Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Looking for Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide a great way to begin an inquiry. They provide an overview of the most important facets of a topic, as well as a concise list of recommended readings.

Reference Universe is a suggested first step, to see if one of our subject encyclopedias has an entry on your topic.

The University of Oregon Libraries have scores of encyclopedias. This guide lists the more important ones, by broad subject area.

General Encyclopedias
African Studies
Anthropology and Archaeology
Architecture
Art
Asian Studies

Biology
Business
Canadian Studies
Chemistry
Classics
Communication Disorders

Computer Science
Counseling Psychology
Dance
Economics
Education

Environmental Studies
Ethnic Studies
European Studies
Folklore
Gay and Lesbian Studies
Geography

Geological Sciences
Germanic Languages
History
Human Physiology
International Studies
Journalism & Mass Media

Judaic Studies
Latin American Studies
Law
Linguistics
Literature

Mathematics
Medicine
Medieval Studies
Music
Peace Studies
Philosophy

Physics
Planning & Public Policy
Political Science
Psychology
Religious Studies
Romance Languages

Russia & Eastern Europe
Sociology
Sports
Theater Arts
Women & Gender Studies

Locations used in this guide are:

AAA REF Architecture & Allied Arts Library, 200 Lawrence Hall
DOCS REF Document Center, 1st floor Knight Library
REF KNIGHT Reference Department, 1st floor Knight Library
LAW REF John E. Jaqua Law Library, 2nd floor Knight Law Center
MUSIC REF Music Reference, 3rd floor Knight Library
SCI REF Science Library, lower level Onyx Bridge
MATH REF Mathematics Library, 210 Fenton Hall

You might also want to consult a research guide for your subject area for more resources that may help you in your search.

General Encyclopedias

 
New Encyclopaedia Britannica online; also in print at REF KNIGHT AE 5 .E363
Encyclopaedia Britannica: 1911 edition online
Wikipedia online
World Book Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT AE 5 .W55
Europa World Plus online
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences REF KNIGHT H 41 .I58 2001; browse list of subjects
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods REF KNIGHT H 62 .L456 2004
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology SCI REF Q 121 .M3 2002

Selected Subject Encyclopedias

Subject encyclopedias and dictionaries have been compiled for a number of broad disciplines. Their articles, written by specialists, offer more in-depth information on scholarly topics than those found in general encyclopedias and frequently provide a list of further references on a topic.

African Studies

 
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture REF KNIGHT DT 3 .P27 2001
Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African ...Experience REF KNIGHT DT 14 .A37435 2005
Encyclopedia of African History REF KNIGHT DT 20 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara REF KNIGHT DT 351 .E53 1997

Anthropology and Archaeology

 
Encyclopedia of Archaeology REF KNIGHT CC 100 .E54 2001
Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East REF KNIGHT DS 56 .O9 1997
New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land REF KNIGHT DS 111 .A2 E5813 1993
Encyclopedia of Anthropology online
History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GN 50.3 .H57 1997
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology REF KNIGHT GN 307 .E52 1996
Encyclopedia of World Cultures online; and in print at REF KNIGHT GN 307 .E53 1991
Encyclopedia of Prehistory REF KNIGHT GN 710 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion online; and in print at REF KNIGHT GT 507 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture REF KNIGHT GT 2850 .E53 2003

Architecture

 
Grove Dictionary of Art online; also in print at AAA REF N 31 .D5 1996
Encyclopedia of Architecture, Design, Engineering ... AAA REF N 31 .E59 1988
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Archaeology AAA REF N 5610 .G76 2007
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture AAA REF NA 680 .E495 2004
Encyclopedia of Interior Design AAA REF NK 1165 .E48 1997

Art

 
Grove Dictionary of Art online; also in print at AAA REF N 31 .D5 1996
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Archaeology AAA REF N 5610 .G76 2007
Encyclopedia of Sculpture AAA NB 198 .E33 2004
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography AAA REF TR 642 .E5 2006

Asian Studies

 
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DS 4 .L48 2002
Encyclopedia of Asian History REF KNIGHT, AAA REF DS 31 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of India online
East Asia and the U.S.: An Encyclopedia of Relations Since 1784 REF KNIGHT DS 518.8 .E22 2002
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War REF KNIGHT DS 557.7 .E53 1998
China Today: An Encyclopedia ... REF KNIGHT DS 777.6 .C49 2005
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan REF KNIGHT DS 805 .K633 1983
Encyclopedia of the Korean War REF KNIGHT DS 918 .E53 2000
CCP Encyclopedia of Philippine Art REF KNIGHT NX 581 .A1 C37 1994

