This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of ENG 607--(Doing) History in an English Department, with Dr. Mike Aronson, Winter 2008.
Sources for Background Information
- American Film Institute Catalog
A source for information about all American feature films
produced between 1893-1970. Includes production credits, plot
summaries, and cross-indexing of themes and genres.
- Film Index International
Provides in-depth
indexing of hundreds of thousands of films from the earliest silent
films to the present, with searchable plot summaries, biographical
profiles, full cast and crew lists,
awards, and references to periodical articles.
- History of the Mass Media in the United States : An Encyclopedia KNIGHT REF P92.U5 H54 1998
Sources for Historical Context
- American Periodical Series (1790-1900)
Contains the full-text of more than 1,100 special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.
- America: History and Life (1964-present)
Provides indexing and abstracts of journals that cover the history of the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present.
- Historical Abstracts (1955-present)
Provides indexing and abstracts of journals that cover the history of countries other than the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present.
- New York Times (1851-2004)
Full-text of the complete newspaper, including advertisements, reviews, images, and obituaries. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, and article title.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
An index to articles in general-interest, news, and opinion magazines.
Sources for Literary/Media Criticism
- Academic Search Premier (dates vary by title)
Provides access to thousands of journals in a variety of disciplines.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (dates vary by title)
Provides access to journals in the fields of journalism, mass
media, communication, film, and rhetoric.
- FIAF (1972-present)
Provides access to film and television criticism and
reviews from periodicals from around the world.
- Film and Television Literature Index (dates vary by title)
Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television
reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and
articles of popular interest about film and television.
- Film Literature Index (1976-2001)
An index of over 150 film and television periodicals.
- JSTOR (dates vary by title)
Provides the full text of over 100 major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
- MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
MLA is the primary index for finding research on literature, and it also provides indexing of books and journal articles about film studies.
- Project Muse (dates vary by title)
Provides the full text in over 300 academic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Sources for Film Reviews
- FIAF
(1972-present)
- Film Review Index (1882-1985) KNIGHT REFERENCE Z 5784 .M9 F513
- Lexis/Nexis Academic (dates vary by title)
- New York Times (1851-2004)
- Variety Film Reviews (1907-1990) KNIGHT PN 1993 .V36
Archives and Other Collections
- Archive.org
An online library of thousands of digital movies including classic
full-length films, instructional films, promotional films, cartoons and animation, and daily news broadcasts.
- ArchivesUSA
A database that provides information about primary source materials from
approximately 6,000 manuscript repositories and approximately 160,000
collections in the United States.
- National Film Preservation Foundation
A nonprofit organization created by the U.S. Congress to help save America's film heritage. Click on the "Community of Archives" link for a directory of film archives by state or by name.
- Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers
Provides access to hundreds of major film archives worldwide.
- University of Oregon Special Collections & University Archives
A treasure-trove of unique primary source material on all topics, including literary manuscripts, correspondence, film scripts, pulp novels, rare children's books, and much, much more.
- University of Pittsburgh Digital Research Library
Provides online access to photographs, map images,
finding aids, manuscripts, postcards, audio-visual material, and bibliographic catalogs of
collections.
Books & Films Not Available at UO
- Summit Catalog
Summit is a Northwest consortium of libraries that more than doubles our collection. Click the "Request Item" link to borrow books and videos not owned by UO Libraries.
- WorldCat
Provides access to library catalogs from around the world. Contains bibliographic records describing books, journals,
films, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc. To obtain materials you find in WorldCat, use the interlibrary loan form.
Maintained by: Elizabeth Peterson, emp@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 04/22/2008