Look for books, magazines, videos, music, and more.
Search for:

This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of ENG 485/585--Television Studies/MTV Fall 2007.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory REF KNIGHT PN1993.45 C75 2001 Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions used in the study of screen media. Includes key terms and concepts, overview essays, and profiles of major influential people.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Provides encyclopedia-like entries of critical trends and theories. Also includes overviews of particular critics\' publications and influence. Also available in print: KNIGHT REFERENCE PN81 .J554 2005.
UO Library Catalog: Search the online catalog to find books owned by the UO Libraries.
Summit Catalog Summit is a consortium of regional libraries that more than doubles our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Summit works only for books. If you want to request journal articles, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form.
WorldCat WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc.
UO Library Catalog: Search the online catalog and limit your search to "Videos & Film" or "Audio Recordings."
Summit Catalog: Some of the libraries in the Summit system will let you borrow videos, DVDs, and CDs. Search the Summit online catalog and limit your search to "Material Type--Sound Recordings" or "Material Type--Videos/Films."
Search tip: Use the FindText icon
to locate complete articles in online databases or in paper in the library.
Academic Search Premier Indexes more than 8,000 publications, with full text for approximately 4,600. ASP provides a mix of scholarly and popular publications, in a full range of disciplines. Includes Billboard back to 1994.
Communication & Mass Media Complete Indexes over 500 mass media journals and offers the full text of about 230 of these.
FIAF: International Film Archive Database FIAF indexes film and television criticism and reviews from about 300 periodicals from around the world, from 1972 to the present.
Film & Television Literature Index Covers over 300 scholarly and popular periodicals for film and television.
Gender Studies Database Covers the full spectrum of gender-focused scholarship, including scholarly, popular, and Internet publications. Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics, including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, and sexual diversity.
LexisNexis Academic An excellent source for finding newspaper articles, including media reviews, some back to the mid-1980s.
MLA International Bibliography The essential index for critical materials about all literatures, languages, folklore and film. The database provides access to over 1.3 million entries gleaned from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals. Covers 1926-present.
Project Muse Searches the full text in over 300 academic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, journals.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature A scholarly index to articles in journals, books, and dissertations related to music and dance.
Sociological Abstracts Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Useful for analysis of media in the context of gender and ethnicity.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Is a periodical scholarly or popular? Ulrich's provides information about over 200,000 publications, including whether or not they are peer-reviewed (aka scholarly).