Biology

 
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences SCI REF QH 302.5 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry online; and in print at SCI REF QD 415 .A25 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Evolution online; and in print at SCI REF QH 360.2 .083 2002
Encyclopedia of Genetics SCI REF QH 427 .E53 2002
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia SCI REF QL 7 .G7813 2003
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition SCI REF QP 141 .E526 2005
Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology SCI REF QR 100 .B58 2002

Business

 
Encyclopedia of Business DOCS REF HF 1001 .E466 1995
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance DOCS REF HF 5381 .E52 2000
Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands DOCS REF HF 5415.3 .E527 1994
Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising DOCS REF HF 5803 .A38 2003
St. James Encyclopedia of Banking and Finance DOCS REF HG 151 .M8 1991
International Encyclopedia of the Stock Market DOCS REF HG 4551 .I528 1999

Canadian Studies

 
Canadian Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT F 1006 .C35 1988 and suppl.
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples REF KNIGHT F 1035 .A1 E63 1999
Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada REF KNIGHT PR 9180.2 .E53 2002

Chemistry

 
Chemistry: Foundations and Applications online; and in print at SCI REF QD 4 .C48 2004
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds SCI REF QD 148 .D53 1992
Dictionary of Organic Compounds SCI REF QD 246 .D5 1982
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry online; and in print at SCI REF QD 415 .A25 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology SCI REF TA 402 .E53 2001
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology SCI REF TP 9 .E685 1991
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology SCI REF TP 1110 .E53 2003

Classics

 
Der Neue Pauly: Enzyklopadie der Antike REF KNIGHT DE 5 .N48 1996- ; also in English
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece & Rome REF KNIGHT DE 59 .C55 1988
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Archaeology AAA REF N 5610 .G76 2007

Communication Disorders

 
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness REF KNIGHT HV 2365 .G35 1987
Encyclopedia of Acoustics SCI REF QC 221.5 .E53 1997

Computer Science

 
Encyclopedia of Computer Science SCI REF QA 76.15 .E48 2000
Encyclopedia of Software Engineering SCI REF QA 76.758 .E53 2002

Counseling Psychology and Human Services

 
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family REF KNIGHT HQ 9 .E52 2003
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood REF KNIGHT HQ 767.84 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Aging REF KNIGHT HQ 1061 .E53 1995
Encyclopedia of Social Work REF KNIGHT HV 35 .S6 [1995]
Encyclopedia of Disability online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HV 1568 .E528 2006
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior REF KNIGHT HV 5804 .E53 2001

Dance

 
International Encyclopedia of Dance online; and in print at REF KNIGHT GV 1585 .I586 1998

Economics

 
New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics DOCS REF HB 61 .N49 1987B
Encyclopedia of Political Economy DOCS REF HB 61 .E554 2001
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HC 15 .O94 2003
Encyclopedia of the Developing World DOCS REF HC 59.7 .E52 2006
Encyclopedia of American Economic History DOCS REF HC 103 .E52 [1980]

Education

 
Encyclopedia of Education online; also in print at REF KNIGHT LB 15 .E47 2003
Encyclopedia of Educational Research REF KNIGHT LB 15 .E48 1992
Encyclopedia of Higher Education REF KNIGHT LB 15 .E49 1992
International Encyclopedia of Education REF KNIGHT LB 15 .I569 1994
World Education Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT LB 15 .W87 2001
Encyclopedia of American Education REF KNIGHT LB 17 .U54 1996
Encyclopedia of Special Education REF KNIGHT LC 4007 .E53 2000

Environmental Studies

 
Water: science and issues online; and in print at SCI REF GB 655 .D37 2003
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences online
Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation SCI REF GE 10 .E49 1998
Environmental Encyclopedia online; and in print at SCI REF GE 10 .E58 2003
Encyclopedia of Global Change online; and in print at SCI REF GE 149 .E47 2002
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History REF KNIGHT GF 10 .E63 2004
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology SCI REF QH 540.4 .E52 1995
Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology SCI REF QR 100 .B58 2002
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment SCI REF S 592 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences SCI REF SD 126 .E53 2004
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy SCI REF TJ 163.28 M33 2001

