University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Research Guide to Film Studies

The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in film studies. For further assistance, contact Elizabeth Peterson, Literature Librarian, at emp@uoregon.edu.

Chat with Elizabeth! cetchat

Note: items with the off-campus access limited to UO icon are available only to University of Oregon faculty, staff, and students, or to users working in the library.

Starting Your Research

Film Facts and Definitions

  • Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 .H36 2000
  • Complete Film Dictionary KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 K66 1997
  • Critical Dictionary Of Film And Television Theory KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 .C75 2001
  • International Motion Picture Almanac KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.3 .I55
    Published yearly, provides industry statistics, information on recent awards and releases, and contact information for film personalities, companies, distributors, and other resources.
  • Internet Movie Database (http://www.imdb.com)
    Provides comprehensive cast and crew information, dates of production, filming locations, and links to film reviews and trivia.

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

  • Film Encyclopedia KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 .K34 2001
  • Halliwell's Filmgoer's and Video Viewer's Companion KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 .H3 1997
    Focuses primarily on people, but also has entries on film themes, styles, technique, and subjects.
  • Handbook of American Film Genres KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.5.U6 H335 1988
    Features substantive essays on major American film genres: westerns, horror, etc.
  • Oxford Guide To Film Studies KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1995 .O93 1998
    Covers topics in theory and criticism as well as national cinemas.
  • Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1995 .9 .M56 M85 2003
    Divided into five sections: African American, Asian American, Hispanic American, Jewish American, and Native American, with selective films, actors, and television shows listed alphabetically in each. Entries give cast and production information, plot summaries, and cultural and political background. Some concept and theme entries as well. One single alphabetical index.

Plot Summaries and Brief Critical Annotations

  • Halliwell's Film Guide KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45.H27 1986
    Plot summaries and brief critical annotations for nearly 18,000 English-language feature films with a strong emphasis on U.S. movies from the 1930s and 1940s.
  • Magill's Survey of Cinema:
    English Language Films, First Series
    KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 .M3
    English Language Films, Second Series KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 .M32
    Foreign Language Films KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45.M34 1985
    Silent Films KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1995.75.M33 1982
  • Internet Movie Database (http://www.imdb.com)
    Provides plot summaries and succinct critical comment on more than 60,000 films.

Information about Film Schools

  • Film School Confidential: The Insider's Guide to Film Schools KNIGHT PN 1993.8.U5 K46 1997
    For updates consult this website: http://www.tomedgar.com/fsc/
  • Complete Guide To American Film Schools And Cinema And Television Courses KNIGHT PN 1993.8.U5 P56 1994
  • FilmSchools.com
    Offers listings of film schools in the US and abroad, a glossary of film terms, and a limited list of scholarships for film studies.
  • Filmmaking.net
    A brief response to the question "what are the best film schools"? International scope. Includes links to programs, and discusses their relative merits. Also maintains an online international database of film schools.
  • Filmmaker.com Maintains an online "library of annotated film schools."

Finding Film Reviews

See also Plot Summaries and Brief Critical Annotations.

  • Film Review Annual (1982 - 2001) KNIGHT PN 1995 .F465
    Reprints complete reviews of films from different newspapers and magazines and provides citations to other reviews not reprinted. Arranged by title of film, though several indexes allow you to consult by critics, casts, producers, directors, and screenwriters.
  • Film Review Index (1882-1985) KNIGHT REFERENCE Z 5784 .M9 F513
    Lists movies alphabetically by title, and indexes reviews in as many review sources as available, excluding foreign language sources, redundant reviews, difficult-to-locate sources, and unsubstantial reviews. Does not provide full text of reviews. Functions as a good pointer to reviews in the New York Times or Variety if you don't know the year a movie was produced.
  • New York Times Film Reviews (1913-1982) KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1995 .N4
    Chronologically-arranged photographic reprints of New York Times film reviews. Includes a title index and a personal name index. You can also consult the New York Times Film Section Online (http://www.nytimes.com/pages/movies/index.html) to find past and recent film reviews. Requires free registration to read text. TIP: Use the advance searching features for the best searching results.
  • Variety Film Reviews (1907-1990) KNIGHT PN 1993 .V36
    Reprints film reviews from the magazine Variety. Arranged in order in which reviews were published, but each year has a title index.
  • FIAF off-campus access limited to UO
    The FIAF database indexes film and television criticism and reviews from about 300 periodicals from around the world, from 1972 to the present. This index is the same as that published in print as the International Index to Film Periodicals, together with the companion International Index to Television Periodicals.
  • Movie Review Query Engine
    Gathers and reprints online approximately 40,000 film reviews from newspapers, magazines, and the Internet.
  • Metacritic: film
    Draws reviews from the daily and magazine press, and provides an overall "score" for movies reviewed.
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic off-campus access limited to UO
    Provides the full text of reviews from thousands of magazines, newspapers, wire services, and broadcast transcripts. Only authorized UO users get access to this database.

