photographs, arts and crafts, personal histories, games, rituals and traditions, and other things that make up the diversity of American life.

Web Resources


Select Internet Resources in Folklore. A list of resources from Indiana University-Bloomington Library.

Folkstreams.net: The Best of American Folklore Films. Streaming video access to "a significant and growing collection of documentary films about folk culture in the United States.

Maintained by: Elizabeth Peterson, emp@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 09/22/2008