Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines
Scholarly or Popular?

In academic research it is important to distinguish between scholarly (or academic or expert) and non-scholarly (or popular) sources. While both types of sources are valuable in research, most academic work will favor scholarly sources over popular ones. Below you'll find a brief comparison of scholarly and popular sources; see Types of Periodicals for a detailed description of the various types of periodicals.

One reference source, in addition to the chart below, that can help you make the distinction between scholarly and popular sources, as well as help you determine credibility of periodical sources, is:

Ulrich's International Periodical Directory
A comprehensive directory that provides basic bibliographic and access information for almost all of the journals, magazines, and newspapers published worldwide. Periodical titles are listed by subject and title. Ulrich's also provides basic qualitative information about many of the periodicals, including audience, whether it is peer reviewed or not, and abstracts, and includes reviews from a variety of sources, including Magazines for Libraries.

Scholarly SourcesPopular Sources
Audience Scholars, researchers, practitioners General public
Authors Experts in the field (i.e., faculty members, researchers)

Articles are signed, often including author's credentials and affiliation
Journalists or freelance writers

Articles may or may not be signed
Footnotes Includes a bibliography, references, notes and/or works cited section Rarely includes footnotes
Editors Editorial board of outside scholars (known as peer review) Editor works for publisher
Publishers Often a scholarly or professional organization or academic press Commercial, for profit
Writing Style Assumes a level of knowledge in the field

Usually contains specialized language (jargon)

Articles are often lengthy
Easy to read - aimed at the layperson

Articles are usually short, and often entertain as they inform
General Characteristics Primarily print with few pictures

Tables, graphs, and diagrams are often included

Usually few or no ads - if there are ads, they are for books, journals, conferences, or services in the field

Often have "journal," "review," or "quarterly" as part of the title

Successive issues in a volume often have continuous pagination

Usually have a narrow subject focus
Contains ads and photographs

Glossy

Often sold at newsstands or bookstores

Usually restarts pagination with each issue

Usually have quite a broad subject focus
Maintained by: Ted D. Smith, tedsmith@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 09/22/2006