UO Libraries Home Page

FIG: Two Thumbs Up


This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of the FIG Two Thumbs Up Fall 2008.

Background


The American Film Institute Catalog
A source for information about all American feature films produced between 1893-1970. Includes production credits, plot summaries, and cross-indexing of themes and genres.

Film Index International
Use this for finding cast and credit information about films from the early days of film to the present. Entries also include bibliographies of further reading.

Film Reviews & Criticism


Academic Search Premier
Indexes more than 8,000 publications, with full text for approximately 4,600. ASP focuses on academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals, with over 3,500 peer-reviewed titles. Full text coverage goes as far back as 1965.

Film & Television Literature Index
Includes film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.

New York Times 1851-2004
The complete contents of the newspaper. This is especially useful for film reviews and articles about the film industry.

SEARCH TIP: Use FindTextto locate complete articles in databases.

Finding Books


UO Library Catalog

Summit Catalog
Summit lets you quickly borrow books from other Northwest libraries. Most Summit books arrive in about three days.


Your assignment:


You have been invited to pitch a remake or sequel of a film to a big studio producer. Your presentation will need to be informed by research about the original film, how it was received when it first came out, and how the film would need to be modified or updated for current audiences.

In your group and using the sources above, select a worthy film and prepare your pitch.

You will need to include the following elements:

  1. Information about the original film, its strengths and weaknesses
  2. Reviews and criticism about the original film
  3. Why would this particular film be worthy of a remake or sequel?
  4. What specific elements would you change in terms of casting, setting, art direction, etc.? What would you keep from the original?

You will make your pitch to the rest of the class. Be convincing!

Maintained by: Elizabeth Peterson, emp@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/15/2008