Ethnic Studies

 
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes REF KNIGHT E 77 .G15 1998
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics REF KNIGHT E 184 .A1 E574 2000
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States REF KNIGHT E 184 .A1 E773 2005
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America REF KNIGHT E 184 .A1 G14 1995
The Asian American Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT E 184 .O6 A827 1995
Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the U.S. online; and in print at REF KNIGHT E 184 .S75 O97 2005
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History [2nd ed; 2006] online; 1st edition in print at REF KNIGHT E 185 .E54 1996
Encyclopedia of American Immigration REF KNIGHT JV 6465 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West online
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature REF KNIGHT PS 153 .M56 G74 2005
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African-American Literature REF KNIGHT PS 153 .N5 G73 2005

European Studies

 
Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT D 1058 .E8754 2001
Encyclopedia of European Social History online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HN 373 .E63 2001

Folklore

 
Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 35 .F63 1997
Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife REF KNIGHT GR 35 .G75 2006
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 35 .M43 2000
American Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 101 .A54 1996
South Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 302 .S68 2003
African Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 350 .A33 2004

Gay and Lesbian Studies

 
glbtq online
Gay Histories and Cultures: an Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT HQ 75.13 .G37 2000
Lesbian Histories and Cultures: an Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT HQ 75.5 .L4395 2000

Geography

 
Columbia Gazetteer of the World online; also in print at REF KNIGHT and DOCS REF G103.5 .C645 1998
Literature of Travel and Exploration REF KNIGHT G 465 .L565 2003
Water: science and issues online; and in print at SCI REF GB 655 .D37 2003
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences online
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures REF KNIGHT HT 108.5 .E53 2003

Geological Sciences

 
Encyclopedia of Earth System Science SCI REF QE 5 .E514 1992
Encyclopedia of Geology SCI REF QE 5 .E516 2005
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences online
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes SCI REF QE 522 .E33 2000
Encyclopedia of Palaeontology SCI REF QE 703 .E58 1999

Germanic Languages and Literature

 
Brockhaus Enzyklopadie KNIGHT AE 27 .G672 1986
Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DD 14 .M64 1998
Encyclopedia of German Literature REF KNIGHT PT 41 .E53 2000

History

 
Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing REF KNIGHT D 13 .G47 1998
Encyclopedia of Historians & Historical Writing REF KNIGHT D 14 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of Social History REF KNIGHT HN 28 .E53 1994

History - Specific Periods and Places [see also Medieval Studies]

 
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment online; also in print at REF KNIGHT B 802 .E53 2002
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation online; also in print at REF KNIGHT BR 302.8 .O93 1996
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages online; also in print at REF KNIGHT CB 351 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance REF KNIGHT CB 361 .E52 1999
Ancient Europe ...: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World REF KNIGHT D 62 .A52 2004
Encyclopedia of World War I online
Encyclopedia of World War II online
Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture REF KNIGHT DA 912 .E53 2004
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean REF KNIGHT DE 59 .C55 1988
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium online;and in print at REF KNIGHT DF 521 .O93 1991 and also AAA REF
Encyclopedia of Russian History online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DK 14 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DS 43 .E53 2004
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East REF KNIGHT DS 57 .C55 1995
Encyclopedia of African History REF KNIGHT DT 20 .E53 2005
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DT 58 .O94 2001
World History Encyclopedias: an Annotated List online

History - United States

 
Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies REF KNIGHT E 45 .E53 1993
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes REF KNIGHT E 77 .G15 1998
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History REF KNIGHT E 169.1 .E624 2001
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century REF KNIGHT E 169.1 .E626 2001
Dictionary of American History [3rd ed] online; and in print at REF KNIGHT E 174 .D52 2003
The American Revolution: an Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT E 208 A433 1993
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War REF KNIGHT E 468 .H47 2000
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy REF KNIGHT E 487 .E55 1993
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression and New Deal REF KNIGHT E 806 .C543 2001
New Encyclopedia of the American West REF KNIGHT F 591 .N46 1998
Encyclopedia of American Social History REF KNIGHT HN 57 .E58 1993
Encyclopedia of the American Left REF KNIGHT HX 86 .E58 1998
Encyclopedia of American Immigration REF KNIGHT JV 6465 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West online
U.S. History Encyclopedias: an annotated list online

