Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

Statistics are useful because they can enhance one's understanding of a subject and can be very persuasive in bolstering an argument. When writing papers or giving presentations they can be an effective way for you to summarize a topic, convey meaning, or illustrate a point. Statistics on just about any topic can be found both in print sources and in online databases. This guide is meant to give you a good starting point for locating statistics in the University of Oregon Libraries and on the Internet.
In looking for statistics, one useful approach is to begin by thinking about the data you are seeking and asking yourself a few questions. What group or organization would be producing such statistics? Why would they need the data, and how would they acquire it? Would they have the means and incentive to publish it? Would they be required to report to information to a government agency (which one)? In other words, it is important to begin by considering where you might reasonably expect to find the statistical data you are seeking. Thinking about your information needs in these terms at the beginning of your search can sometimes save you hours of fruitless effort.
The best single database for finding statistics is Lexis-Nexis Statistical (formerly Statistical Universe). The database has three components: the American Statistics Index, which covers U.S. Federal government statistical publications back to 1973, the Statistical Reference Index, which indexes private and state government statistical sources from 1980, and the Index to International Statistics, which covers the statistical output of international organizations. Microfiche extracts from many of the publications indexed are available in the library's Document Center - Microforms Collections (backfiles, 1980 - 2003 only).
For finding statistics relating to local areas in Oregon use the Orbis-Cascade database, Data for Local Communities.
A good print guide is Statistics Sources, the most recent edition of which is shelved in the Knight reference area. Many subject-specific research guides, such as Social Science Reference Sources, have sections suggesting where to look for statistical data.
To search the library catalog for specific publications giving statistics on a particular subject, do a subject search using the word "statistics" as a subheading. For example, education-oregon-statistics, or population-statistics. Such searches may also prove useful in searching periodical indexes.
Government documents are important sources of statistical data. The federal government of the United States is the worlds largest producer of statistics, and most other governments produce valuable statistics as well. For government statistics, check the following sources.