This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of ENG 199--The Dark Self (FIG).
Encyclopedia of Psychology / REF BF31 .E52 2000
This 8-volume encyclopedia provides brief but substantial information about psychological terms, conditions, treatments, etc.
Oxford Companions to Literature
Use this collection of online encyclopedias for getting background on
authors, novels, genres, movements, as well as summaries of works.
Literary Index
Allows you to search for information about authors and their works in several of the Gale reference series, such as Dictionary of Literary Biography and Contemporary Literary Criticism. Note: This may not be useful for researching Dostoevsky, but try it with other authors.
UO Library Catalog
Search the online catalog to find books owned by the UO Libraries. For more help, see the Library Catalog Tutorial: Finding Books.
Summit Catalog
Summit is a consortium of regional libraries that more than doubles our collection.
You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the
Request Item option.
Academic Search Premier
A great place to start for finding articles in all subjects from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. ASP allows you to search in more than 8,000 different publications.
MLA International Bibliography
The essential index for critical materials about all literatures (except classical Greek and Roman), languages, folklore and film. The database provides access to over 1.3 million entries gleaned from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals. Covers 1926-present.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO allows you to search 1,900 journals in psychology and related disciplines. This is the place for studies and research reports about psychology.
SEARCH TIP: Use
to locate complete articles in databases.