Human Physiology

 
Encyclopedia of Human Biology SCI REF QP 11 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics SCI REF RA 409 .E53 1998

International Studies

 
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy online; and in print at REF KNIGHT E 183.7 .E52 2002
Encyclopedia of United States Foreign Relations REF KNIGHT E 183.7 .E53 1997
Europa World Plus online
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations REF KNIGHT G 63 .W67 1995
Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations REF KNIGHT JZ 1160 .N65 2002
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements DOCS REF KZ 4968 .O84 2003

Journalism, Mass Media, and Communication

 
Encyclopedia of Public Relations REF KNIGHT HD 59 .E48 2005
Encyclopedia of Propaganda REF KNIGHT HM 263 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information online; also in print at REF KNIGHT P 87.5 .E53 2002
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications REF KNIGHT P 87.5 .E532 2003
Encyclopedia of Television online; and in print at REF KNIGHT PN 1992.18 .E53 1997
World Press Encyclopedia online; and in print at REF KNIGHT PN 4728 .Q53 2003
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography AAA REF TR 642 .E5 2006
Censorship: A World Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT Z 6858 .W675 C38 2000

Judaic Studies

 
Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period REF KNIGHT BM 50 .D525 1996
Encyclopedia of Judaism REF KNIGHT BM 50 .E63 1999
Encyclopedia of Midrash REF KNIGHT BM 514 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust REF KNIGHT D 804.5 .E53 1990
Encyclopedia Judaica REF KNIGHT DS 102.8 .E496 1978
Jewish Encyclopedia online; also in print at REF KNIGHT DS 102.8 .J6 [1901-06]
Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust REF KNIGHT DS 135 .E8 E45 2001
Antisemitism: A Historical Encyclopedia ... REF KNIGHT DS 146 .E8 A58 2005

Latin American Studies

 
Enciclopedia de Mexico [in Spanish] REF KNIGHT F 1204 .E5 1996
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society, and Culture REF KNIGHT F 1210 .E63 1997
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures REF KNIGHT F 1218.6 .O95 2001
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean REF KNIGHT F 1406 .E515 2000
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture REF KNIGHT F 1406 .E53 1996
Encyclopedia of Cuba REF KNIGHT F 1754 .E53 2003

Law

 
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment REF KNIGHT HV 6017 .E524 2002
Legal systems of the world REF KNIGHT K 48 .L44 2002
American Jurisprudence, 2nd series LAW KF 154 A55
Corpus Juris Secundum LAW KF 154 .C69 1936 [with many updates]
West's Encyclopedia of American Law LAW REF KF 154 .W47 2005
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution LAW KF 4548 .E53 2000

Linguistics

 
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics REF KNIGHT P 29 .E48 1994
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics online; and in print at REF KNIGHT P 29 .I58 2003
Encyclopedia of Language and Education REF KNIGHT P 40.8 .E53 1997

Literature

 
Literature of Travel and Exploration REF KNIGHT G 465 .L565 2003
Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism REF KNIGHT PN 75 .E53 E53 1999
John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism online; and REF KNIGHT PN 81 .J554 2005
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature online
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics REF KNIGHT PN 1021 .N39 1993
Encyclopedia of the essay REF KNIGHT PN 4500 .E63 1997
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature online
Encyclopedia of Post-colonial Literatures in English REF KNIGHT PR 9080 .A52 E53 2005
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature online
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature REF KNIGHT PS 153 .M56 G74 2005
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African-American Literature REF KNIGHT PS 153 .N5 G73 2005

Mathematics

 
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics MATH REF QA 5 .I8313 1987
Encyclopaedia of Mathematics MATH REF QA 5 .M3713 1988
Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences SCI REF QA 21 .E57 1994

Medicine

 
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine online; and in print at SCI REF RC 41 .G35 2002

Medieval Studies

 
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages online; also in print at REF KNIGHT CB 351 .E53 2000
Dictionary of the Middle Ages REF KNIGHT D 114 .D5 1982
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium online; also in print at REF KNIGHT DF 521 .O93 1991
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 35 .M43 20006

