Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

HC 223 Course Research Guide

This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of HC 223--Honors College Literature

Background Information


Oxford English Dictionary
Much more than a dictionary, the OED tracks the history, use, and meanings of English words.

Oxford Reference Premium – Literature
Many of the best reference tools for literature all together and searchable at once, including The Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, Dictionary of Phrase & Fable, and many more. Use this to find information about authors, movements, periods, genres, theories, terms, historical context, and plot summaries.

Author Information


Contemporary Authors
Provides full text biographies for more than 120,000 modern writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.

Dictionary of Literary Biography KNIGHT REFERENCE, various locations.
Presents substantive biographical and critical overviews of writers from all eras and all genres in over 260 volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. Use Literary Index to search it, and the UO Library Catalog to locate specific volumes in the Knight Reference area.


Finding Books


UO Library Catalog
Search the online catalog to find books owned by the UO Libraries. For more help, see the Library Catalog Tutorial: Finding Books.

Summit Catalog
Summit is a consortium of regional libraries that more than doubles our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option.

WorldCat
Provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc.

Literary Criticism & Articles


Academic Search Premier
Indexes more than 8,000 publications, with full text for approximately 4,600. ASP focuses on academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals, with over 3,500 peer-reviewed titles. Full text coverage goes as far back as 1965.

JSTOR
A full-text database that contains the scanned images of hundreds of major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines, some of which began publication as early as the 1870s.

MLA International Bibliography
The essential index for critical materials about all literatures (except classical Greek and Roman), languages, folklore and film. The database provides access to over 1.3 million entries gleaned from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals. Covers 1926-present.

Project Muse
Searches the full text in over 300 academic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, journals.

SEARCH TIP: Use FindTextto locate complete articles in databases.

Maintained by: Elizabeth Peterson, emp@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 04/22/2008