UO Libraries Home Page

Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines

Journals and magazines are important sources of both primary and secondary information, and are useful for most research projects. Finding articles from journals and magazines that are appropriate for your needs is a multi-step process.

The search tool now used to provide access to the library catalog, UO Worldcat, provides access to article level records from several databases: ArticleFirst, GPO Monthly Catalog, Medline, ERIC, British Library Serials, Electronic Collections Online (ECO) and Elsevier. When a relevant article is found within the search results in the UO Worldcat catalog, FindText may be used to locate the full text of the article, either online, in the library's print collection, or via InterLibrary Loan.

The standard tool used to find or identify articles on a particular topic is the periodical index or periodical database. Indexes can be general or interdisciplinary in nature, covering a wide range of subject areas or disciplines, or they can be specific to a particular discipline. Periodical indexes that also include summaries of articles are often referred to as abstracts.  The UO Libraries subscribe to hundreds of periodical databases or indexes, mostly online, but some in print. To make it easy to identify the indexes most appropriate for your topic, we've listed indexes by subject area, as well as alphabetically by title (which can be useful when you already know the name of the index you'd like to search).

The following example, which uses the topic of women in Muslim societies, illustrates a common strategy for finding articles.

This guide does not discuss how to find articles in newspapers; see our Finding News Articles guide for a discussion of the process and access tools used in finding articles from newspapers.

Sample Topic: Women in Muslim Societies

  1. List the various subject areas that pertain to your topic, e.g.
    • women's and gender studies
    • religious studies
    • sociology
    • anthropology
  2. Determine which indexes are appropriate for each of the above disciplines. Use the library's list of guides to find indexes in each subject area, then click on the Click on this button for information about an index next to a database title for a description of the index, tips on searching, a list of the journal titles indexed, and any restrictions on access to the database.
    Subject AreaSuggested IndexDescription
    Women's & Gender Studies Contemporary Women's Issues Full-text access to global information on women: journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets; includes information on over 150 countries, in such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education and human rights .
    Religious Studies
    ATLA Religion A comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship research. Contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. Religion Index One: Periodicals is included in this database, as are references to essays in multi-author works and book reviews. Coverage is from 1949 to the present; database is updated twice a year.
    Anthropology Anthropology Plus Indexes articles and essays in all areas of anthropology and archaeology, published in English and other European languages from the 19th century to the present. Updated quarterly.
    Sociology Sociological Abstracts The latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes citations since 1963 (abstracts begin in 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Updated 6 times a year.
    In addition, you would usually consult a general or interdisciplinary index, such as Academic Search Premier, to get perspectives from a variety of other disciplines. Many of the articles in this particular index are full text, meaning the entire article, including graphics in many cases, is available online.
  3. Using the key terms that describe your topic (e.g., women, muslim societies) and appropriate synonyms, search each of these indexes. See our database search guides for tips on using the various indexes.
  4. Using the information from these indexes, identify articles that may be useful for your research. Be sure to note the following information, which will come in handy at several points during your research:
    • author
    • title
    • source (journal title, volume, issue, date, page numbers)
  5. Use Find Text or the online catalog to see if we have the journal or magazine in which each article is published. If you can't find it in the UO Libraries, you may need to request it from another library using interlibrary loan (ILL). Many of our online indexes allow you to place your request directly from the database (or, you can use the link from the FindText menu).
  6. Determine if the article is relevant to your topic and/or your assignment; some criteria you might want to use include:
  7. Finally, don't forget to cite your article properly, using an appropriate bibliographic style.
More guides on finding and using periodical articles:

For further assistance, talk to a reference librarian.

Maintained by: Ted D. Smith, tedsmith@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 09/24/2009