Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

The Map and Aerial Photography (MAP) Library, located in the Document Center on the Knight Library's first floor, has over 300,000 maps and over 550,000 aerial photographs. Established in 1968, the MAP Collection offers a unique collection of contempory and historic mapping of Oregon and the Pacific Northwest. The Aerial Photography collection is the largest of its kind in Oregon and offers complete coverage of the state. Photo flights date back as far as the late 1920s.
The University of Oregon Map Collection is a full depository for all current USGS topographic mapping, NOAA's navigational charts. It still holds a full selection of NIMA aeronuatical charts, although that depository program has ended.
We have maps of every state, with a special emphasis given to Oregon and the Pacific Northwest. Topographic mapping is also available at various scales for over 100 countries, including Canada and Mexico. The Map Collection also includes National Forest and National Park maps, USGS geologic mapping, scientifc maps of selected western states, current and historic ODOT maps, and thematic and political maps of world nations and regions.
Many large sets of maps are described with their own web pages. A list of such guides is available here. Most of our older sheet maps and USGS technical series are in the Libraries' online catalog. You can always restrict your search to show only maps and atlases by using the 'limit to' pull-down menu:
Steps to Finding Maps
Example: G4291.C3 - Water resources investigations in Oregon
4291 = Oregon
.C3 = hydrology
Maps that circulate may be checked out for one week to students and two weeks to faculty and graduate students. Here are detailed circulation policies.
For more information and assistance, please contact the Document Center at (541) 346-3070. Or the MAP/GIS Librarian at (541) 346-3051
The University of Oregon's Aerial Photography collection is the largest collection of its kind in the state. With projects dating from as early as the late 1920s. The collection contains images from agencies such as the USDA Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service (now the NRCS), the Bureau of Land Management, the National Forest Service, and the Oregon Department of Revenue, as well as from private corporations.
The collection is closed for public browsing. Assistance is required for retrieval, and please two business days for requests to be pulled. We have two different request procedures, academic requests and public requests. Requests should always be accompanied by a map and contact information, and are accepted either in person at the Document Center Reference Desk or by fax at (541) 346-1928. For requests covering large areas or for special class projects, we recommend you make an appointment with our aerial photo technician or call (541) 346-4565. Staff are available to help Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00pm.
Aerial photographs do not circulate to students or the public. Exceptions are made for Faculty who may borrow photos for a limited time for classroom use, please speak to the Map Librarian for details.
Patrons may produce copies of photography using our color copier or create digital copies with our 11x 17 scanner. We encourage patrons to book scanner time when they make their request.
The MAP Library also has a growing set of Digital aerial photos and orthophoto quadrangles, please be sure to ask the Map Collection staff for more information.
The UO Map and Aerial Photography collection has a growing set of geospatial datasets available to both the public and students. State wide Data for Oregon is available as well as data for Eugene-Springfield and Lane County. Digital General Land Office Survey Plats are available online as are FEMA Q3 Flood data for selected Oregon counties. Please check the UO Map Collection Dataset pages for more information. When making a data request, we encourage patrons to bring a CD-R or zip disc to burn the files. We do not sell CDs or zip discs.
The UO Map and Aerial Photography collects atlases from Oregon, the United States and from around world. Among the most requested items are Metskers Property Atlases for Oregon counties, and Sanborn Fire Insurance Atlases for Oregon Cities and Towns. In recent years, national atlases of the People's Republic of China, and Russia have been added. All atlases are catalogued and can be found through the UO Library Catalog. Users may limit the search to "Maps & Atlases".
Atlases are shelved between G1000 (Universe, Solar System) and G 3122 (Imaginary places)
http://libweb.uoregon.edu/guides/findmaps/