Finding Articles

To find film criticism and film-related articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you must start with an index. An index allows you to search by subject or by keywords describing your topic, or by an author or critic's name.

  • FIAF off-campus access limited to UO (1972-present)
    This databases indexes film and television criticism and reviews from about 300 periodicals from around the world. This index is the same as that published in print as the International Index to Film Periodicals, together with the companion International Index to Television Periodicals.
  • Film and Television Literature Index off-campus access limited to UO (dates vary by title)
    Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001)
    The premiere index to international film and television/video literature appearing in approximately 300 film journals and specialized film publications. Articles are indexed by author, subject, screenwriter, performer, director, cinematographer, professional society, and corporation. Also available in print (1981-present) at KNIGHT REFERENCE Z 5784.M9F45
  • Academic Search Premier off-campus access limited to UO (coverage varies)
    Provides full text for over 4,400+ academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1965.
  • MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography off-campus access limited to UO (1926-present)
    While the MLA is the primary index for locating research on literature, linguistics, and folklore, it also provides pertinent references to books and journal articles about film studies.

For earlier criticism, try these resources:

  • Critical Index: A Bibliography Of Articles On Film In English, 1946-1973 KNIGHT Z 5784.M9 G47 (overflow area, 4th floor)
  • The Film Index: A Bibliography, late 19th century-1936 KNIGHT Z5784 .M9 W75 (overflow area, 4th floor). Three volumes: "The Film as Art," "Film as Industry," and "Film in Society." Indexes fan and trade magazines, reviews, but excludes newspaper articles.
  • Retrospective Index To Film Periodicals, 1930-1971 KNIGHT Z 5784.M9 B39 (overflow area, 4th floor)
  • New Film Index; A Bibliography Of Magazine Articles In English, 1930-1970 KNIGHT Z 5784.M9 M29 1975

Finding Books

  • UO Library Catalog
    Use the catalog to find books by keyword, title, or author, and to find journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if the library owns it. For additional tips, see Looking for ...Books and Journals website.
  • Summit Catalog
    Summit is a consortium of libraries that doubles our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Summit works only for books. If you want to request journal articles, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form. For additional tips, see Looking for ...Books and Journals website.
  • WorldCat off-campus access limited to UO
    WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc. To obtain materials you find in WorldCat, use an interlibrary loan form.

Finding Films, Videos, or DVDs

Use the UO Library Catalog, the Summit Catalog, or WorldCat to identify films, videos, or DVDs by title just as you would identify books. Type the title in the appropriate box and then using the drop down box, labeled VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION, select Video & Film to limit your search to the videos or DVDs. Then click on the "Search" button.

To find films, videos or DVDs on a topic or from a particular country or region or by a particular director or producer, type the keyword(s) that best describe your topic: for example, "women and politics" or "France" or "Steven Spielberg". Next, type the keyword in the appropriate box and using the drop down box, labeled VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION, select Video and Film to limit your search to the videos or DVDs. Then click on the "Search" button. For additional tips, see the Libraries' Looking for ...Videos and Films website.

Web Resources

Film Studies Related Sites:

  • American Film Institute
    The AFI is the United States' preeminent professional association for the preservation and advancement of film and television. Site includes links to workshops and other professional development, film lists, festival news, and other resources.
  • Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies
    Sponsored by the University of California, Santa Barbara, Voice of the Shuttle acts as a clearinghouse and hub for quality websites in the humanities.
  • Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers
    Provides access to hundreds of major film archives worldwide. Includes direct links to film preservation and archiving sites.
  • Masters of Cinema
    Provides current news and information about movies and directors, major DVD releases, in-house reviews and critical commentary on film topics. Good international coverage.
Maintained by: Elizabeth Peterson, emp@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 04/22/2008