Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

ENG 695 Course Research Guide

This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of ENG 695--Film Theory/Cultural Studies, with Dr. Kathleen Karlyn, Winter 2007.

Note: items with the off-campus access limited to UO icon are available only to University of Oregon faculty, staff, and students, or to users working in the library.

Finding Background & Definitions

  • Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 .H36 2000
  • Complete Film Dictionary KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 K66 1997
  • Critical Dictionary Of Film And Television Theory KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 .C75 2001
  • Film Encyclopedia KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1993.45 .K34 2001
  • Internet Movie Database (http://www.imdb.com) Excellent for all the who, what, and when of film.
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism off-campus access limited to UO Provides encyclopedia-like entries of critical trends and theories. Also includes overviews of particular critics\' publications and influence. Also available in print: KNIGHT REFERENCE PN81 .J554 2005.
  • Oxford Guide To Film Studies KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1995 .O93 1998
  • The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies KNIGHT REFERENCE HM 623 .B38 2004

Finding Film Criticism

  • Academic Search Premier off-campus access limited to UO (dates vary by title)
    Provides full text for over 4,400+ academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
  • FIAF off-campus access limited to UO (1972-present)
    This databases ndexes film and television criticism and reviews from about 300 periodicals from around the world.
  • Film and Television Literature Index off-campus access limited to UO (dates vary by title)
    Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001)
    The premiere index to international film and television/video literature appearing in approximately 300 film journals and specialized film publications. Articles are indexed by author, subject, screenwriter, performer, director, cinematographer, professional society, and corporation. Also available in print (1981-present) at KNIGHT REFERENCE Z 5784.M9F45
  • JSTOR off-campus access limited to UO (dates vary by title)
    A full-text database that contains the scanned images of hundreds of major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines, some of which began publication as early as the 1870s.
  • MLA International Bibliography off-campus access limited to UO (1926-present)
    While the MLA is the primary index for locating research on literature, linguistics, and folklore, it also provides pertinent references to books and journal articles about film studies.
  • Project Muse off-campus access limited to UO (dates vary by title)
    Project Muse searches the full text in over 300 academic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, journals.

For earlier criticism, try these resources:

  • Critical Index: A Bibliography Of Articles On Film In English, 1946-1973 KNIGHT Z 5784.M9 G47 (overflow area, 4th floor)
  • Retrospective Index To Film Periodicals, 1930-1971 KNIGHT Z 5784.M9 B39 (overflow area, 4th floor)
  • New Film Index; A Bibliography Of Magazine Articles In English, 1930-1970 KNIGHT Z 5784.M9 M29 1975

Finding Film Reviews

  • FIAF off-campus access limited to UO (1972-present)
    The FIAF database indexes film and television criticism and reviews from about 300 periodicals from around the world.
  • Film Review Annual (1982-2001) KNIGHT PN 1995 .F465
    Reprints complete reviews of films from different newspapers and magazines and provides citations to other reviews not reprinted.
  • Film Review Index (1882-1985) KNIGHT REFERENCE Z 5784 .M9 F513
    Lists movies alphabetically by title, and indexes reviews in as many review sources as available, excluding foreign language sources, redundant reviews, difficult-to-locate sources, and unsubstantial reviews.
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic off-campus access limited to UO (dates vary by title)
    Provides the full text of reviews from thousands of magazines, newspapers, wire services, and broadcast transcripts.
  • New York Times Film Reviews (1913-1982) KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1995 .N4
    Chronologically-arranged photographic reprints of New York Times film reviews. Includes a title index and a personal name index. You can also consult the New York Times Film Section Online (http://www.nytimes.com/pages/movies/index.html) to find past and recent film reviews. Requires free registration to read text.
  • Variety Film Reviews (1907-1990) KNIGHT PN 1993 .V36
    Reprints film reviews from the magazine Variety. Arranged in order in which reviews were published, but each year has a title index.

Finding Books & Films Not Available at UO

  • Summit Catalog
    Summit is a Northwest consortium of libraries that doubles our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Summit works only for books. If you want to request journal articles or films, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form. For additional tips, see Looking for ...Books and Journals.
  • WorldCat off-campus access limited to UO
    WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, films, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc. To obtain materials you find in WorldCat, use the interlibrary loan form.

Web Resources

  • Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies
    Sponsored by the University of California, Santa Barbara, Voice of the Shuttle acts as a clearinghouse and hub for quality websites in the humanities.
Maintained by: Elizabeth Peterson, emp@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 04/22/2008