Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of ENG 690--Introduction to Graduate Studies.
Oxford Reference Premium – Literature Many of the best reference tools for literature all together and searchable at once, including The Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, Dictionary of Phrase & Fable, and many more. Use this to find information about authors, movements, periods, genres, theories, terms, historical context, and plot summaries.
Dictionary of Literary Biography KNIGHT REFERENCE, various locations. Presents substantive biographical and critical overviews of writers from all eras and all genres in over 260 volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. Use Literary Index to search it, and the UO Library Catalog to locate specific volumes in the Knight Reference area.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Provides encyclopedia-like entries of critical trends and theories. Also includes overviews of particular critics' publications and influence. Also available in print: KNIGHT REFERENCE PN81 .J554 2005.
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies KNIGHT REFERENCE PR83 .H37. James Harner's excellent guide lists and evaluates important reference materials in English studies. Annotations describe the type of work, its scope, its major limitations, and its organization, and explain the work's uses in research.
Summit Catalog Summit is a consortium of regional libraries that more than doubles our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Summit works only for books. If you want to request journal articles, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form.
WorldCat WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc.
Academic Search Premier Indexes more than 8,000 publications, with full text for approximately 4,600. ASP focuses on academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals, with over 3,500 peer-reviewed titles. Full text coverage goes as far back as 1965.
JSTOR A full-text database that contains the scanned images of hundreds of major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines, some of which began publication as early as the 1870s.
MLA International Bibliography The essential index for critical materials about all literatures (except classical Greek and Roman), languages, folklore and film. The database provides access to over 1.3 million entries gleaned from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals. Covers 1926-present.
Project Muse Searches the full text in over 300 academic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, journals.
19th-Century Masterfile An online index to articles and stories published in magazines from 1786-1922.
American Memory Provides free access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music from the Library of Congress that document the American experience.
American Periodical Series Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 18th- and 19th-century newspapers and periodicals.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) Contains digitized facsimiles of all printed materials published in Great Britain between 1473 and 1700, and materials published elsewhere in the world in English during the same period. Materials include books, tracts, pamphlets, advertisements, ballads, rhymes, and other ephemera.
Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO) Claims to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century (1701-1800), along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors.
New York Times (1851-2004) Provides the full text, with images, of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851, up to three (3) years prior to the current year. It is searchable by keyword, subject, author, and article title. It also includes advertisements.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) Provides indexing for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 KNIGHT REFERENCE AI3.W45. An index to British magazines and journals published during the Victorian Era.
The Voice of the Shuttle Provides an annotated guide to online resources in the humanities that are intended for a scholarly audience. Includes primary and secondary sources.