Music

 
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music MUSIC REF ML 100 .G16 1998 [with CDs]
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians online; also in print at MUSIC REF ML 100 .N48 2001
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music MUSIC REF ML 101 .U6 N48 1986
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments MUSIC REF ML ML 102 .I5 N48 1984
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz MUSIC REF ML 102 .J3 N48 1988
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music MUSIC REF ML 102 .P66 G84 1998

Peace Studies

 
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict REF KNIGHT HM 886 .E53 1999
World Encyclopedia of Peace LAW LIBRARY JZ 5533 .W67 1999

Philosophy

 
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2nd ed.; Macmillan] online
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy REF KNIGHT B 51 .R68 1998
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy REF KNIGHT B 126 .E496 2003
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics REF KNIGHT BH 56 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics REF KNIGHT BJ 63 .E44 1998
Encyclopedia of Ethics REF KNIGHT BJ 63 .E45 2001
Dictionary of the History of Ideas REF KNIGHT CB 5 .D52 [1973-74]

Physics

 
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology SCI REF Q 123 .E497 2002
Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics online
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics SCI REF QB 14 .E534 2001
Encyclopedia of Applied Physics SCIENCE QC 5 .E543 2004
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences SCI REF QC 854 .E522 2003
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology SCI REF TA 402 .E53 2001

Planning, Public Policy and Administration

 
International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration REF KNIGHT H 97 .I574 1998
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy REF KNIGHT JX 9 .E526 2003

Political Science

 
Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery REF KNIGHT HT 861 .H57 1997
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left & the Right REF KNIGHT JA 61 .E54 2005
Encyclopedia of Nationalism REF KNIGHT JC 311 .E499 2001
Encyclopedia of Democracy REF KNIGHT JC 423 .E53 1995
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures DOCS REF JF 511 .W67 1998
World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties REF KNIGHT JF 2011 .W67 1999
Colonialism: An International ... Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT JV 22 .C65 2003
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements DOCS REF KZ 4968 .O84 2003

Political Science - United States

 
Encyclopedia of American Political History REF KNIGHT E 183 .E5 1984
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy online; also in print at REF KNIGHT E 183.7 .E52 2002
Encyclopedia of United States Foreign Relations REF KNIGHT E 183.7 .E53 1997
Civil Rights in the United States REF KNIGHT E 184 .A1 C47 2000
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics REF KNIGHT E 184 .A1 E574 2000
Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics REF KNIGHT HQ 1236.5 .U6 S32 1999
Encyclopedia of the American Left REF KNIGHT HX 86 .E58 1998
Encyclopedia of the United States Congress REF KNIGHT JK 1067 .E63 1995
Major Acts of Congress online
Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America REF KNIGHT JK 2261 .E474 2000
Political Parties & Elections in the U.S.: an Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT JK 2261 .P633 1991
Encyclopedia of U. S. National Security online

Psychology

 
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior REF KNIGHT BF 31 .E5 1994
Encyclopedia of Psychology REF KNIGHT BF 31 .E52 2000
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science REF KNIGHT BF 31 .E52 2001
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement online
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment REF KNIGHT BF 176 .C654 2004
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science REF KNIGHT BF 311 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Creativity REF KNIGHT BF 408 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions REF KNIGHT BF 531 .E55 1999
Encyclopedia of Human Development online
Handbook of Child Psychology 6th edition,online; 5th edition, REF KNIGHT BF 721 .H242 1998
Encyclopedia of Stress REF KNIGHT QP 82.2 .S8 E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Mental Health REF KNIGHT RA 790.5 .E53 1998
Comprehensive Clinical Psychology REF KNIGHT RC 467 .C597 1998

Religious Studies [see also Judaic Studies]

 
Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed. online; 1st ed. in print at REF KNIGHT BL 31 .E46 1986
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America REF KNIGHT BL 458 .E52 2006
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion REF KNIGHT BL 458 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism REF KNIGHT BL 501 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience REF KNIGHT BL 2525 .E53 1988
Encyclopedia of Monasticism REF KNIGHT BL 631 .E63 2000
Encyclopedia of Mormonism REF KNIGHT BX 8605.5 .E62 1992

