Use UO WorldCat to find books, magazines, articles, videos, music, and more.
Search for:
UO Local Catalog UO WorldCat Advanced Search Where is Summit?
This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of HC 421--Romantic Encounters, Winter 2009.
The Cambridge Companion to Travel Writing | KNIGHT PR756.T72 C36 2002
A Companion to Romanticism | KNIGHT PR457 .C58 1998
The Encyclopedia of Romanticism : Culture in Britain, 1780s-1830s | KNIGHT REF DA529 .E53 1992
Literary Research and the British Romantic Era : Strategies and Sources | KNIGHT PR457 .K44 2005
Oxford Reference Premium – Literature
Many of the best reference tools for literature all together and searchable at once, including The Oxford Companion to German Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, and many more. Use this to find information about authors, movements, periods, genres, theories, terms, historical context, and plot summaries. Includes entries on "Romanticism," "The Grand Tour," and "Travel Writing."
Romanticism : An Oxford guide | KNIGHT PR457 .R4575 2005
Romantik-Handbuch | PT361 .R662 1994 (German authors)
Dictionary of Literary Biography KNIGHT REFERENCE,
various locations.
Presents substantive biographical and critical
overviews of writers from all eras and all genres in over 260 volumes
dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. Use Literary Index to search it, and the UO Library Catalog to locate specific volumes in the Knight Reference area.
Two examples:
British Romantic Prose Writers, 1789-1832 | KNIGHT REF PR771 .B76 1991Z
Nineteenth-Century French Fiction Writers: Romanticism and Realism, 1800-1860 | KNIGHT REF PQ655 .N56 1992
Suggested search terms:
Summit Catalog
Summit is a consortium of Northwest libraries that more than triples our collection.
You can borrow books not available in the UO Libraries in about three days by selecting the
Request Item option.
WorldCat
Provides access to library catalogs from around the world.
The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals,
maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc. Books requested through WorldCat arrive in 7-10 days.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
ECCO provides every significant English-language and foreign-language
title printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along
with thousands of important works from the Americas.
19th Century Masterfile
The primary index for magazines and periodicals published from 1802 to 1906. This database contains more than 400,000 citations from 479 periodical titles.
Art & Architecture Image Collection (UO)
ARTstor (on campus) | ARTStor (off campus)
British Library Online Collections
Imago Urbis: Giuseppe Vasi's Grand Tour of Rome (UO)
Historical Abstracts
Indexes and provides summaries of approximately 2,100 publications, covering the history of countries other than the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR
A full-text database that contains the scanned images of hundreds of major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines, some of which began publication as early as the 1870s.
MLA International Bibliography
The essential index for critical materials about all literatures (except classical Greek and Roman), languages, folklore and film. The database provides access to over 1.3 million entries gleaned from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals. Covers 1926-present.
SEARCH TIP: Use
to locate complete articles in databases.