FLR 370 Course Research Guide
This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find
useful to accomplish the objectives of FLR 370 -- Folklore and Sexuality with Dr. Lisa Gilman, Fall 2008.
Getting Started
These sources are good for background and overviews on people, concepts, and terms.
-
American Folklore: An Encyclopedia | KNIGHT REFERENCE GR101 .A54
(also available online)
- The International Encyclopedia of Sexuality | KNIGHT REFERENCE HQ21 .I68
- Mythology & Folklore: Oxford Reference Premium | A collection of reference books for folklore all together and searchable at once, including The Oxford Companion to World Folklore, A Dictionary of Superstitions, A Dictionary of African Mythology,
and many more.
Finding Articles
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with a database, otherwise known as an index. An index will allow you to look by subject, author, or keywords that describe your topic. Use FindText
to locate complete articles. Articles the UO does not own can be quickly obtained through Interlibrary Loan.
- Anthropological Literature
Indexes articles and essays in all areas of anthropology and
archaeology. Indexes works published in English and other European
languages from the 19th century to the present.
- Gender Studies Database
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics, including women's
studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual
diversity.
- JSTOR
Provides the full text of over 100 major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
- LGBT Life
An excellent resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
- MLA International Bibliography
Although primarily an index to literary criticism, this index includes citations to articles in folklore journals, which make
it one of the best indexes for folklore journals. Also indexes many
film journals.
- Sociological
Abstracts
Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines
in the social and behavioral sciences.
Finding Books
-
UO Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books by keyword, title, or author, and to find journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above.
-
Summit Catalog
Summit lets you quickly borrow books from other Northwest libraries. Most Summit books arrive in about three days.
- WorldCat
WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, and more.
Additional Resources