UO Libraries Home Page

HC 222 Course Research Guide

    Get help from your librarian!

  • Elizabeth Peterson, Literature Librarian
  • emp@uoregon.edu
  • (541) 346.3047

This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of HC 222--Honors College Literature with Prof. Mai-Lin Cheng, Winter 2009

Background Information, Terms


The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms | KNIGHT REF PN41 .C67 1990

Oxford English Dictionary
Much more than a dictionary, the OED tracks the history, use, and meanings of English words.

Oxford Reference Premium – Literature
Many of the best reference tools for literature all together and searchable at once, including The Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, Dictionary of Phrase & Fable, and many more. Use this to find information about authors, movements, periods, genres, theories, terms, historical context, and plot summaries.

Author Information


Contemporary Authors
Provides full text biographies for more than 120,000 modern writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.

Dictionary of Literary Biography KNIGHT REFERENCE, various locations.
Presents substantive biographical and critical overviews of writers from all eras and all genres in over 260 volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. Use Literary Index to search it, and the UO Library Catalog to locate specific volumes in the Knight Reference area.


Finding Books


Suggested search terms:

UO Library Catalog
Search the online catalog to find books owned by the UO Libraries. For more help, see the Library Catalog Tutorial: Finding Books.

Summit Catalog
Summit is a consortium of Northwest libraries that more than triples our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library in about three day by selecting the Request Item option.

Literary Criticism


MLA International Bibliography
The essential index for critical materials about all literatures (except classical Greek and Roman), languages, folklore and film. The database provides access to over 1.3 million entries gleaned from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals. Covers 1926-present.

SEARCH TIP: Use FindTextto locate complete articles in databases.

Images of Shipwrecks


ARTstor (on campus) | ARTStor (off campus)
ARTstor provides access to approximately 500,000 images of art, architectural, and cultural objects.

Maintained by: Elizabeth Peterson, emp@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 03/25/2009