Religious Studies - Christianity

 
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls REF KNIGHT BM 487 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Christianity REF KNIGHT BR 95 .E8913 1999-
New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge REF KNIGHT BR 95 .S435
Jesus in History, Thought, and Culture REF KNIGHT BR 145.3 .H68 2003
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation online; also in print at REF KNIGHT BR 302.8 .O93 1996
Anchor Bible Dictionary REF KNIGHT BS 440 .A54 1992
New Catholic Encyclopedia [2nd edition] online; first edition in print at REF KNIGHT BX 841 .N44 1967
Encyclopedia of Protestantism REF KNIGHT BX 4811.3 .E53 2004

Religious Studies - Islam

 
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World REF KNIGHT BP 40 .E525 2004
Encyclopaedia of the Quran REF KNIGHT BP 133 .E53 2001-
Islamic World: Past and Present REF KNIGHT DS 35.53 .I86 2004
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World REF KNIGHT DS 35.53 .O95 1995
Encyclopaedia of Islam REF KNIGHT DS 37 .E523 [1960-]
Encyclopaedia of Iranica online
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures REF KNIGHT HQ 1170 .E53 2003-

Religious Studies - East Asian

 
The Hindu World REF KNIGHT BL 1105 .W34 1968a
Encyclopedia of Confucianism REF KNIGHT BL 1840 .R68 2003
Encyclopedia of Sikhism REF KNIGHT BL 2017.3 .E54 1995
Encyclopedia of Buddhism REF KNIGHT BQ 128 .E62 2004

Romance Languages

 
Encyclopaedia Universalis [in French] KNIGHT AE 25 .E3 1990
Enciclopedia Italiana [in Italian] KNIGHT AE 35 .E5 [1939]
Enciclopedia Hispanica [in Spanish] KNIGHT AE 61 .E47 [1994]

Russian and East European Studies

 
Great Soviet Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT AE 5 .B58 [1973]
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe REF KNIGHT DJK 6 .E53 2000]
Encyclopedia of Russian History online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DK 14 .E53 2004
Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History REF KNIGHT DK 36 .M55 1976
Encyclopedia of Ukraine REF KNIGHT DK 508 .E613 1984

Sociology

 
Encyclopedia of Sociology [2nd edition, 2001] online
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement online
Encyclopedia of American Social History REF KNIGHT HN 57 .E58 1993
Encyclopedia of European Social History online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HN 373 .E63 2001

Sociology -- Specific Topics

 
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States REF KNIGHT E 184 .A1 E773 2005
Encyclopedia of Population REF KNIGHT HB 871 .E538 2003
Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor REF KNIGHT HD 8066 .H57 2004
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements REF KNIGHT HN 57 .E594 2004
Violence in America: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT HN 90 .V5 V5474 1999
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family REF KNIGHT HQ 9 .E52 2003
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender REF KNIGHT HQ 16 .e53 2004
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality REF KNIGHT HQ 76.25 .E53 1990
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HQ 767.84 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures REF KNIGHT HT 108.5 .E53 2003
Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery REF KNIGHT HT 861 .H57 1997
Encyclopedia of Disability online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HV 1568 .E528 2006
Encyclopedia of Homelessness REF KNIGHT HV 4493 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity online
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America online; and in print at REF KNIGHT TX 349 .E45 2004

Sports

 
Encyclopedia of World Sport REF KNIGHT GV 567 .E56 1996
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports REF KNIGHT GV 709 .I58 2001
Cultural Encyclopedia of Baseball REF KNIGHT GV 862.3 .L54 1997a
Martial Arts of the World: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GV 1101 .M29 2001

Theater Arts

 
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama REF KNIGHT PN 1625 .M3 1984
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre REF KNIGHT PN 1861 .W67 1994
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance online; and in print at REF KNIGHT PN 2035 .O94 2003

Women and Gender Studies

 
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports REF KNIGHT GV 709 .I58 2001
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America REF KNIGHT BL 458 .E52 2006
Men and Masculinities: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT HQ 1090.3 .M436 2004
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender REF KNIGHT HQ 1115 .E52 2001
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women REF KNIGHT HQ 1115 .R69 2000
Women's Studies Encyclopedia online
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures REF KNIGHT HQ 1170 .E53 2003-
Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics REF KNIGHT HQ 1236.5 .U6 S32 1999

More Encyclopedias

You can also find encyclopedias and subject dictionaries by doing a Subject Headings search in the UO Libraries Catalog. Enter the broad subject area you are interested in, followed by the subheading encyclopedias or dictionaries.

Examples:
Sociology encyclopedias
Finance dictionaries

Maintained by: Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu